Queen of the Damned

Queen of the Damned

Director: Paul Goldman, Michael Rymer Cast: Aaliyah, Stuart Townsend

VHS

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Queen of the Damned 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 117 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main plot is between Lestat, Jesse, and Akasha. There are also several subplots involving David, Maharet, and Marius - each is connected to one or more of the main characters. Akasha and her mate were the Original Vampires. Vampires worshiped them as Gods - they were the source of all Vampirism. To every Vampire they were the Creators. After countless centuries of life they'd lost the will to carry on, they'd become Living Statues. Marius had eventually become their caretaker. At the beginning of the movie Lestat was intomed in a crypt. He too had lost the will to carry on. Eternity had become too much to handle, so he'd slept for several generations. Eventually he sensed that society had shifted, he found a reason to rise. He turned himself into a Rock Star, declaring to the whole planet that he was a Vampire. Naturally society as a whole didn't take that seriously. As a Rock Star he was worshiped by countless fans. He also gained an endless supply of prey. Fans came to him, not realizing their danger until it was too late. Jessie was part of a secret society. One that recorded Vampire Activity, but was sworn to never interfere. David was her mentor, and a father figure. David had been studying Marius for many years, unaware that Marius had been doing the same with him. After the final battle Marius comes for David, presumably to turn him. Through David Jessie gained access to Lestat's journal. That journal told how Marius made Lestat a Vampire. How Lestat had eventually found Akasha. For the first time since Marius had cared for her, Akasha moved. She offered him her wrist - her blood. A tiny taste of her blood had made him quite powerful. Jessie became obsessed with Lestat. She found him in London, and followed him to his concert in Death Valley. The chemistry between those two was beautiful. She wanted to become a Vampire, she wanted to be with Lestat forever. She was also connect to an ancient Vampiress - Maharet. Maharet had been made by Akasha herself. Before being turned Maharet had born a child. Even as a Vampire she'd taken care of that child. She'd followed each generation of her descendants. As a child Jessie had believed Maharet was her aunt. Near the end of the movie Jessie learned the full truth. Lestat's music, boldness, and defiance had spread across the entire planet. Eventually it was enough to wake Akasha. She took the King's Blood, absorbed his power. Then she came for Lestat, wanting him for her new King. She and Lestat shared a night together. Metaphorically feasting on each others flesh, and literally feeding on each others blood. Akasha's blood gave Lestat the power to walk in daylight. Maharet and Marius allied themselves with several other ancient vampires. They were terrified of fighting Akasha. It wasn't just that they weren't sure they could beat her. They didn't know if the Vampire Species could survive without it's creator. When Akasha arrived with Lestat they refused to join her. She ordered Lestat to kill Jessie, to punish Marharet. When Lestat demanded his crown, she didn't hesitate. Akasha had believed Jessie's death would solidify her hold on Lestat, instead he'd broken it. With her veins open, Akasha was vulnerable. The ancients all attacked. 2 died in battle. Then Marharet finished her. Marharet took the last of Akasha's blood - she became a living statue, the New Queen of the Vampires. Afterwards Lestat gave Jessie his blood. The movie ends with the two of them heading off into eternity together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CMaxC More than 1 year ago
Akasha Wow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i luv it ! .. i have it on dvd & i watch it like 3 times a month yes i'm a huge vampire fan & i love the way stuart towsend played the roll as the vampire lestat! & the soundtrack is awesome !
MidnightCat90 More than 1 year ago
Some of ya might not like this movie but i love it from beginning to end and has a great soundtrack too!!
dixr1 More than 1 year ago
Director Mike Rhymer should have read the book before beginning the film. The cinematography is wonderful as well as the locations where the film was shot and great soundtrack. I understand he wanted to focus more on Lestat, but the main story of the twins, Enkil and Akasha were never properly delved into. If you are a fan of Anne Rice's novels, I would not recommend this movie for you. Characters not properly portrayed or just simply missing are a major disappointment as well as the origin of who made Lestat into a vampire. Save your time and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
All I can say is, this is THE only VAMPIRE movie that turned me on. Stuart Townsend was awesome, those tantalizing eyes, gave me chills and made me want to see it over and over again...I would of really like to see Lestat at least kiss Jesse even just once, though. Loved EVERYTHING about the movie; music was right on on every part of the movie scenes, actors were great, on and on. I wished, I saw it in the big screen. Please let there be a part 2.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is so wonderful. It isnt quite as good as Interveiw with the Vampire, but i love it all the same. I love the whole idea of the movie, i love the gothic edge it has to it...it has defenitly given me motive to go out and read the books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie was so hot i loved it. stuart townsend was so sexy. i love vampire movies and this was the best. the sound track is hot too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Queen of the Damned. Aaliyah was great. Everything about this movie was perfect. Stuart Townsend was great as Lestat. The music fit the mood of the movie 100%.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the movie, it wasn't like the books very much but that didn't matter because I! wasnt trying to compare them. i say if you dont like it because you were too busy trying to compare them, then tough you will never enjoy a movie if you are always trying to compare them, it just doesn't work like that. the movie was wonderful and so was the music and the actor/tress's were great. (srry about my spellin')
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the movie exciting and very sexy. It was refreshing to see faces not as famous. Aaliyah was great, and I found her movements graceful and frightening. I believe you should be an Anne Rice fan to enjoy this movie, or at least a vampire fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are over 21 and do not actually WANT to be a vampire SKIP THIS MOVIE! I am a long-time huge fan of Anne Rice, and that is the only reason I rented this. Just let me tell you that the movie went downhill VERY fast right after they say that Marius sired Lestat. In what alternate universe did THAT happen? Pandora is NOT from India, why does Armand look like Lars from Metallica? Why did they introduce Maharet and leave out the entire Legend of the Twins? Why is Jesse begging to be made a vampire all through the movie? Why didn't I turn it off? Because Aaliyah. This movie is just awful awful awful. I'm not sure what all the other people who rated this so highly were smoking. Aaliyah did her role a great justice, and that is the only redeeming quality. Put the movie down and step back from the shelf please...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aaliyah played her role as Akasha perfectly.I couldn't picture anyone playing the vampire Queen the way she did.She left behind a hell of a movie and a legacy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lets break this down. The story line of the movie may have been similar to that of the book, but the idea and theory were not present in the film. Each character holds a special meaning in every Anne Rice book, and when the movie was made each character lost that meaning, and took on minor rolls. We have Townsend as Lestat, but not the Anne Rice Lestat, but that of the director's. If Anne would have been more like J.K. Rowling in her own making of Harry Potter and had total control of the movie story line, and character planning we would have viewed a much better movie. We don't call her the Queen of Vampire novels for any reason. No one else can boil a story as she does with thangs, and romance. And that is my two cents.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie kicks soooo much butt. I love everything about this movie. #1, ALLIYAH. I think the world sees the star in her, and what she could have done if she hadn't so tragically passed on. #2. STUART TOWNSEND. OH MY GOD! he rocks my world. he makes me want to become a vampire and live with him forever. #3 VAMPIRES. there is something so incredibly sexy about a vampire. I'm not quite sure what, but wow. #4 MUSIC. The music in this movie truely sounds like what a vampire would sing about. Jonathan Davis did an awesome job at writing the songs that Lestat himself sings, and the score to the film. The score gives me chills every time I hear it! #5 ONE OF A KIND. I love every minute of it, and can't wait to watch it again and again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen. It was beautiful and changed minds about the way most people thought about vampires' lives. It took me in and made me feel as if I were actually one of them, one of the Damned. The mixing of the cast was great. Aaliyah and Stuart Townsend had perfect chemistry and yet the temptation of Marguerite Moreau made the movie fit together. I'm not usually one for Horror/Drama movies (or any movies at that) but this one I really got into, I could say, it became a part of me and all I have is words of praise for it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never read any of the Anne Rice books but ever since I saw Queen of the Damned it made me want to. I have to say that of all my fav. movies (which are all vampire movies) I loved this one the most. It was intense and had everything I would ask for in a vampire movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There are certain truth's in a revolving pop-culture world. For example, to destroy the integrity of the work to gather dollars from the masses. And the term ''sold out'' or ''sell out'' can apply to this particular type of blatant irresponsibility. It was once understood that Anne Rice challenged the move to let Tom Cruise play her beloved Lestat; a move that proved to be an exceptional one. What happened this go-around? Stuart Townsend doesn't have the range, versatility, or skill of an accomplished actor like Cruise who redefines ''performance'' and ''believability'' to his characters. Cruise also has the perfectionism to study both the script and the book to set a foundation for the character. Townsend makes a mockery of Lestat from the very beginning and gives the feel of a ''Crow: City of Angels'' feel. Maybe he researched Vincent Perez's character, or he took some pointers from the supporting actor who plays Marius. Either way, the integrity of Lestat is destroyed. Aaliyah is another example of miscasting. While you sit through this movie, one tends to wonder whether Anne Rice has any creative control over her works. As an author, it should be your sworn duty to protect that which you have labored, regardless of the dollar signs flashing from studio executives. I'm sure that cult enthusiasts will label this movie as a high point, due mainly to setting and Gothic tone of the movie in the same way they flocked to ''The Crow'' and ''Blade'' sequels. Bear in mind, however, that the pop attitude to this film has left the story high and dry. It's a long way off from the book and the engrossing, engaging, and exciting (the 3 E's which every storyteller should adhere to) ''Interview with the Vampire.'' In layman's terms: Leonard Nimoy was Mr. Spock, William Shatner was Captain Kirk...get me? Cruise, Pitt, and Slater pulled off a film of a lifetime with the first one, now Justin Timberlake is Mr. Spock and Freddie Prinze Jr. is Captain Kirk. Robert Eldridge is the author of: ''Amber Spirit: Poems & Stories'' (Hats Off Books, 2001) and the dark poetic book, ''Offbeat'' (Writers Club Press, 2002.)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the book - Lestat is my hero. he is by far the most inriguing vampire, but this portrayal of him was pathetic. Interview with the Vampire was excellent (except Antionio Banderas, he ruined Armand) and if your looking for a decent vamp movie, thats it. he wasnt even blond in this one (and, yes, when it comes to Lestat, that matters). i know its cliche, but the book was much, much better.