A Little History of the World

A Little History of the World

Paperback

$13.85 $15.00 Save 8% Current price is $13.85, Original price is $15. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Little History of the World 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
BrooklynNY More than 1 year ago
This book shuld be requied reading for all kids and even though I am not one I thoroughly enjoyed Mr. Gombrich fascinating tale of our history highlighting the important accomplishments and the inhumane moments. Especially in these tense world times this book is a great reminder of how intolerance and hate have gotten us into trouble throughout history and how we can learn from past mistakes. The only way we can evolve our world where all of the people contained live in peace is through tolerance of one another. Funny thing is Christianity and Islam were founded on those very principles as you will learn in this book - how far we've deviated from these ideals is saddening.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book on the recommended school summer reading table. This is one of the best little history books I've read. It is written as if the author is telling you a story. I learned little facts that I didn't know. This is an easy, fun, and interesting read. It is really good for the kid who doesn't like to read, but is required to do some summer reading. It is also good for anyone looking for a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This man covers a brief area of history in record time. His publisher asks him to do the same for ALL history. He employs his entire family. They write a little history of the world (in record time). Not only is it informative (filled with lots of unknown facts) but because it is so concise, it is actually an entertaining history of the world. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this to my 15 year old grandaughter and here is her response: "The book is magnificent! The way the author portrays his thoughts and research is very conversational. It makes the book very easy to understand and to remember. I am taking a World History course in the fall so this is perfect preparation for that."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
reads easy and rather informative
eglinton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Charming and readable, thanks to a personal tone, and bold woodcut-style illustrative blocks. The genesis of the work is impressive too: Gombrich knocked it off in a few weeks in his 20s with youthful scholarly hubris. He remains humble, when treating of grand themes and people, but the work feels ultimately unreliable, most of all in its Eurocentrism. This may be forgivable in a book conceived almost a century ago, but still rankles a little for a work appointing itself a history of the world. Africa, the Americas are ignored, ancient Asian civilisations are admitted as colourful noises off. All of which leaves lots of the colour commentary as pure Sellers and Yeatman: "The Merovingian kings were not much good at ruling. They had flowing hair and long beards and they did nothing but sit one their thrones and parrot the words their advisers had taught them."
edgeworth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've been getting more interested in history lately, and what I've really wanted to read is a history book that covers the entire world - focusing not on one period of time, or one geographic area, but on the entire history of the entire world. That would obviously be a daunting book both to write and to read, and wouldn't be able to go into much depth, but even a basic analysis would do much to address the hodge-podge absorption of historical knowledge that I (and, I assume, most people) currently have.A lot of what we know about history we obtain from popular culture, associating it with a certain set of visual motifs (fashion, architecture, manners of speech etc.) The 1890s I associate with London in Victorian England; the 1870s and 1880s with the American West; the early 1800s with the Napoleonic Wars and Australian early settlement, and so on. The further back, the less I know, and the more likely I am to associate a period in time with one particular piece of art or popular culture; the early 1700s, for example, is Pirates of the Caribbean, the early 1600s the plays of Shakespeare, then there's that whole vague medieval era of knights and castles...My point is we (or at least I) tend to associate certain time periods with certain places, and history books that focus on only one region reinforce that view. 1812, for example, was the time of Napoleon and the teething problems of American independency, but I have only a dim idea of what was occurring at the same time in Asia and Africa and India and so on. What I want is a book that slowly takes us through the ages and shows us how all these different people related to each other at the time; the shifting stages of human relationships. Any decent historian, of course, knows that history isn't about memorising dates, but rather about the way human society works and how we interact with each other. The precise date of a war is not remotely as important as why it was fought, who was fighting in it, and what people thought about it at the time.I'm now four paragraphs in and I haven't mentioned the book. Gombrich's "Little History of the World" is not precisely the book I'm looking for, but it's a good start. It covers the entire sweep of human history from paleolithic times to World War I (it was originally written in 1935) and, being aimed at children, it's extremely readable. This recent edition has been by far the best selling book at my store over the last few months, so I figured it was worth a look.Gombrich has an amicable, conversational style of writing, as though he were holding a child on his knee and telling them a story - and he is telling a story, because he quite clearly states in the opening chapter that that's all history is. I was lucky enough to have an excellent history teacher in high school who was well aware of what really matters in history, rather than pushing the antiquated John Howard style of teaching, but Gombrich must have been quite the pioneer back in the early 30s. He regularly stops to point out that history is not merely a long flow of empires and political shifts, but that human society can also be greatly altered by shifts in opinion, and that it is a fallacy to assume that people hundreds or thousands of years ago were effectively the same as us:If you could talk to a gentlemen from the time of the Turkish siege, there would be many things about him that would surprise you... but nothing could prepare you for the shock you would have if he were to begin to air his views. All children should be thrashed. Young girls (no more than children) should be married (and to men they barely know). A peasant's lot is to toil and not complain. Beggars and tramps should be whipped and put into chains in the marketplace for everyone to mock. Thieves should be hanged and murderers publicly chopped into pieces. Witches and the other harmful sorcerers that infest the country should be burnt. People of different beliefs should be persecuted, treated as outc
yarkan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A pleasant over view of things. Now I see that the French Revolution didn't really help things much.He said something about Japan being the best student of the world after the Meiji Restoration.
woodge on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This popular book has been around for many years in over a dozen languages but it has only recently been translated to English. (The reason why is explained in the preface.) Mr. Gombrich originally published this book in Vienna in 1936. It is written for a younger audience which results in a clear, engaging narrative. There are 40 short chapters which include sections on: Ancient Greece and Egypt, the Roman Empire, Alexander the Great, Genghis Khan, Jesus, Mohammed, the Middle Ages, the Crusades, Charlemagne, Martin Luther, Napoleon, and so forth up to World War I. Then in the final chapter, the author talks about his experiences during World War II and his hopes for peace. It is a fascinating book, covers a lot of ground, and made many areas of history much clearer for me to understand. I highly recommend it to anyone curious about world history.
yufufi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As another reviewer said this is not a book of facts. There are many misleading statements in the book; the author is definitely not trying to be objective. For instance the Ottoman Empire is barely mentioned in the book which is weird given that they were a major player in the world history between 14th and 19th centuries. If you want to read a book about history of the world I'd recommend looking for another one.
wouterzzzzz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A history book for children, but very interesting for adults too. Especially if you don't know much about the world's history, this is a good starting point. It is biased towards Europe, so don't be offended if there's not much in there about Asia for example. Read this book first, before, for example, "Guns, Germs, and Steel" (and not the other way around).
waitingtoderail on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good idea executed with mediocrity. This is a general history of the world written for children, but it is entirely too Eurocentric - Eastern cultures are primarily discussed only in how they related to European powers, Native Americans are discussed only briefly - and when he gets to how they interacted with Europeans he says that it is "so shameful to Europeans" that he doesn't even want to talk about it, and Africa is hardly mentioned at all. A better version of this is waiting to happen.
reedist on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my favourite book of the last year - I'm pushing 50, my children are 6 and 8, and we all enjoyed it enormously ¿ we couldn't wait to get to the end of each day and read the next chapter. It's intelligent Central European humanism, treating the reader as an equal and engaged partner. The title clearly sets out that it isn't comprehensive, but it is an excellent and very original introduction to some of the stories that are our past. Clifford Harper's black and white illustrations (looking like drawn woodcuts) are simple, yet often intensely moving, maybe in part because they have a flavour of the past about them.
timothyl33 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Deceptive in its small size, this book however, packs a big punch. To be able to put so much history in such a simple and charming manner with its narrative style, makes this something to treasure for people of all ages.
DanCook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A judicious, sensitive and non-triumphal telling of the whole history of the world, as much a delight to adults as children.
soylentgreen23 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Gombrich first composed his little history, he had in mind that generation's children. That his work should remain so fresh today, and so enjoyable by adults, says many things, but above all the message is this: read this erudite, accessible history, and you shall be rewarded with a renewed faith in people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WAS LIED TO AND CHARGED FOR THE BUY OUT FEE! When it came time to return my rental book, I followed all instructions and I had it dropped off at the nearest UPS location a week prior to the deadline. I received an email a couple weeks later stating that i was charged for an extension fee of 15$. When I attempted to track the book all it said was that the label was made, it was never scanned anywhere by the UPS. I went back to the UPS location, they looked for the package and weren't able to find it. I called customer service explaining to them the situation that the book was lost in transit and the representative LIED TO ME! she reassured me that I was NOT going to get charged the buy out fee and that she was going to refer my case to the upper management to take care of it. She told me to expect a confirmation email within 48 hours. Of course, i never received an email and when i called back to confirm the current representative said that she does not see anything about my case being referred to upper management and she doesn't see anything about attempting to resolve the buy out situation. All she sees under my order number from the previous representative was that I called regarding the extension fee I was charged. I was charged with a buy out fee of 100$. I have done everything to try and find the book and overall I HATE barnes and noble with a passion, I HATE the customer service representatives EVEN MORE! THEY ARE LIARS AND HAVE NO CLUE WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ShawnCVT More than 1 year ago
If you wanted to know about the history of the world prior to World War 2, this would be an excellent starter audio book. The original book was written shortly after World War 2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a good book although it has wrong info
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago