The Girl in the Café

The Girl in the Café

Director: David Yates Cast: Bill Nighy, Kelly MacDonald, Corin Redgrave

DVD

$19.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl in the Café 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
Although the plot seems implausable, the two lead actors make the film work. 50-something British civil servant Lawrence and much-younger Gina meet in a cafe, seem to have a short, no-phyical-contact relationship, and he invites her to the G8 Summit in Iceland. After hearing about the summit attendees could make a difference in the plight of thousands of dying children, Gina voices her concerns in inopportune times. Sad, shy Lawrence knows Gina is a gem but reluctantly accompanies her to the airport. The sweet romance strikes just the right chord.
movienut2001 More than 1 year ago
This is a quiet love story and a good deal more... witty, charming, engaging and provocative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
There should be more movies like this one. It made me want to buy the movie just to share it with as many people as I could. We all need to educate ourselves, even through a movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this on HBO and was caught by surprise at how a seemingly rather dull film turned into an amazingly interesting and thoughtful look at both relationships and world affairs. I have thought about this movie many times since.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the beginning the male character was so painfully shy that it was almost hard to watch nevertheless, the performances by the actors and the message was riveting. I only wish the real world would right itself as this movie demonstrated. The power of one was the clear point and well taken.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This well-crafted story quickly has you cheering for its two quirky characters. It takes a little bit of "suspension of disbelief" to accept the premise of the story but it is so artfully acted that you flow with the story. By the end, I was hoping for a sequel that would tell me what happened in the intervening years.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first saw part of this movie on cable. The part I did see so intrigued me I wanted to see the remainder. I finally got my chance to see all of it, and thereafter saw it a number of times. It is well worth the viewing for the acting as well as the message it carries. I intend to purchas it. Each time I watch it I see something different about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"The Girl in the Cafe" is a great movie to spur thoughts of what we need to do to make the world better. I'm glad that it uses real-life situations to show the viewers what's important in the world, such as taking care of the impoverished children in Africa. It definitely got me thinking.