Becoming the Talbot Sisters: A Novel of Two Sisters and the Courage that Unites Them

Becoming the Talbot Sisters: A Novel of Two Sisters and the Courage that Unites Them

by Rachel Linden

Paperback

$14.82 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.82, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Becoming the Talbot Sisters: A Novel of Two Sisters and the Courage that Unites Them 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Waverly and Charlie are twins. After the death of their parents and graduating from high school, their lives went in two different directions. Their aunt who raised them has recently passed and her death brings them back together where they vow to keep their relationship intact. This book frustrated me so much. The beginning of the story I was so invested and loved both of these sisters and their reconnection seemed so genuine and real. I loved what they had going and even loved one of the reasons that was going to keep them together. And then further along in the book something happened and my believability and enjoyment went downhill. I won't spoil anything, but just to say at a certain point I went OH NO and was glad I was near the end and could race through it. I didn't like where the plot went and felt it was a little over the top and just a little too dramatic for my taste - at least when it comes to a good women's fiction book.
pianosue More than 1 year ago
The story was good. Several twists and turns. About the two Talbot sisters. They have gone their separate ways and the distance has grown between them. Then their Aunt Mae passes away and brings them back together. Will they be able to reconnect? Learn to read about their stories and lives with a little drama and intrigue thrown in. My only draw back to this book is it is not a Christian book even though it is sold as Christian fiction.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
Beautiful Story of Sisters and family I received a copy of this book from The Fiction Guild, I was was not required or paid for my favorable review. This was a beautiful story of twin sisters strengthening their relationship as adult. They had been close after their parents died and they lived with an great-aunt who raised them. But now she has passed and Charlie flies back from Budapest to be there for her services. Waverly is married and has tried to become a mom many times but her body won't let her. When they are together for the funeral Charlie offers to be her surrogate. Charlie goes back to her work in Budapest and Waverly's TV show is having problems & so is her marriage. But what happens when Waverly visit her sister in Hungry brings the twins closer again, and motherhood to Waverly. I so enjoyed the writing of this book. I recommend a couple of tissues.
Ellen-oceanside More than 1 year ago
Twin sisters, yet so different, their choices for careers are different. Yet, thru all that they are two women, who have lived separate lives, come together after a death of an aunt. The bond is once again strengthen with the thought they may lose their jobs. Traveling thru Europe, they must find the courage to fight for what they want. A slow paced story that is easy to relax and just enjoy. Not a lot about Waverly husband and his thoughts. Readers won’t be disappointed, in a story rekindling a bond of love, that is unique, with twins. GivenARC by Thomas Nelson for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
Becoming the Talbot Sisters: A Novel of Two Sisters and the Courage That Unite Them is a pretty good read. I enjoyed learning and seeing the differences between the sisters, Charlie and Waverley. The story has a mixture of emotions that made their story flow. I give Becoming the Talbot Sisters four stars and hope to read more by Rachel Linden in the future. This is most definitely a must read and I recommend it.
joyful334209 More than 1 year ago
Becoming The Talbot Sisters Is a book of loss and gain - lost and found. Two sisters lost touch with each other but found each other again and one of them offers up an incredible gift to the other. Then the two are at a possible loss of their jobs. Will they be able to work together and keep it? I received a copy of this book from the Publisher and Netgalley; all of the opinions expressed in this review are all my own
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well-written story - entertaining, surprising, challenging, encouraging, fulfilling - a joy to read. HIGHLY recommended! Rachel Linden’s second novel, Becoming the Talbot Sisters, is a feast for the soul. Upholding the high standard set by her debut novel, Ascension of Larks, Linden has again staged a full-bodied cast of characters who slowly win our affections, emerging as people in whose futures we become invested and about whom we care. It is pure joy to get to know Waverly and Andrew, Charlie, Aunt Mae, Duncan, Kinga and Simona, Johan - all of the players, both major and minor - with all of their sterling qualities, flaws and idiosyncrasies. Linden is a gifted observer of human nature, tossing in the tiny telling details that breathe life into her characters (watch for the pudding cups!) Rife with descriptive details, the story moves through the radically diverse backdrops of a luxurious East Coast lifestyle in the high-stress world of television stardom; a slow paced, close-knit small town community in rural southern Ohio, the exotic atmosphere of beautiful Budapest, Hungary, and the rugged landscape of post-communist small Central European countries. Multiple plot lines are woven into an intricate tapestry of interpersonal dynamics, introspective psychological growth, and international political intrigue. Linden’s writing, far from being merely plot driven, offers a welcome balance of the essential components of a well-told tale. The reader will keep turning pages, not simply to find out what happens next, but also to find out what happens to, between, and within each of the characters. While the main characters wrestle with deepest needs, highest aspirations, shattered dreams, and brokenness, even minor characters infuse the story with important sub-themes - jealousy, bitterness, pride, loyalty and romance. The novel introduces a number of difficult and controversial themes –fractured family relationships, barrenness, surrogacy, human trafficking, moral responsibility and personal sacrifice. It invites us to reflect upon our own lives and relationships without heavy-handed moralizing. It elevates us to a higher awareness of international and humanitarian issues from which we are largely insulated, gently nudging us to examine our own perspectives and values. Avoiding platitudes, Linden walks with grace and careful balance the tight-rope of accurately depicting heartache, suffering, and the dark side of life while demonstrating personal growth, positive change and the ultimate triumph of love giving birth to hope and its fulfillment. Upholding the strength and incredible value of family ties, this is a story that shines with humor, courage, commitment and enduring love.
leapster More than 1 year ago
Oh how I loved this story of twin sisters Waverly and Charlie! The bond between the sisters and the lengths they went to for each other made this such an empowering read. I just wanted to yell You Go Girl!! a few times. The varied careers they had, the years spent apart, the distance that grew between them all fell away when they were needed and it was the likeability of these characters that pulled me in and kept me reading. I cheered for them, I was sad for them and I so wanted each of them to triumph in the end. Pick this up and read it, like yesterday! You will be glad you did. Thanks to Netgalley for allowing me to read an ARC of this wonderful story.
Noire More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley to read in exchange for a fair review. Becoming the Talbot Sisters is a contemporary woman’s fiction novel by Rachel Linden who has drawn on her experiences as an international aid worker to tell us the story of twin sisters Charlie Talbot and Waverly Talbot Ross. Waverly is the creator/host of a television show on the Food Network called Simply Perfect. Charlie Talbot is an international aid worker in living in Budapest, Hungary. The death of the aunt who raised them after their parents died when they were young brings them together again and they realize how much they’ve been missing each other and how much they need each other. There are lots of twists and turns in their journey back to each other. I enjoyed reading this book and do recommend it. Publishing Date May 1, 2018. #BecomingTheTalbotSisters. #NetGalley