311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove Series #3)

311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove Series #3)

by Debbie Macomber

Paperback(Original)

$14.36 $15.95 Save 10% Current price is $14.36, Original price is $15.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 176 reviews.
IHeart2Read More than 1 year ago
I've really enjoyed this series that author Debbie Macomber has written. The characters are warm and engaging and the reader cannot help but to wonder what will happen next in Cedar Cove. Although this is classified as a romance novel, there's a bit of a mystery as well. The mystery begins when Dan Sherman, Grace's husband, leaves his family. Later his body is found next to a suicide note. In the note, Dan informs Grace about an incident that happened during Vietnam. This incident has haunted him his entire life. Later we learn a stranger is found dead at Thyme and Tide Bed and Breakfast. Is his death somehow related to Dan? Each book in this series, flows elegantly into the next one. Though the families live separate lives, the series has a small town appeal and everyone knows (and cares) for each other. If you are in search of a good series with likable characters, I'd suggest you start with book one 16 Lighthouse Road. Soon you too will get caught up in the happenings of Cedar Cove, WA.
DarkAngelCT More than 1 year ago
I love reading these books and this one did not disappoint. The Cox family has gotten a divorce which should have made life easier for Rosie and Zach Cox what they didn't count on was for Judge Olivia Lockhart decide that the kids get the house and the parents would alternate living there. Zach and Rosie have a lot to work on to find out where their marriage failed. Which they were able to accomplish. Olivia is dealing with two men who both want her and having to decide who she wants to be with. Then there is Grace who after dealing with her husband Dan's suicide. Grace makes a mess of the relationships she has with Olivia's brother Will and Cliff who had nothing but a great liking for her. And Will who's married and looking for a cheap fling. Luckily Grace gets out of the situation with Will before damage can be done. Cliff on the other hand knows she was cheating and left her having gone through a horrible marriage full of cheating by his wife at the time. Then there is Charlotte who is getting friendly with Ben Rhodes a newcomer to Cedar Cove and their general interest in getting a clinic in Cedar Cove for those who can't afford to go to doctors or are on welfare. Grace's daughter Maryellen has had her baby Katie and Jon is very much a part of Katie's life. And after alot of stop and starts in their relationship Jon and Maryellen have finally gotten their relationship together and are heading towards marriage. Of course there is still the mystery of the dead guy in the Bed and Breakfast. Just who is he and why is he dead? I love going to Cedar Cove and seeing what everyone is up too. It's like checking in with old friends and seeing how everyone is fairing. The romance is great seeing people getting together and watching their romance bloom!
trueBelieverMK More than 1 year ago
Any and every book by Debbie Macomber is well woth reading. She had millions printed and there is only one that I didn't care for because she tended to write it like a modern sexy novel which isn't her style. I have bought nearly every one that Barnes and Nobel have available. They are just GREAT!
CPK37 More than 1 year ago
Once again, Debbie has such interesting characters and a wonderful way of weaving their lives together.
LucyBH More than 1 year ago
Read from June 04 to 10, 2012 I really enjoying the Cedar Cove series. I love the aboundance of warm down to earth characters that make similar mistakes that you & I would make. THe uncertainties, hopes and desires that characters go thru in this series hits very close to home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an incredible series of books. As soon as I finished one I had to go online and buy the next one for my nook. I highly recommend this entire series.
stenberg More than 1 year ago
I have to say once I started to read it I couldn't wait to get back to it and find out what was happing.Just would have to liked it to be a little longer still wondering what happend to a few people and if they got together or not.But very good maybe there will be a sequale to it thanks very well put together.
nana2747 More than 1 year ago
I recommend starting with #l in the series and going all the way. This is just good and relaxing reading. A little who done it but mostly a good story. I love the way she works the characters from the first book through out the rest. I am up to the fifth book in the series and haven't been disappointed yet. Since one book leads to the next starting with #l is the only way to go. Enjoy!!!
bonnettd625 More than 1 year ago
She keeps you interested in the neighbors and has you routing for the underdog.
Bookacholic More than 1 year ago
This is book three in the Cedar Cove Series. I really love her books. I am now on book number 8 in this series. If you read book one, I guarantee that you will be hooked. I can't get enough of the characters, and I will be sad when I finish the last one. I hope that maybe the author will continue on with more with these characters. A truly enjoyable series.
Kiko1021 More than 1 year ago
This book continues the Cedar Cove series with a wonderful story about current residents Zach & Rosie Cox, their marriage troubles, and how they succeed in a rather odd fashion to repair the "wounds" they have given to each other. Best friends Olivia and Grace both find themselves in a love triangle. Maryellen slowly starts to realize how much she needs Jon in her and her daughter's life. The death of a mysterious man in a local bed and breakfast is never completely resolved and it leaves some unfinished business to be tackled in book #4 of the series. This is a delightful book, and the series just seems to get better with each addition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Ms. Macombre's writing style. I listen to audio books in the car to and from work, etc. This is such good soothing reading, I absolutely cannot wait to get in my car and drive.. and I love the way the series talks to you and the stories blend... perfect chic book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every one of Debbie's books I've read so far have been good. Down home American themes, love it.
Grandmaof5andahalf More than 1 year ago
I so love Debbie Macomber books, especially this Cedar Cove series. You won't go wrong reading these. She has characters who are accountable for their actions and when they realize they are wrong are able to change and make their lives better. Wrong is called wrong and right, right - how refreshing. They have happy endings. There is a little redundancy now and again that is somewhat tedious, but I still give this a 5 star!! I recommend all of her books.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Cedar Cove, Judge Olivia Lockhart informs the divorced couple, schoolteacher Rosie and accountant Zach Cox, that instead of their fifteen year old daughter and their nine year old son shuffling back and forth between them in joint custody, the parents will. In other words the kids keep the house and a parent will reside in Zach¿s apartment when he or she is not with the children. The Judge¿s former husband Stanley keeps visiting from Seattle hoping to reconcile with her as his second marriage ends. The Judge would like her former beau Cedar Cove Chronicle Editor Jack Griffin to show gumption and make a commitment to her.

Olivia¿s best friend librarian Grace Sherman suffers from depression while still grieving the suicide of her husband Dan. Their Maryellen is pregnant, but refuses to allow the father Jon Bowman access before during and after she gives birth.

Finally, at the Thyme and Tide bed and breakfast, a guest is dead. The owners Bob and Peggy Beldon are shocked, but more so he because the deceased looks hauntingly familiar from his Nam days that he shared with Dan.

311 PELICAN COURT, the sequel to 16 LIGHTHOUSE ROAD, is an interesting slice of life tale that reads more like a series of rotating vignettes than a novel. Each story line representing a slice is well written and brings insight into the key character(s) as well as the small town. The prime protagonists are fully developed and remain consistent with the prequel so those fans of the previous novel, Debbie Macomber, or just a deep contemporary drama will value the return to Cedar Cove.,P> Harriet Klausner

Anonymous 19 days ago
Great book.
lexxa83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have liked all of the books in this series so far. It is fun to see how they build on one another, and they always leave you wanting to get the next book in the series to find out whats new in Cedar Cove. Looking forward to reading the rest!
mrs.wood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book. Was really hoping to see Olivia and Jack move forward in their relationship, so I disliked Stan's character. It also made me wonder why Olivia held such tender feelings for him after he left her so long ago, and after such a bad time in their life. Loved the Cox family. Was surprised by Grace and Will, which tainted him for me, for the rest of the series, since I loved Grace and Cliff. Each book wraps up one thing and starts another. Great series!
drebbles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"311 Pelican Court", the third book in Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, focuses mainly on the divorce of Zach and Rosie Cox. Judge Olivia Lockhart has decreed that while Zach and Rosie will split custody, their children will stay in one house, and Zach and Rosie will move back and forth between houses. This unique arrangement will change their relationship in a way they never could have imagined. Olivia is struggling with her own relationship issues as she has to decide between getting back together with her ex-husband Stan or continue her relationship with newspaperman Jack Griffin. Grace Sherman, still recovering from her husband's death, gets caught up in an online relationship, neglecting her would be suitor, Cliff Harding. Grace's daughter, Maryellen, has her own problems in her relationship with Jon Bowman, the father of her newborn daughter. Finally, the whole town wonders about the identity of the mysterious man found dead at Peg and Bob Beldon's bed and breakfast place. "311 Pelican Court" is a warm entry in Debbie Macomber's soap opera-like Cedar Cove series. Macomber deftly interweaves each person's story, switching between them swiftly, so if you don't like one character's story, one you will like quickly follows. Of all the stories, I found Grace's addiction to her online relationship to be the most compelling and realistic. Macomber is a good story teller, but her writing can be awkward at times and her plot devices could sometimes use more thinking out, as when Grace tried to trick Olivia into going to the movies because Jack was there. That scene was totally unbelievable. Still, the stories are interesting enough that it's easy to overlook the sometimes clumsy writing. This was a nice cozy read.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Readable story about a variety of people in Cedar Grove, focusing on some of the relationships between some of the people in the town. You know that there are sequels and that there are more stories to be told.
Amy_Atwell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of a series of books about Cedar Cove, WA, each title is a specific address and covers about 5 family groups in the community. Multiple story lines, lots of age ranges, nothing explicit, real slice of life. It reads very much like a soap opera--hopping from scene to scene, story to story, takes us through almost a full calendar year. You never get firmly entrenched in any one character. Took me about 50 pages to warm up to the style, but once I did, it was an enjoyable read. Nothing really challenging--I can see why thousands of readers flock to her. Very easy style, charming.
scoutlee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I¿ve really enjoyed this series that author Debbie Macomber has written. The characters are warm and engaging and the reader cannot help but to wonder what will happen next in Cedar Cove. Although this is classified as a romance novel, there¿s a bit of a mystery as well.The mystery begins when Dan Sherman, Grace¿s husband, leaves his family. Later his body is found next to a suicide note. In the note, Dan informs Grace about an incident that happened during Vietnam. This incident has haunted him his entire life. Later we learn a stranger is found dead at Thyme and Tide Bed and Breakfast. Is his death somehow related to Dan?Each book in this series, flows elegantly into the next one. Though the families live separate lives, the series has a small town appeal and everyone knows (and cares) for each other. If you are in search of a good series with likable characters, I¿d suggest you start with book one 16 Lighthouse Road. Soon you too will get caught up in the happenings of Cedar Cove, WA.
honeydew69862004 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
311 Pelican Court has the people of Cedar Cove once again falling in love. Zach and Rosie are adjusting to being divorced not so graciously. OLivia and Jack and Stan are still having their problems. Maryellen relizes some things about Jon and has their baby. Grace and Cliff hit a rough patch that is left hanging. Charolette has a new man in her life that Olivia doesn't see as a good influnece. Another good book that has you feeling like your watching a tv show instead of reading the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can’t wait for the next in the series. I have to pace myself. Debbie Macomber’s stories are so compelling. I love her characters!