Aesop's Illustrated Fables (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Aesop's Illustrated Fables (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

by Aesop

Hardcover(Bonded Leather)

$25.00
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Aesop's Illustrated Fables (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful! The book is heavily illustrated with illustrations by Arthur Rackham, Walter Crane, and Ernest Griset. There are over 50 full page illustrations, and there are in text illustrations on about every second page. The pages are thick, there are hundreds of stories (Aesop's fables are seldom more than a page long) and each page of text is prettily framed in a scrolled boarder. I think that this is the nicest B&N leather bound book that I have bought so far.
PavelTX More than 1 year ago
This is the best version of Aesop Fables I have come across in the last 20 years. I have the Easton Press and the Penguin copies. But, I have to say this print was exceptional. Large prints and exquisite illustrations makes is a perfect copy.
GeneticBlue More than 1 year ago
Just received mine today and already LOVE it! Fantastic illustrations and great font size along with a beautiful cover make this full edition one to add to any collection. I highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best version I've found! VERY pleased with this copy. Beautifully illustrated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was trying to find the best version of the Aesop Fables, so I got different ones and compared them. I decided to keep 3 and return 1. It does not have an index and the paper is not glossy. I don't think it's "Collectible" quality. There is an edition with purple cover (by Detmold, Edward J.): It has glossy paper and it has some colorful illustrations and some/black and white. The english style is nice and easy to read. It's a very good version to get for children. There is another edition with green cover (Aesop's Fables In English And Latin, Interlineary (1703) Hardcover – September 10, 2010) is a jewel. Probably not suitable for children, because the fonts are not easy to ready, but every sentence is written in english and latin, and they include a moral after each fable (also in english and latin). Definitely a unique book !!! I love the edition with green cover: Aesop's Fables 1867 Paperback – September 10, 2010 , by Edward Garrett (Editor), J. Wolf (Illustrator), J. B. Zwecker (Illustrator). This is a classic book with old style illustrations and rich writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best purchase I have ever made from Barnes and Noble. The pages are exquisitely detailed with lovely illustrations. The cover is beautiful. It's worth the money just to use it for the aesthetic value. However, what's inside is even better. The quality of the printing is beautiful. Everything is in a clear, easy-to-read font. Lastly, the moral of every story is located right after it, which can be great for kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! Another great addition to the B&N collection! Lovely stories and equally lovely art work. I recommend people of all age to read and defiantly recommend parents to get and keep this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would say this is a beautiful edition and the illustrations are amazing, but I think very few children will actually enjoy the fables themselves. I think a lot of them are kind of dated and confusing for kids these days. I'm rating it highly because it is so gorgeous, but I'm not sure it was the best present for my 5-year old niece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
miccraz More than 1 year ago
This is my first BN Collectible Edition book purchased. I cannot get over how perfect this book is! Beautiful cover, large print and wonderful illustration. I cannot wait to purchase more of these BN Collectible Edition books.
Missy00 More than 1 year ago
A beautiful edition that complements the rest of my Barnes and Nobles leather-bound library. It especially matches Fairy Tales From Around the World by Andrew Lang
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not see Aesop's Fables since I was a child. I bought it for my grandson. Both he and my daughter are enjoying it.