Amelia Bedelia 50th Anniversary Library

Amelia Bedelia 50th Anniversary Library

Paperback(Anniversary)

$11.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Amelia Bedelia 50th Anniversary Library 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Jenpark on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amelia Bedelia gets a new job, but she almost loses it on the first day because she takes all of her written directions too literally.
EllieGiles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An amazingly witty series about Amelia Bedelia, a girl who misinterprets directions, gets into trouble, and teaches children what can go wrong when life is all about synonyms!
pravs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amelia Bedelia is the original and first in series of the new maid Amelia who goes to work on her first day. Amelia has several hilarious misunderstandings of the many tasks, and only manages to get one thing right. The book is great for early readers. I almost want to categorize it as an easy reader but it has some bigger words in it that are probaly more suited for a 2nd grade level. The pictures add to the stroy and show some of the funny things Amelia does. Though the story and theme may be a bit outdated, the humor is not. I would recommend this for a collection dedicated to children ages 4 - 8.
smaashthemac on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a simple book for early readers about a housekeeper who takes her instructions VERY seriously and literally. I loved other Amelia Bedelia books when I was a child because the things she did were so silly and hilarious; and they still are. This is a good book for a beginning reader; keeping the humor but making it very simple to follow along with.
jscheper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amelia Bedelia is a housekeeper who is at her first day of work with the Rogers. Mrs. Rogers leaves Amelia a note of the duties she would like her to do while they are gone. Amelia quickly gets confused when the note to change the towels. Amelia decides to cut them to change them. This book is a real jem. This book was written in 1963 and it's still wonderful. Timeless. The illustrations add to the hilarity of the book and the use of her rhyming name over and over makes it even more silly. This is a great find. This is great for read alouds to show that reading is fun and can be very silly. Makes you want to read and see what other crazy things Amelia Bedelia might do.
teason on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Growing up, Amelia Bedelia was my favorite book. I love how she is so literal. For example, in one book she is told to dress the chicken. Instead of preparing the chicken to eat, she makes clothes for the chicken and literally dresses it. The illustrations are also good. Every line is perfectly illustrated. I think that children will enjoy the humor of these books.
JenRobYoung on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great story of a maid that does not understand the list of chores she was given. Giving her best effort she completely does everything wrong. Her goodhearted nature and yummy Lemon Morang Pie save her in the end.
avallieres on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Have children write books with homophones and use play on words!This such a fun book for many different grades!Use for English class to make less boring. Learn about: antonyms, communication, homophones, and vocabulary.Learning patience. How would you have dealt with Amelia Bedelia?
SavanahDayhoff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Peggy Parish¿s Amelia Bedelia is a sweetheart! This book is so funny to read aloud. Amelia takes a new job as a maid. She thinks that she is doing a great job of following the boss¿s list of thing for her do to, but unfortunately, Amelia is taking the orders a little too literally. Like to dust the furniture, Amelia literally uses dusting powder on the furniture. Her new employers are quite distraught when they return home to find what she has done, but luckily she made them a fabulous lemon-meringue pie that is so good, they forgive her. I love how these simple, everyday tasks that Amelia is doing actually make sense unless one knows otherwise not to really put dusting powder on the furniture, but to clean it off. The illustrations a very cute and compliment Amelia¿s cooky behavior. She is a very loveable character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BKB54 More than 1 year ago
My daughter had read these Amelia Bedelia books and now my granddaughter is. They are timeless, entertaining and fun. They encourage the old art of reading a book. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dclement04 More than 1 year ago
Ever since i was a kid i have loved this series. I bought this for my 1.5 year old god daughter so when she starts reading she will start off by loving Amelia Bedelia too!