Daniel's True Desire (True Gentlemen Series #2)

Daniel's True Desire (True Gentlemen Series #2)

by Grace Burrowes

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $7.99 Save 6% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $7.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Daniel's True Desire 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 in the True Gentlemen series. Daniel Banks is starting his life over with a new parish where he meets the intriguing Kristen Haddonfield. Unfortunately for them both, Daniel is married. He has been estranged from his wife for over a year, but that doesn't change the fact that he can't start something with Kristen. Daniel and Kristen start working with some of the local boys on their studies and deportment but have to continue fighting their attraction for one another. With everything working against them, can they ever find their happily ever after? I really enjoyed this story! It's not too often that the hero of your story is the local vicar. Since Daniel has a complicated past, he needed to be paired with an unconventional woman. Kristen was definitely not your typical society miss. We see glimpses of this in Tremaine's True Love. She helps Daniel with boys and is basically his right hand man...err woman. Definitely a great addition to the True Gentlemen series. I can't wait to read the next installment which comes out in February. Thanks go out to Sourcebooks for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
Pure_Jonel More than 1 year ago
What a wonderfully complex tale. Burrowes weaves class distinctions with different ways of life. She shows what is expected of her characters, yet at the same time allows them to make their own choices. The mix is so very real and realistic. The dynamic between the main characters is complexly rewarding. The obstacles that Burrowes places in their road not only strengthen their relationship, but also allowed me to get to know them on many levels. It also created some very unique plot twists that took the story from good to great. Once again Burrowes has created a wonderfully romantic tale that is both original and easily takes readers back in time in a memorable way. (And yes, the word of the day when it comes to this novel seems to be ‘wonderful’, and it definitely fits) Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Daniel is just so good a man I couldn't help but love him. This my second time reading this book and probably won't be my last.
emiliejean More than 1 year ago
Grace Burrowes just keeps getting better and better and then even better. This story was absolutely delightful. Didn't think she could top Tremaine's story but she did. now on to Will's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love series and this doesnt disappoint
Doodlebug4444 More than 1 year ago
5 out of 5 for this reader folks! I am really beginning to think there isn’t anything Grace will write that I won’t gush over. I adore her historical romance style, her true knowledge of the era she sets her novels in, the language used and the descriptions where I really feel like I have been transported in time. Daniel’s True Desire is Grace Burrowes second book in her True Gentlemen series and I must admit I was interested in how this one would turn out. This book tells the story of Lady Kirsten Haddonfield (Nicholas’s spitfire of a sister) and Daniel Banks the new vicar of the town. After many broken engagements, Kirsten has somewhat resolved herself to living life as a spinster. When a cold blustery morning introduces her to the new town vicar, she must admit she is somewhat smitten. Daniel is taken a back by Kirsten’s forwardness and quite frankly finds her rather refreshing .. if not beautiful. Feeling completely drawn to one another it’s only a matter of time when something more than friendship comes to surface. Only one problem … our handsome vicar is already married. Daniel has a horrible wife, and one he is estranged from. After learning of her true disposition in a previous book (The Lonely Lords book David), he agrees to live apart from her. He also is nursing a broken heart where his nephew/son (read the book and you’ll understand how he is both) is concerned. Being a man of the cloth he certainly cannot break his marriage vows .. so what is he to do about his feelings towards Kirsten? Kirsten knows he is hands off, and surely she can work with him on a major project without worry. SURELY??? What would happen however, if Daniel was no longer married?? What would happen if his wife perished?? What would happen if it was all an evil plan??? I had a bit of reservation where this novel was concerned. A man of the cloth?? HMMMM … how do you get passion and love from that? Well Daniel certainly is the right man for that task and Grace Burrowes sure did deliver. I adored Kirsten and her practical ways. If any obstacle was in her path, she just jumped right over it and/or found a way to work with it. These two were a perfect match, and their ease of friendship flourished long before their love did which just adds to the believability. Another FANTASTIC read and I am lucky to already have a copy of the next book in this series. I will be eagerly diving in soon! HAPPY READING!
MsChris1161 More than 1 year ago
Another wonderful story by Grace Burrowes. DANIEL'S TRUE DESIRE, the second book in the True Gentlemen series brings us back to the community of Haddondale and the family of the Earl of Haddonfield. This time the match-up is his sister, Kirsten, and the new Vicar, Daniel Banks. The handsome and kind new Vicar comes with secrets and a broken heart. His situation strikes accord with the outspoken and secretly broken Lady Kirsten Haddonfield. They quickly develop a bond of friendship. Together they take on the unruly boys from the local families which brings about healing and admiration between the two. A romance grows despite the possibilities. This is a story of sacrifice, integrity, virtue, kindness, and sincere and honest love, both romantic and familial. The Reverend Banks is indeed a true gentleman, yet a man of fierce devotion to the beliefs he's passionate about. And Kirsten, a true Lady. Daniel's True Desire was delightful to read and a lovely addiction to Ms Burrowes' newest series. 4 stars. ~Complimentary copy downloaded from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a fan of this author, I was excited to read the companion story to her novel "David". The story and characters did not disappoint. Daniel and Kirsten are engaging, but I also liked the parts where we learn the thoughts of the young scholars on Daniel's care. The mystery of how things will be resolved keeps the pages turning. Looking forward to Grace's next book.
GHott More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I really enjoyed both Daniel and Kirsten, plus the plot is perfect. The tension and love show through every word. There is just a page or two of steam and it’s sweet. Some may not like that there is quite a bit about Daniel’s position of vicar. It felt very honest and not slanted for or against.
def618 More than 1 year ago
Daniel Banks is the new vicar and teacher for Haddondale. He is also the nicest, most caring hero I've read. Lady Kirsten believes she can't have children and is trying to accept being a spinster aunt to her numerous siblings' children. They have an immediate attraction to each other. Kirsten is also pleased that with Daniel, comes his son Danny. But, as in all good stories, a villain lurks. Who and why I will not say as I refuse to spoil the story. Some characters from previous books put in an appearance in this one. Grace Burrowes writes wonderful books and you won't be disappointed. Having siblings, I will share my favorite lines from this book. The village boys, who are to attend vicar's new school and get ponies, are discussing the fact that Danny already has a pony. "How'd he get a pony if his papa's only a vicar? Frank asked. No sisters, Matthias suggested. Sisters cost a lot of money. On this, the other boys seemed agreed."
gaele More than 1 year ago
I don’t think I’ve ever read a story where the hero is a vicar, and prevented from following his heart by the constraints of his profession. Curiouser and curiouser, this story is a match of opposites in social standing and approaches to life. Daniel has reached a repeated series of roadblocks in his life, and a new parish just might be what he needs. Offered the position by the Earl of Haddonfield, he’s got plans and hope for brightness in his future, he’s left behind feelings of failure and an estranged wife. Lady Kirsten, daughter of the Earl had encountered Daniel previously with less than stellar results. But, she’s intrigued by his plans to work with the boys on the estate, and has decided to put her not inconsiderable intelligence to helping out. She’s far from demure and retiring: outspoken, sharp tongued, with two failed engagements and a tendency to bristle like a hedgehog, the working relationship moves from tentative and at odds to both characters readjusting their initial impressions. Despite Daniel’s interest, divorce is not an option for a vicar, so the relationship is stalled with both Daniel and Kirsten wishing for more, yet knowing it is impossible. The growth of their relationship and their connection is palpable, and these two are truly well-suited. When word comes that Daniel’s estranged (and wholly nasty) wife has died, plans for a wedding are quickly made, and everything is coming up roses. But, of course, nothing is as easy as it seems, and our roses have thorns: with a threat to the wedding and their future in danger, can it all work out? Wonderful characters that were first introduced in The Duke’s Disaster, these two develop and grow, and grow on readers as you empathize with and admire their ability to move through adversity. While Kirsten touches on some familiar territory in her variation from the norm of the day, she shows a true heart and desire to be useful, as both a wife and woman, making her development the more striking and welcome. With secondary characters that are clever in their moments, a bit of drama from the villain, and some truly clever hijinks the story moves forward to a happy, and appropriate, conclusion. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all her books and love them all !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago