The Attack

The Attack

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Attack 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Given the state of the Middle East today, this is a timely and incredibly written story that I recommend without regard to your particular political beliefs. Beautiful and haunting in it's delivery, the author leaves you feeling very sad for both sides.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The protagonist is Amin a Muslim, an Israeli, a prominent well thought of surgeon. The attack is a suicide bomber in a restaurant. Amin's world is turned upside down when the authorities discover the bomber is his pampered beloved wife. Amin dives into the madness of the Palestinian terrorist, in order to prove the police wrong. This is a strong work, especially in light of today's world affairs. This is the first time I've understood the psychology of sucide bombers.
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
The Attack by Yas­mina Khadra is a fic­tional book set in Israel and the West Bank. Yas­mina Khadra is the nom de plume of Mohammed Moulesse­houl, a for­mer Alger­ian mil­i­tary officer. Dr. Amin Jafaari is a well-respected Arab who is an Israeli cit­i­zen and suc­cess­ful sur­geon in a Tel Aviv hos­pi­tal. One day a mas­sive sui­cide attack hap­pens close by which mobi­lizes the whole hos­pi­tal. After get­ting home from a very long shift, Dr. Jafaari is woken up ask­ing to come iden­tify his wife's body who has been killed in the attack. Dr. Jafaari dis­cov­ers that his wife was not vis­it­ing fam­ily as she said, but she was the sui­cide bomber. And thus the story begins. The Attack by Yas­mina Khadra is a won­der­ful, even handed and fas­ci­nat­ing book. Deal­ing with sen­si­tive sub­jects yet stay­ing away from a mil­i­tant point of view is a remark­able achieve­ment by itself, com­bine that with an excel­lent story and you've got your­self a winner. The story is told from the per­spec­tive of Dr. Jaa­fari, a nat­u­ral­ized Israeli Arab who works in an Israeli hos­pi­tal in Tel-Aviv and lives in an exclu­sive neigh­bor­hood in town. There are more than a mil­lion Arabs with full Israeli cit­i­zen­ship, who live between worlds and often find them­selves in unen­vi­able positions Even though Dr. Jaa­fari is sup­pose to the model of inte­gra­tion and peace, one day his life falls apart when it is dis­cov­ered that his wife exploded her­self in the mid­dle of a restau­rant, killing many includ­ing chil­dren who were there to cel­e­brate a birth­day party. The novel doesn't directly deal with the com­plex­ity of the issues in the Mid­dle East, but with the tur­moil of one man who con­sid­ers him­self a sec­u­lar­ist, a suc­cess­ful man mar­ried to his wife, liv­ing in paradise. As I men­tioned, this book is even handed, there is no right or wrong. Both Israelis and Pales­tini­ans are nei­ther demo­nized nor are they being heroic. They are sim­ply peo­ple liv­ing day to day try­ing to get through a tough time. Last time when we vis­ited Israel we had to take our son to the hos­pi­tal (my wife's worst night­mare com­ing true). A Druz doc­tor took care of our son in the best pos­si­ble way and we were grate­ful to him. It did not mat­ter to us, or to the rest of the peo­ple in the pedi­atric ward, the doctor's ori­gins as long as he knew his stuff. Our son, by the way, was fine - just a lot of gas like his old man and to his mother's dismay. The book starts out beau­ti­fully, but as the nar­ra­tor sinks into a state of con­fu­sion so does the nar­ra­tive. The reader isn't sure what day it is, which twist comes next or even if the plot is told in a lin­ear sense. Any­one who has ever been in a posi­tion where they are con­fused, bit­ter and depressed or on the brink of mad­ne
Michael Aviles More than 1 year ago
The setting is that of the evening news, on any given night. However, Mr. Khadra has found the gift of transporting you from the confort of your favorite evening news viewing couch, chair, etc... into a world that not even the protagonist in this book could have ever imagined, could be experienced. Your transported into the anguish and bewilderment that is felt by so many unfortunate souls on both sides of such an existance, from one whom would have never expected to be thrown into the mix in such a personal tragic manor. Truely heart pounding. Read and pass it on... Everyone will thank you. And surely pass it on...
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a past president of a Zionist organization this beautifully written book gave me new and needed sympathetic viewpoint of the genesis of the Palestinian position
the_awesome_opossum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was incredibly prosaic - and I say that not because it's written in prose :-p The author takes the premise of the novel, that an Arab doctor in Tel Aviv learns that a recent suicide bombing in the city was carried out by his wife, and does absolutely nothing interesting or unexpected with this premise. It plods along expectedly, full of anguish and sleep and inane fights with friends. The beginning pages did have promise; the xenophobia shown to Amin was revealing and could have been used to significantly reinforce the mindset of terrorism, which sometimes looks only incomprehensibly violent. But nothing gets carried through on or explored, which is unfortunate given the direction that the book could have taken.
Eliz12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Extremely disappointing book. Interesting premise but filled with cliches - both in terms of language and situation. I found the characters tedious, and I struggled to get through the text, so dripping in "meaning" and self-importance I could have choked. Sadly, it offers absolutely no insight whatsoever into the problems of the Middle East and from my reading, it's very anti-Israel.
creighley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The quandry of two worlds is presented here. Ammin is a successful naturalized citizen of Israel and dedicated surgeon. His world is literally blown apart when he discovers that his beloved wife has tied a bomb to herself and has detonated it in a popular Israeli restaurant where a group of children are celebrating a birthday party. His search for the answer as to how his wife could do such a thing, leads him down a dark and politically charged path.
ruthiekro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A successful Arab doctor living in Tel Aviv can barely believe his wife is the city's most recent suicide bomber. His search to find out why she would give up her comfortable life is dangerous and emotional. The Attack provides a fascinating look at Arab-Israeli life and beliefs. The author of one of my favorite books, The Swallows of Kabul, Yasmina Khadra writes poignantly and unapologetically.
hockeygal4ever on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very good. An Israeli doctor and his wife, both very westernized live the good life until the doctor finds out his wife was nothing he thought she was. As he treats vicitims from a suicide bombing at a restaurant that was celebrating with families and a childrens birthday party, he finds out the bomber was his wife. Never in his life would he have guessed she would become a suicide bomber. He has to find out the real woman he married and how he never knew her inner most thoughts.
libmhleigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dr. Amin Jaafari is a successful Arab-Israeli doctor living in Tel Aviv. Despite the fact that the city sometimes suffers from violence between Muslims and Jews, his world is relatively peaceful. All this changes, however, when there is a suicide bombing at a restaurant in the city, and it is determined that his wife was the bomber. Jaafari struggles with the knowledge that he must have not really known the woman he loved, and goes on a journey to find some answers.Quote: ¿The curtness of his tone, together with his summary manner, unsettles me. I can¿t believe that a man thought to be so close to God can be so far from men, so insensitive to their distress.¿While the premise of this book is very interesting, it requires that the reader be concerned with the lives of the doctor and his wife, that we buy into his personal tragedy. However, the development of the book doesn¿t work that way- it¿s hard for the reader t understand Jaafari¿s shock that his wife is an extremist when she¿s been that way since the beginning of the book. It was a fascinating premise, but it didn¿t always hold my attention.
Cariola on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Khadra has chosen an interesting subject: the reaction of an Israeli-Palestinian doctor to learning that his wife was a suicide bomber. Unfortunately, the novel is fairly predictable, the characters stereotypical and not particularly believable, and the writing (or perhaps it's the translation)--well, it's rather overwritten. I wanted to like this book and wanted to feel that I was coming to some important point or understanding from the experience of reading it, but (like Amin) I guess I never really got it, aside from some rather florid and generic statements about nationalism and humiliation.
SmithSJ01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The concept of this book is excellent. From the moment I opened it I felt engaged. `The Attack' comes to mean many things throughout the book. Firstly though, it is the culmination of his wife being found in a local restaurant that has been bombed; her injuries typical of those of a suicide bomber. As a respected surgeon at a hospital in Tel Aviv (and an Israeli Arab) he is stopped frequently on his journeys home and now with this, his life is thrown completely into turmoil. It is revealed that he has played no part in her other life and that Sihem (Dr Amin Jaafari's wife) was not the woman he thought she was, or married. I initially thought the author was a woman but then realised from searching (it does mention it in the book but I hadn't seen it) is a pseudonym and that Mohammed Moulessehoul is a veteran Algerian army officer. Having written six novels under his real name in Algeria the army then imposed unacceptable conditions and his work became censored. Following a refusal to do this his wife suggested he wrote under her name and this he did until leaving the army. Throughout the book Amin Jaafari goes through many emotions and journeys. He picks up clues throughout via flashbacks or some new piece of evidence that comes to light from conversations. He journeys towards Bethlehem, stopping of at Jerusalem. He stays in Jerusalem at Kim's brother's house. Kim seems to be his only ally, a fellow Doctor at the same hospital with whom he has been friends with since university. She helps him and goes with him to Jerusalem, then letting his continue on to Bethlehem himself; where he is received as a very unwelcome visitor. He is confused that his wife is praised and revered for what she has done. Unable to come to terms with this he continues speaking with the people who may have been the last to see his wife, as well as those who she confided in. I felt sad at what Amin Jaafari had to go through to find the truth. It puts a fresh perspective on all the items that have been played through the news over the last however many years. Unless you are unable to empathise you will feel angry and saddened by what you read, as well as full of questions. How could he not know what his wife was doing? What more does he not know about his own family? Who knew what she was doing and why didn't they tell him? The ending of the novel bears a stark resemblance to the prologue and is full of emotion. Again, you should have questions - is this the best for him? He goes through so much in the last few chapters of the novel you wonder how he could carry on. It is a terrific insight into a culture I only ever see through the eyes of the media. The characters are all highly believable and I felt genuine emotion as I read this novel. I am a hard reader to please and often leave books unfinished; I could see myself reading this novel again in the future. I came across this novel through a book group and without it being chosen for a monthly read I doubt I would ever have known about it. There are a whole host of synonyms I could use to describe it. However, simply put, everything about this novel is brilliant. `The Attack' is really worth a read and then you can find your own reasons why the title has such significance throughout the novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
regina77004 More than 1 year ago
"When horror strikes, the heart is always its first target," (pg 13). This is never more true for Dr. Amin Jaafari when he finally accepts that his wife, Sihem, is responsible for the latest suicide bombing. The Jaafari's are naturalized Israeli citizens who have left the ravages of Palestine for a comfortable life in Tel Aviv. Amin states, "I ddin't need to be a conscientious objector to distrust poliicies requiring armed struggle and sermons based on hatred. Gazing upon Jerusalem's sacred structures was enough to persuade me to oppose everything that might injure the enduring grandeur," (pg 142). Thus, Amin makes the deliberate decision to save lives rather than desroy them, fights prejudice on a daily basis, and becomes a renowned surgeon. <br/><br/>One day, while Amir is at work, the hospital becomes flooded with victims from a suicide bombing. The bomber walked into a restaurant where children were celebrating a friend's birthday and kills seventeen people. After frantically saving as many lives as possible Amir goes home exhausted only to receive a phone call to return to the hospital. Once there he is forced to identify the destroyed remains of his wife. Never suspecting his wife's involvement in terrorist activities, Amir is devastated. He treasured his wife and is haunted by the missed signs that she was descending into this world. Receiving a letter from his wife postmarked the day of the attack, Amin sets out to discover how this journey to destruction could have escaped him. There are a 1001 ways this premise could have gone wrong. While I'm not sure how I feel about some of Khadra's choices, there are some things I really appreciated. First, Khadra does an excellent job of providing insight into the daily lives of Israelis and Palestinians. Second, he beautifully captures the anguish jihadists leave family members with both in terms of grief over the loss of loved ones and the retribution enacted upon survivors. Finally, he shows that there is a choice in which path you follow. If you are new to Khadra's work, Yasmina Khadra is a nome de plume for Mohammed Moulessehoul, who began writing under his wife's name when the Algerian army demanded review of his work before publishing. Moulessehoul was an Algerian Army Officer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fascinating depiction of life in Israel of an Arab-turned-Jew to a wife who, though she had supposedly 'converted' to Judaism, was unable to renounce her Arab heritage, to the point of killing herself and others because of her perceived wrongs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rolled over amd jumped up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating premise never fully developed