Bullyville

Bullyville

by Francine Prose

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.50 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.5, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bullyville 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
SandyStiles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bart Rangley's dad dies in the World Trade Center attacks (after leaving him and his mother for a younger woman) causing confusion and grief. Bart gets invited to go to a private prep school known for its severe bullying problem and the inevitable happens. After a particularly horrible incident he vandalizes the family car of his chief tormentor and has to do some community service helping very sick kids in a hospital. He bonds with Nola, who then dies, and he finds out that it was his tormentor's sister. He goes back to public school at the end of the year.
jmc_cndk8 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Promising, but it didn't live up to expectations. Forgettable. *12/25/10
KatDJZ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book just based on the cover and I ended up being very disappointed in it. I know that may not be completely fair, but it is what it is. Based on the cover, I expected it to be just based on a boarding school and didn't realize it had the background story of September 11th.I feel that the whole September 11th plot was unnecessary and didn't add anything. The main idea seems to be that Bart goes to this school and deals with bullying. I don't know why 9/11 had to be the vehicle to get him there... It's not that I have a problem with 9/11 being used in a story, exactly, it's just that it didn't seem like a book about 9/11. Instead it was just a part of the background and I found it weird.Between the first half of the book dealing with the attacks and then the second half with the school, it felt like I was reading two completely books. Three, really, once you get towards the end, but I don't want to give too much away in case you're interested in reading it. I can't say I think it's worth it though.
missnickynack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My father was killed on 9/11. Everybody in town knows knows we lost him forever when the North Tower collapsed/ What they don't know is that he was gone long before that day. What they don't know is that a schlorship to exclusive Baileywell Academy only made my life worse. What they don't know is that my mentor at Baileywell is my own personal terrorist. Everybody calls me Miracle Boy. What nobody knows is taht it's a miracle I'm still here to tell you the real story about the worst year in my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
this book is a very interesting book
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
When Bart Rangely's absentee father is caught in the North Tower and killed on September 11th, he thinks that life can't get much worse.

Unfortunately, he thinks too soon.

Because of the public nature of his tragedy, Bart is offered a scholarship to the exclusive Baileywell Academy, an institution better known to its students as "Bullywell" for the rampant bullying that takes place behind its expensive doors.

Upon his arrival, Bart is assigned his own personal tormentor, Tyro Bergen, and his life descends into hell. But when he tries to retaliate, and is assigned volunteer work at a hospital for punishment, he finds a friend in an unlikely place, and discovers that sometimes a bully is hiding more from the world than his venom, and that things are not always
precisely what they seem.

The idea most compelling to me in BULLYVILLE is the world of the bullied, a world all but invisible to the adults responsible for the safety of its inhabitants. It is easy to imagine the story descending quickly into darkness and remaining there for the duration of the book.

Instead, Francine Prose presents a story that is at its core violence and personal disaster while still maintaining an uplifting tone. Bart Rangely is a funny, charming protagonist who keeps the story light even when dealing with its most serious concepts. I enjoyed Bart's tale immensely, and anyone who has been touched by bullying will identify with his dilemma.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book Bullyville by Francine Prose was much interesting. It all starrtee with a 13 year old boy named Bart Rangely who was sent to a top of the line preportory academy. The bad thing about it was his welcome wasn't pleasant at all for him. imagine your father dying on 9/11 also knowing you saved your mother from the same terrible tragedy. Being bullied was tearing bart apart, by using cruel joke and abused. for example: by pouring ketchup all over his hamburger at lunch, then another time where he put dog fecies all over barts locker. In the mist of it all he found himself connecting with tyro bergens little sister Nola, who was very ill, that why bart can't her company two day out of the week. Bart was a victim of group of kids who took all the problems out on him. His friend nola and bart family especially his mother keep him strong. Through this journey bart has ventured thru ups and downs. 'What doesn't kill you makes you stonger'! In that case it did for bart. Till this day bart will never forget the day his step foot into Baily wells preportory academy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Prose's After and fell in love with it the plot, the writing, everything. One thing about Prose is that, no matter WHAT the plot is, it always has tragedy. And Francine Prose writes tragedy well: in a realistic and believable voice. That's how Bullyville ranks. Her main character, Bart, has a realistic voice that many readers will find is similar the THEIR thoughts. I'm only about half-way through but I can assure any reader that if you liked After, you'll likely like this.
PriscyPK More than 1 year ago
I like book that are very down to earth. This is one of them. I loved the storyline. A boy who struggles in school whom happens to have a bully making it all worse. In a new school with no friends he has to deal with his own problems. It also has a huge twist that makes it all the more interesting. I recommend.