Brava, Strega Nona!: A Heartwarming Pop-Up Book

Brava, Strega Nona!: A Heartwarming Pop-Up Book

Pop Up Book

$29.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Brava, Strega Nona! 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Teacher10 More than 1 year ago
This pop-up should be sold with art books as well as with children's books, it is so incredible. The beautiful Tomie dePaola artwork is enhanced by the 3-Dimensional presentation. I heard dePaola's interview on National Public Radio, and learned that behind-the-scenes this book was the work of many others, including the 3-D specialists credited and hand-assemblers who get no credit. I wouldn't give it directly to a very young child, though: unfolding this glorious work needs to be supervised by adults. For both children and adults, familiarity with the Strega Nona picture book stories will multipy the appeal of this book.
Lisa-Romero More than 1 year ago
Charming book. Excellent pop ups. My children are mesmoriezed everytime I read it to them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish that I had a pop-up book like this when I was little. My daughter loves it and I think it was well worth the money . I was very impressed.
whimcountry More than 1 year ago
What an amazing book. Great keepsake and book for the entire family to learn from.
klsulliv on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Many families can be traced way back into history. "Brave Strega Nona" is a pop-up book that helps children understand the meaning of family and traditions. Children understand, through the eyes of Nona, that she is who she is from her family, particularly her grandmother. Her grandmother has taught her many things that she still remembers today. This is how family always stay with you because they leave behind memories and traditions that are to be passed down among generations. This book also touches on culture. There is a different language that Nona uses from time to time in this text. This gives children a chance to see that many people come from multicultural backgrounds. Children need to understand diversity, and what better way to teach them than to read them a book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book was purchased as a gift, I could not part with it. The illustrations and the use of pop-up as an art is delightful and fantastical. A prize for anyone who loves paper!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Colorful and most entertaining presentation of this classic story with simple & interesting explanation of Nona's development. A fabulous gift & keepsake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have given this book as a gift on a number of occasions and it is always a hit. It is full of wonder for adults let alone children.
mysterybuff47 More than 1 year ago
My children and grandchildren have always loved Strega Nona, but I bought this book for me. Sabuda and Reinhart have to be the Michaelangelos of the pop-up book genre, and this example is outstanding.
KansasDon More than 1 year ago
I sent this book to a friend in Italy who collects the pop-up books of Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart. He was extremely happy with this particular selection and highly recommends it to others who love good pop-up art.
lectriceAB More than 1 year ago
Tomie dePaola has outdone himself on this one. What a team dePaola and Sabuda make. I've shown it to so many people already, I hope it's still in good condition to give as the gift I had initially intended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great introduction to the paper pop-up creations of Robert Sabuda. Paired with Tomie de Paola's fascinating character Strega Nona this book is a winner for young and old. Taking us back to the basics of life and what is important. Brava Strega Nona teaches everyone important lessons about family, friends and community and how to become the best you can be. The pop-ups are incredible, talk about a familly tree or a village celebration. This book was loved by my son's class when he took it in for show and tell. His teacher especially enjoyed it. This book is enjoyable for anyone to read because the lessons we are reminded of can be appreciated by everyone.
Coy More than 1 year ago
This pop-up book is incredible! It is intricate and complete. There is no upper age limit on this work of art, but probably is not for the very young child.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book to share with your children, grandchildren, and all of their children
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago