Dark Angel / Lord Carew's Bride (Stapleton-Downes Series #3 & #4)

Dark Angel / Lord Carew's Bride (Stapleton-Downes Series #3 & #4)

by Mary Balogh

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Angel - Lord Carew's Bride 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
LiSaThAoO More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading both books. "Dark Angel" was a really good. Jenny and Gabriel were interesting characters. I wasn't so sure or interested in "Lord Carew's Bride" because I wasn't such a fan of Sam in the first book. But after beginning it I have to say I enjoyed it just as much as "Dark Angel".
SugarPlumFL More than 1 year ago
This was a very good period romance novel. I liked that there was attention to detail for the norms of the time setting. The plots were predictable (as almost all romance novels are) but original enough to keep up interest. The writing style is very enjoyable, and it had just the right amount of "intimacy". It was nice to have two stories in the one book. Sometimes I don't want to begin a long novel when I am busy with work, but these stories were perfect to pick up and read between projects.
Patito02 More than 1 year ago
Mary Balogh is a good friend to relax with...and these two books are no exception. A fun easy read. Enjoy a trip back in time and place and imagine the handsome men, the beautiful gowns, the elegant balls. One can very easily forget the lack of indoor plumbing, rapid communication, and efficient transportation to name a few of modern conveniences we would all miss if we actually lived in that age. But what fun to enjoy the romance and elegance of a by gone era with such a talented and deliciously entertaining writer as Mary Balogh... it feels as though an old friend has stopped by to gossip in the nicest possible way with no mean intent. All of her books are well worth the time. Enjoy.
Miso More than 1 year ago
Mary Balogh doesn't disappoint. This pair of stories is typical of her gentle style: emotionally interesting characters, unlikely hero traits, high London society, and genuine romance. After reading most of her other work, I think Lord Carew's Bride in particular may be one of my favorites.
lovenovels More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by this author, but I will definitely read another by her! I loved this book, it was so sweet. Both parts of the book were very romantic and touching. When I finished this book, I was sad to let it go =( Thats how you know a book was really good, when you're sad that it has ended. If you like a good romance, get this book. You wont be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark Angel was an enjoyable and fun read. I wasn't sure I would care for Lord Carew's Bride because Samantha's character in the first book is thoroughly unlikeable. Instead, I found that I learned to love her. For all intents and purposes, she is perfect on the outside, but her own awareness of her inner flaws makes her imminently likeable. Lord Carew, on the other hand, wears his outward flaws for all to see, but has a character to make any woman sigh. The romance between the two feels completely sincere and uncontrived. For any woman who has suffered the agony of a painful, obsessive relationship, and later learned the difference between it and real love, this book is a must read. I have read this book at least four times. It is one of my favorite romance novels, ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mary Balogh novels present characters that are typically different than your ordinary male and female of their period. Which makes them unique. However, they continue to exhibit for the most part values associated with their time period,but they are capable of exceeding the norms and find fullfilling lives.
cyderry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dark Angel tells the story of the Earl of Thornhill who has returned from exile in Europe and how his search for revenge turns against him into a love story. It was entertaining and a nice way to end the year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stayed up all night, couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago