Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

by Trevor Noah

Hardcover

$22.40 $28.00 Save 20% Current price is $22.4, Original price is $28. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Born a Crime 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 115 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gave me a real, non-textbook understanding of apartheid. And perfectly timed as we enter a new political era. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It reads quickly and delivers an emotional punch. An illuminating first person account of growing up half black and half white under apartheid and during its aftermath.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. A window into life in South Africa. Tells it like it is. At times funny and sad, always entertaining and thought provoking. A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To see Trevor on The Daily Show you would never expect this to have been his lived experience. He eloquently shares his world views on the show and having this background knowledge pf what he lived helps to narrate the global view he holds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Congrats to Trevor - I couldn't put this read down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A history lesson in plain language l could not put this book down . Thank you Trevor for Sharing your amazing story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great style. Excellent insight into how racism works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I knew Mr. Noah was intelligent and his book is confirmation of his insightful ability to speak truth to circumstance. Should be a required read in high school curriculum.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy reading the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read, very insightful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thid is the best book I've read in a long time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I plan on having my 10 year son read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. Keep going Trevor!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed. I cried. But, if anything I know means anything, Trevor Noah was born at the right time and in the right place. I have come to know him through this book, and I know that he is here for reason. His mother knew it. And now, so does the rest of the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So intelligent and so honest. What keen observations of race and social behavior, and a homage to a mother’s love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very insightful memoir of life under apartheid. Funny, witty and painful at times to read, but what a fantastic journey in the life of this remarkable young man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a story and it was masterfully told. Thanks for inviting us into your world Trevor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Lucid and well-written. I love this man!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A look into the legacy of apartied and the lives of mother and son who lived in spite of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an eye opening account of life during and after apartheid. Trevor writes the way he talks and his life experiences have certainly shaped his success. I will have to start watching him on the Daily Show because as someone who has never fit in anywhere he has a unique way of expressing his views on societal issues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Trevor Noah on The Daily Show and would never guess from his happy personal what a rough early life he had. Now I don't just think he's smart and funny, I have tremendous respect for him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Griping read. Should be a permanent read in school.
Melissa_Mellati More than 1 year ago
I have been recommending this book to everyone I know! Funny, heart-warming, and informative. Although this is a story about apartheid, it is also a story about growing up and what it's like to never quite fit in and perhaps most notably, it is a story about the love that exists between a mother and her child. This is the perfect read if you're looking to have a few laughs and learn something new about a different culture.
MontzieW More than 1 year ago
Born a Crime Stories from a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah is such an interesting look into the life of a talented young man. I am a big fan of Trevor and watched his special on Netflix where he speaks of his life growing up but this goes into so much detail, it is stunning all that this guy goes through and is not a bitter man. He describes the horrible laws and society he is born into and the way he is looked at in his society. How he tries to see himself. His life in poverty, with a very religious mother, an abusive step father, his struggles to find himself and diligent acts, his family, the horrible times in his life and the good times in his life. Through it all, he keeps his humor and love alive and shares it with us in this wonderful book. There is so much in here and he tells it so well. He has a good heart and it comes out in this book. He is not jaded by his past but seems to be inspired to be better because of it. Great job Trevor, we love you! Thanks NetGalley for allowing me to read this wonderful, touching book!