Caraval (Caraval Series #1)

Caraval (Caraval Series #1)

by Stephanie Garber

Hardcover

$5.98 $18.99 Save 69% Current price is $5.98, Original price is $18.99. You Save 69%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Caraval 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an absolutely magical story. Pulls you in from the very first page! Full of action and adventure from the very beginning. Many unexpected twists and turns. I highly recommend it!
Clara Goldberg More than 1 year ago
A beautiful idea, that was completely crushed by unnecessary romance. The idea is a competition with dangerous secrets and magic around every corner. It may sound good, but in truth, the whole book is not focused on the fantasy at all, its about an awful romance. When you put two characters together that have nothing in common and have no chemistry, it is definitely a bumpy ride. Instead of focusing on the wonderful idea of the competition, you get to listen to the MC forgetting about everything (INCLUDING her sister!) to ask where her love interest is. Not to mention that the romance blossoms at the VERY beginning, and began when he was kissing the MC's sister. In fact, I could not even finish the book it was so aggravating! This book was a waste of time for me and it will be for you too!
ahyperboliclife More than 1 year ago
“Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world.” Caraval is truly a magical book filled with illusions and manipulations that keep you guessing. Sisters Scarlett and Donatella Dragna are invited to the illusive game, Caraval. However once they arrive they find everything is not as it appears, and their expectations are rapidly changing. After Donatella becomes part of the game, Scarlett fights magic and illusions to keep her sister safe. Things I Liked I really loved that Scarlett’s letters opened the book. Her letters to Legend, inquiring about Caraval were the perfect opeining. They immediately gripped me and drew me into the story. I wanted to know more about Caraval and this world. Caraval itself was actually pretty well established, which I honestly wasn’t expecting. We see how Caraval came about through Scaralett’s flashback to stories with her grandmother. I thought Caraval would have been kept more of a mystery, but we learn abouts it’s origins and rules fairly early on in the story. Personal preference, but I really loved the short chapters. It made it really easy to read, and easy to become invested in. Such great potential for the next book. I really loved the ending and the clues dropped about what could be coming in the future. I’m pretty excited for book 2. Things I Didn’t Like I did not like Tella at all. She was was impulsive, stubborn, and selfish - not a good combination in a game with such high risks. I didn’t care for her at all, so I was never super invested in her relationship with Scarlett. While Caraval is well established, I didn’t think there was much world building outside of Caraval at all. We don’t really know anything about the history, culture, or politics of the world or places. It made me care a little less, or at least a little less invested. Scarlett talked about seeing colors attached to strong emotions, but like the world building, the magic outside of Caraval wasn’t really established. I didn’t know why she could see the colors; if it’s a common thing among people (or a certain group of people). Was she being literal (like I took it), or more metaphorical - it wasn’t clear. I guess I just had more questions about the world at large, so I wasn’t completely satisfied. Because of all the lies and manipulations in Caraval, you’re never really sure what’s real or not, what’s important or not, or what’s lasting or not. There did seem to be less weight and impact with some of the events, because I didn’t know if I was supposed to believe what was happening, or I wasn’t sure it would be a permanent problem. Caraval is an enchanting read of magic, family, and breaking out on your own. While I found the world outside of Caraval lacking, Caraval itself is both vibrant and grim - an enthralling blend of danger, adventure, and promise. The strong beginning immediately drew me in, and the ending left me waiting in eager anticipation for what comes next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eh.... I just couldn’t get into it. I couldn’t see her world and didn’t really feel the characters. I can’t see me reading book 2.
LazyLibra More than 1 year ago
Badly executed plot. The main character is not well developed and falls into a lot of misogynistic behavior patterns. This book also perpetuates the myth of abusive family life that I don't really want teens to be accepting as the norm. :/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've never read anything like it, it is a deliciously rich read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seriously amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down. Can't wait for the 2nd! Love, magic and adventure awaits you in this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A MUST READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so good guys!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the idea of this book. But I am currently trying so hard to finish it. I've been on chapter 12 for over a month. Main character... She brings me down, man. Its a good story otherwise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun novel filled with mystery and awesomeness!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down!!!
Chancie More than 1 year ago
Wonderful writing with a wonderful setting that I wanted to see so much more of, but the main character's "struggle" felt like a waste of time, was hard to relate to or care about, and by the end, everything wraps up far too nicely and easily. It was not the ending this book should have had to fit the themes it tried to set up in the beginning. The plot never went deep enough, and there was so much wasted potential. After the ending, this book would have been a two star read for me, but I loved it so much that for the first half, it was going to be four star, so I figure three stars is a good middle ground.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just loved it! Can't wait for the next book!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Can't wait for mor!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful, vibrant, eerie, and unpredictable in all the best ways. To me it had undertones of Alice's Adventures Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass, while being channeled through the brilliantly colorful and vibrant mind of Tim Burton. Basically, Stephanie Garbor is a genius and has made it to my all time favorite author list. The characters made me feel very invested. and each chapter felt new and exciting striking a perfect balance between action scenes and world building. This book made me feel things, it made the darkness inside feel real and the light feel pure and raw. This book while saying "it is a game" on the cover really isnt a competition per say. It is an adventure. Our main heroine, Scarlett, is not racing and fighting against other players, but instead against herself, time, the master of the game, and her life as she knows it. She grows, she stumbles, she feels, and every bit of it you feel and grow with her. BUY. THIS. BOOK.
Anonymous 4 months ago
?? ending was good however the end was not what the climax created or ended as dramatically as it should with the plot.
alyssama121 5 months ago
This has been on my list for a long time and my husband recently read it, so I decided to read it too. Overall, I really enjoyed it. It’s hard to review a book like this because so much of the enjoyment depends on not really knowing what’s going on, so here’s a short review with my thoughts. Caraval is a wild ride. I kept guessing and second-guessing and triple-guessing everything that was going on. I got some things right and some things wrong, so it was really interesting to see how everything turned out. If anything, though, this did keep me turning the pages because I just had to know what was going to happen next. Scarlett is an okay main character–I didn’t really connect to her and had some empathy, but wasn’t wholly rooting for her the way I normally would for a main character. Not that I hated her anything, I just didn’t love her. Julian, on the other hand, I was completely intrigued by. His backstory is really the reason I kept reading, because I just couldn’t figure him out. I kept wanting to know more about him. I did like that this book featured a strong sister relationship; being an oldest sister with two younger sisters, I related to Scarlett’s desperation to make sure Tella was okay and to save her. The bond they have for each other is so strong, and I loved that. The ending really saved this story for me. I knew the whole time that how everything ended would determine how much I liked this book, and I’m pleased with how everything turned out. I’m definitely looking forward to reading the sequel to see what happens next!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
Read 3 times’
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book!!!! Lots of twists and turns and things that you don’t see coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book, I thought that Scarlett and Donatella's back story was very well done and the character development in Scarlett was pretty well done as well. This was definitely one of those books I just couldn't put down, it kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time. The author also does a good job at pacing, it never felt rushed and the action wasn't all piled in the last 50 pages (which seems to be a common thread in a lot of books I have read). However, I did not like the ending, it seemed very forced and the "wish" thing was a bit too unrealistic for me. The love story was also very cliche and rushed, it seemed unnatural. I enjoyed Donatella's character very much though and I wish we got to see more of her, I am so very excited to read the Legendary since it is entirely her POV!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago