Dear Daughter: A Novel

Dear Daughter: A Novel

by Elizabeth Little

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dear Daughter: A Novel 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was compared to the likes of Gilliam Flynn, which couldnt be farther from the truth. She did try to put a plot twist in at the very end which failed miserably. The whole book moved incredibly slow until the last twenty pages or so... Save your time and money with this one folks, it is not worth it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not like this book.  It didn't hold my interest and it wondered around too much without significance.  However, I did not care for Gone Girl either but would have rated it little higher than Dear aughter
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
When you slack off for a few days and seek praise in your own writing, bad things tend to happen. With me, my memory went to crap on a cracker. So (like Will Ferrell in Old School during the great debate) let me regurgitate DEAR DAUGHTER in a stream of consciousness before I’m even more screwed than I already am. Janie Jenkins decided to take everything she had discovered over the course of her life—before she ended up in the pokey—and leave it on the side of the road. Her clothes, hair, name, and confidence…broken like a baseball bat. Her ability to mess around until the sun goes down with a semi-famous rock star. Gone. She may have been tabloid fodder with her feet firmly planted in an alternate reality, even as her mom tried to pull the minivan out of the driveway. But she had more than enough intelligence to jam a crucifix in that plan, and stay in the course in that multi-horse town. With her eyes downcast, and nothing to go on but a place and a date, she seeks justice for a crime she didn’t commit, even if she can’t get those ten years of her life back. But she’s bound and determined to even the score. Her character reminded me of a stray cat that had been kicked a little too much, and missed more meals than she received. Her mom couldn’t have offered a better plug for contraceptives, although she didn’t end up being a total loss. All the small town and South Dakota atmosphere needed was a six shooter, black hat, cloud of dust, and some western theme music. Yeah, the town nearly became a character in the story, and I reminisced about my brief stint in Rapid City, where the land was flat and the trees were sparse. The plot nudged along, until Elizabeth Little revved the engine and it took off near the end like a turbocharged Harley, and I nearly fell off and struck the pavement. Other than whiplash and a near brush with asphalt, I managed to keep my butt in my seat. I didn’t even need to dust myself off. With that being said, I didn’t like the end. It felt like I put my head through a glass door. Otherwise, though, I was good to go. If I pick up another Elizabeth Little novel, I’ll just make sure I walk with my hand in front of my face. I received this book for free through NetGalley. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
A special thank you to PENGUIN GROUP Viking and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. DEAR DAUGHTER, by Elizabeth Little, is a razor sharp debut thriller which will keep you on edge until the surprise ending! Janie (a Paris Hilton / Kim Kardashian type celebrity) is out of prison after serving ten years, for the murder of her mother, a philanthropist. With circumstantial evidence, it appears she did it, or was framed. Her memories of the said evening which changed her life and fueled her for revenge, are not very clear; however, she cannot rest until she finds the real killer. There is much publicity surrounding the case, and of course crazy stalker bloggers, and celebrity journalists, so Janie has to go undercover to find answers. Her leads take her to a mining town in South Dakota, where Janie tries to find out more about her mother’s past, her father, herself, and then there is the lawyer, Noah. Someone holds the key to all the secrets and she is determined to find answers about the night her mother was killed. Jane knows she and her mother have never been close; however she cannot help but recall the quarrel prior to her death between her mother and someone. A complex and gripping story with tight and precise writing, and a not so likable smart mouth sarcastic main character Jane, which has traveled everywhere and gained notoriety through her family connections. It was fun seeing the transition of personalities from the real Jane to the one which is undercover, obsessed with finding clues leading to that night. Where nothing is as it seems, Little takes you on twists, turns, filled with humor for a clever and dramatic faced-paced mystery with family dynamics of mother-daughter plus more—alternating between the current present quest, and memories and events leading to the night her mother was murdered and of course, all the media surrounding the case. I am not a huge fan of celebrities, reality TV, and the gossip and glam which go along with the role; however, hoping for a sequel, as feel the ending lends itself for another interesting saga!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A gripping plot with some surprises especially the last page. The main character is a wise cracking , potty mouthed narcissist who is difficult to relate to or to like . The author didn't need to make her so immature and nasty for the novel to have been successful .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not like this book at all. I should not have purchased it after seeing it compared to "Gone Girl", which I thought was highly over rated! Don't waste your time or $$$. Sorry!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such poor writing. And the plot is so paper thin and juvenile. Disappointment City - save your money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know the reviews are good and I would agree on some points, but I wish I wouldn't have bothered with this book. Very disjointed aand odd, especiallly the last few chapters.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Very mysterious and campy!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow, boring at times, could have been decent short story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A memorable storyline with the right mix of suspense and thrills. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't quite know how it's all possible in one novel but it's accomplished here . If you love complicated heroines like Catniss Everdean, you'll love Janie. Great character development told from the mind of a classic narcissist manipulator. The ending will be ringing in your ears for days after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good mystery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being compared to Gillian Flynn and having an interesting synopsis I thought I would love this book. While it did hold my attention, I do have to say that I was sitting on a beach in Hawaii with completely undivided attention to focus on it. Otherwise I don't think I would have finished it. It was a good story, however about half way through became so incredibly far fetched I was just glad to see it end.
LeliaPiet More than 1 year ago
This is a love it or hate novel, and I LOVED it! Psychological Thrillers with unreliable narrators is a favorite of mine and this one did not disappoint. Witty description was like no other I've ever read. The author had me guessing to the very end. Other reviews have compared this story to Gone Girl, but I think you must go into this book without such expectations then prepare yourself for a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally finished it, after...how many months...six? Yes, that's right, six long months. Normally I can finish an engaging read within a couple of days, staying up until the wee hours, feeling an overwhelming sense of melencholy at the loss of the characters that I am going to deeply miss. If one is looking for an experience that is going to engage until the wee hours turning page after page in a fury of anticipation and left with sadness that the journey is over, then keep searching, because this book isn't for them. It's shallow in every way that a book can be. The protagonist is a horrible, dry, boring character who thinks she's so cool and interesting because she's unconventional and uses big words and was an 'it' girl. I found it droll and pretentious. This is just my opinion and others may completely disagree with me. I do give the author a high five for accomplishing the grueling hard work of creating the story and actually getting her book published, kudos to her. I have high respect for all writers. However, for me, this book isn't one that I will remember and talk about in years to come. In other words, it's forgettable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because a few reviews compared it to the likes of Gillian Flynn's material, and as I loved "Gone Girl," I decided to give it a shot. After reading the book, I wouldn't go so far as to say that the author is similar to Gillian Flynn. The writing in "Gone Girl," for example, seemed a lot more streamlined and made a little bit more sense. With "Dear Daughter," the story went all over the place with flashbacks and things at the beginning of each chapter that I often had difficulty keeping up not only with the plot, but the assorted array of characters that were introduced, all of whom seemed very one dimensional. I guess the only comparison I can make between it and "Gone Girl," is that I also didn't much like the ending. The "Dear Daughter" ending seemed very rushed and the revelation of the killer seemed to come out of nowhere due to last minute plot twists. Furthermore, the ending just came to a sudden halt after the action was over. I invested so much time into these characters (however one-dimensional they may have been), and I would like to have received a little bit of follow-up toward the end about what happened to all of them and their relationship to the main character after the truth is discovered. However, the author just allows for the big reveal at the end and just leaves it at that with no follow through afterwards. I think that's what I disliked the most about the book. Overall, I think the book might be nice as a  quick summer read. It's only 300 some odd pages, so it wouldn't take a person long to finish. And the chapters are pretty concise and get to the point without slogging on for pages and pages, which I always like. It's a decent read, but not the best, in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What started off as an interesting idea for a mystery, got lost along the way. The main character's frequent references to luxury items comes off as very researched and forced. The male characters were so thinly developed that I had trouble keeping the names straight. The ending of the novel felt rushed and unfinished.
TheBibliophilicBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Janie Jenkins was the latest LA It Girl to fall from the glittering heights when she was convicted of murdering her mother. Ten years later, she’s released on a technicality from when her trial was held. Now she’s on the trail which was started from her mother’s last words and which Janie hopes will lead her to the truth. Because she didn’t kill her mother, did she? DEAR DAUGHTER is written through prose, articles, and blog posts. Janie’s voice is spot-on and it was interesting to see her character grow while uncovering her mother’s past, yet maintaining her snarkiness and own brand of self. Especially with as hungry as the populace seems to be for hints of fame and the rollercoaster ride lives of celebrities and so-called celebrities, DEAR DAUGHTER fits right into this culture. There is a secondary world Jane enters – Ardelle and Adeline, South Dakota. These small-towns and the seemingly small-minded people who populate them just may hold the secrets Janie needs to discover who her mother truly was before and how she became the woman Janie knew. DEAR DAUGHTER will definitely appeal to readers who like Gillian Flynn or Marisha Pessl.