All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House

All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House

by David Giffels

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book anyone who has owned a house, been married or had kids will enjoy. Mr. Giffels is a talented writer who makes the reader laugh, cry and laugh again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second time I bought this book. The first time, I thought it was so good that I thought a friend of mine absolutely had to read it, too. So I gave him my copy. I finally missed it so much that I bought myself another copy and read it again. For anyone who has attempted home repair or renovation at any level, this is a must-read. You will feel so much better about your own projects! Giffels has a great sense of humor and his writing style is engaging. Even if you've never lifted a hammer, you will enjoy this tale.
mamowie More than 1 year ago
I was raised on North Portage Path near the Seiberling Mansion in the 50's and 60's. This book brought back so many memories of the homes along that road. They were the most beautiful homes. It is so nice to see that someone wanted to save one of them. It is a shame that the Firestone mansions were torn down and replaced with condos. They should of all been saved and let the public see how it was back in those times. I could not put this book down. I still can't believe that Mrs. Rayner lived in that house until the day she had to move out. Great book. I was so glad that this was recommended to me.
bookwormteri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Buying a decrepit, falling down, Addams Family style mansion and renovating sounds amazing. Of course, I would not plan on doing the renovations myself, as being handy is a superhero power, in my opinion. David Giffels plans to do it all himself, or at least most of it, while living in it, with his wife and small son. Excellently told, I only wish that there were more pictures.
coolmama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!Giffels and his wife, for some reason, decide to buy a falling down mansion. This house is not just in bad shape - there are trees going through the roof, 50+ pans catching the rain water that pours in, resident wildlife is rampant, etc.Why someone would want to take on such a challenge - and then INSIST on doing it themselves - is beyond me.However, Giffels describes the journey with love and good humor, and it was a pleasure to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much self analysis........some parts were barely interesting. I ended up skipping many pages....too much chatter and not enough of a real story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an easy, keep your attention read. I read it in two days. Very interesting to step into the world of a major house renovation and the relationships involved.