Apprentice In Death

Apprentice In Death

by J. D. Robb

Paperback(Large Print)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Apprentice in Death (International Edition) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good one. This book had a better ending than the last book-- more comprehensive. We got to hear the perps get their due, and we got to see some off-duty events, too. I'd like to see a story where Baxter is a little more central to the main plot. Maybe get him a girlfriend, too. Morris needs some happiness, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall another good JDRobb, but I don't think Evers character is developing any longer. I have read them all and throughout the series Eve grew as a person. From such a horrible beginning Eve had to struggle in her dealing with people, especially those she became close to, Mavis, Peabody, Mira and especially Roarke. The problem is that less & less of these interactions have been happening in the last books. This is what made me stick with this series! I live hearing Peabody & McNab and their silliness, about the Midas and all the rest of the gang that make these books not just a series of grisly murders. While there is a tiny bit in this book, I don't feel Eve's connection to them nearly as strongly as in some of the previous books. Please develope this character! She is a hard shelled, soft center cop, let more of her softness & the other characters through, please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally love J D Robbs In Death Series. However, i do agree with another reviewer; this book does not have the same family feel between the characters as the previous books did. That's what kept me a captive audience and had a sista digging deep to pay $14.99 for this book. I miss reading about the interaction between Peabody , Nadine, Mavis, Finney, Dickhead, Morris, McNab Summerset, Roark ans Roarks' family. If having a kid is not in her future; at least keep the family dynamics within the book. Please. That along intertwined with muder is what makes your books a joy to read, and a sista paying $14 bones for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's amazing that this author can write over 40 books with the same characters and each boom be better than the one before it. This is truly THE best series I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is outstanding. Nature vs nuture-theories of why we become what we are. Cold blooded apprentice sniper. The main characters are fantastic along with the story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always look forward to new In Death books . This book was longer than I expected with some characters that I didn't remember from previous books Eve's character seems slightly softer than in previous books but she still kicks butt! Not as much sex, either. All in all a wonderful read. I'm looking forward to the next novel in February. I rarely buy books but I couldn't wait for my library to stock this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all J.D. Robb !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
. . . But still not completely genuine Robb. If you compare with earlier works up to the one that included Rourke's last Christmas party, the differences in style are apparent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eve rides again with all of her crew. Nicely plotted and tightly paced addition to the series, with the added bonus of Bella's first birthday party looming over the murder and mayhem.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love catching up with E&R...Everyone else is bonus
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The whole cast shows up in this novel set in New York in 2016. I don't know how Nora Roberts manages to produce so many and keep the quality up, but this book's plot is engaging and the police work credible. Read the 42 others before you read this, you'll get the most pleasure from it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In Death has been one of my favorite reads. Certainly best prolonged series ever. But maybe it's time for it to end. Connections to characters outside of Eve, Roarke and Peabody are slipping away. This series was made by Its magnificent characterizations, and there is little of it left. Even Summerset takes a leave. Galahad is now just a fat cat. Where is Nixie or Jamie, are they ever coming back? Where is real interaction among Feeney, Mavis & Leonardo, Witney, Nadine, Caro, Charles & Louise, Tibble, Morris, Harvo, DeWinter... or even Dickhead Berenski or Trina, etc, etc. Roarke's Irish relatives. Why aren't Peabody and McNab married yet? How about some Baxter & Trueheart action? Why can't Eve be a captain and still go out on cases, Feeney does. And "Hello!" why the hell can't Eve have a baby? The potential for real character development would be amazing! There are lots of slash/maim/rape/torture books out there, in this series there is still the potential for so much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Eve & Roarke?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She never disappoints. Was happy to see all of my favorite people in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks again, J.D. Robb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emotional and twisted, touching and full of love. As usual, a very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best one in a while.... Love Dallas and Roarke. Good, gripping storyline and characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JD Robb delivers another page turner. Could not put down the book. Read straight through the night until I finished the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can harldy wait until February for the next in Death book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next book !
neilmak 4 months ago
A cracking, hard-to-put-down read. A text book example of first class thriller writing, where the reader is drawn in and kept captivated by the fast pace of the story. A minor quibble is that the author is not fully conversant with her weaponry: she writes of adjusting the aim of a laser rifle to allow for wind. Not so. A laser is a beam of monochromatic light and as such is not affected by wind. Allowing for windage only applies to the conventional sniper rifle which has a physical bullet...
Anonymous 7 months ago
Love all of Robb's books. Can't be beat.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Nora does it again with a thriller you can't walk away from