Alexander Hamilton

Alexander Hamilton

by Ron Chernow

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.60 $20.00 Save 17% Current price is $16.6, Original price is $20. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alexander Hamilton 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 164 reviews.
jjricochet More than 1 year ago
Alexander Hamilton, by Ron Chernow, published in April of 2004, is by far the most engaging and informative biography of any founding father I have ever read. Irrespective of your knowledge regarding Alexander Hamilton's life story, this remarkable book reads like a classic novel and is virtually impossible to place mark, I could not put it down. Cernow brilliantly raises Hamilton from the grave, as if you were present at Hamilton's very conception as well as his premature death at the hand of his antithesis, Aaron Burr, the once Vice President of Thomas Jefferson. The bastard child of a tenacious woman of questionable character for her time, the sparks of Alexander Hamilton's genius became evident to his earliest benefactor when as a boy his first poem was published, to the brain trust of George Washington, in war and throughout Washington's entire administration. In addition to his sense of honor, generosity, successes, failings and tragedies, Ron Chernow's biographical masterpiece expresses Hamilton's great passions, glory, pride, genius, vision, devotion and love of family and of his adopted nation, America. This book is so truthful that it will enthrall and provoke within you a gamut of emotions and enlighten you beyond measure. James J Reis
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ron Chernow provides a well-reasearched and vivid picture into Hamilton's life. The man is often overlooked and overshadowed by the accomplishments of other founders such as Jefferson. This book tells Hamilton's life story as an immigrant from the West Indies. He was one fo the first to acheive what we now consider the American dream. Hamilton almost single handledly formed the treasury as well as the Bank of the United states despite obection from political enemies. Hamilton was arguably the most brilliant founder and this book is arguably the best biography on him. The downside with this is the length, about 731 pages(not including index, references, etc). It also is rather negative towards other political figures. Madison seems almost traitorous, Washington aloof, Adams crazy, Burr conniving. etc On Hamilton himself though, no other biography is better. Highly reccomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding. I really did not know too much about Hamilton. However, Mr. Chernow's book was fascinating. I could not put it down. Even after I had finished the book, I could not stop thinking about the role Alexander Hamilton played in the history of the country. Hamilton was brilliant. And Aaron Burr was a scoundrel. This should be a recommended book for all students who are studying history and the politics of the USA.
WaldoRWE More than 1 year ago
I haves always admired Hamilton. Thanks to Ron Chernow I know why. Excellent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of American history and yet this book told me tons that I never knew about Alexander Hamilton. Like everyone, he was far from perfect but he was a great patriot. Rising from humble beginnings in the West Indies, he was George Washington's right-hand man for most of the Revolutionary War. He was also Washington's most important and influential Cabinet member. Amazing descriptions of how he set up the US Treasury Dept. and got the American economy on a stable footing. Terrific book. Rather long (over 700 pages) but fascinating reading for people who really love American history. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In many ways, Hamilton was a force of nature. He accomplishments were prodigious. Like a Greek tragedy, his life a doomed to end too early.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could hardly put the book down. He was an amazing man. His life was one of total dedication to the American way of life as we now know it. It is right that his portrait be on our ten dollar bill. In my estiamton he ranks among the top five greatest men in America. If you are inclined to read about the America Revolution and its time frame, don't pass up the opportunity to get this book and read it. In our libray system in our state we have the unabridged book on tape of this man. I have listened to it twice. It has twenty nine CD'd. What an amzsing man. Once you have read it you may well feel the way I do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Chernow, Thank you for writing this book because without it there would be no Hamilton on Broadway and I would actually be doing my homework right now instead of fangirling. I love Lin and you are amazing. I want to play Eliza or Peggy/Maria. Sincerely, Hamilton and Overall Theatre Nerd and Fangirl
FlyerFan More than 1 year ago
I am 300+ pages into this book and to say it is a page turner is an understatement!! all I want to do is read read read....I love it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hamilton comes to life in this fabulous biography. Every step is so thoroughly documented that his life and letters bear testimony to more untold accomplishments that exist as true and astounding because they have just now come to light.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Comprehensive and in depth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just wish he had provided many of the pictures he described. Otherwise very enjoyable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took me months to finally finish this & yes, I definitely want to see it on Broadway!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The elevated vocabulary suites the need for very explicit choice of words to alleviate misunderstsndings. Your extensive research is appreciated as well as your dedicstion to accuracy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though it took me a long time to finish I loved learning about not only Alexander Hamilton but even more importantly the struggles our country faced as it was formed. Also, it's so true that history repeats itself. Found myself thinking that so many times. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This serious study of Hamilton underscores his genius as well as his fallacies, some of which resulted in compromises in crafting the US Constitution. The political situation of 2017 note that democracy is based upon the shared-principles of politicians. We now know that we are living through a period that Hamilton feared: politicians who desire to exploit the weaknesses of that assumption. Thus, this book is a guidebook for understanding how to improve the philosophy of US democracy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fills in the gaps in Hamilton the musical. Can see why it inspired Lin Manuel Miranda.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks to an opera about Hamilton inspired by this book, I undertook this reading. Though it dragged a bit about the 500's, I plowed on and was rewarded by this exhaustive biography. If you like to read about unsung heroes, this book is for you. Now in the autumn of my life, I am pleased to have set the record straight on this early hero of our country.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I knew little about Alexander Hamilton before buying this stellar biography. Now I have such admiration and respect for the man, even with his failings. Fascinating reading from beginning to end, due in equal parts to the subject and Ron Chernow's excellent prose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hamilton was a genius, but this book made him sound infallible. Even a genius can make a mistake, and he made the ultimate one that unfortunately cost him dearly. Men labeled as Republicans which we know was not established until mid 19th century. If not known, i would say this book was written by Alexander Hamilton himself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, reads like fiction, meticulouly researched and even handed. A great complement to his Washington biography.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the book that inspired Lin manuel Miranda to write the broadway musical Hamilton which is #1 on broadway right now ahhhh Lin Manuel Miranda read this exact book ahhh want to read it so badly
MerleF More than 1 year ago
Magnificently detailed biography about major figure in early American history. I learned many facts and much background that I (a history major!) had not known or appreciated before. The book shows thorough research and is well indexed. Only "fault" might be that there are just a few too many detailed lists of people attending this or that meeting, etc. Well worth while reading for serious students of history!
soloprate More than 1 year ago
Awesome, great writing. i was drawn into the life of Hamilton