Fallen

Fallen

by David Maine

Paperback(First Edition)

$18.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fallen 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
bdickie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story of Cain and Abel told backwards. Begins with Cain as an old man works back to Adam and Eve's first night outside Eden. So smart and readable and funny in parts.
zibilee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was quite possibly the best biblical fiction book I have read in the past few years. Fallen is the story of Cain and Abel, and alternately, Adam and Eve. The book begins with the ending and cleverly winds it's way back to the beginning, with the body of the story told in shifting time-lines. Maine brilliantly manages to keep the story line comprehensive and lucid. I was very struck by the spare, yet visceral language throughout the book, and the motivations of the characters were portrayed extremely well. I raced ahead to finish the book, all the while trying to slow myself down so there was more to savor. Though the story is familiar to most, the nuances and subtleties that were infused throughout the book made this a one of a kind story, one where even though the outcome is predicted, the road getting there is anything but.Most know the infamous story of the two brothers, Cain and Abel, but what is portrayed here is so much more. Maine has managed to take small snippets of those famous verses in the Bible and make them delectably consumable, and downright wonderful. Cain is portrayed as a difficult and tractable young man, bordering on heretical. He is forever feeling slighted and wronged, and his attitude only makes things more difficult for himself. It is hard to find sympathy for Cain; he is virtually unlovable, and remains so for the entirety of the novel. It becomes easy to see him follow his path from anger to murder. Even in his exile, he curses and berates God, making him seem all the more recalcitrant and miserable. His reflections upon himself and his inherent differences from his family are captivating, and make him a full and interesting character.Abel, on the other hand is wonderfully compliant, kind and friendly. Though he tends towards platitudes and bossiness, the goodness in him shines through. Abel, his mother's favored child, strives for peace in the family, and is usually the one to try and persuade Cain to abandon his fits of pique. He is loving and forgiving, and he is truly humble to the Lord. He is constantly trying to find his brother's heart and make him see reason. It is clear to see that Abel is light to Cain's darkness. The insight gained regarding Abel's unselfish love for his brother make Cain's act all the more incomprehensible. Though Abel is more of a simple man, his devotion to his family and his God are very moving.As the story moves forward, the focus is on Adam and Eve and their flight to safety after being banished from the Garden of Eden. It is a sorrowful trek that visits many misfortunes and hardships upon the two. Everything that could possibly go wrong for them does so from the beginning. Adam's staunch belief in the Lord pulls him through the struggles, and makes him accepting of any travail that comes their way. Eve is not always so emotionally compliant. There are scenes in which she doubts the intentions and safeguarding of God, and in these moments, Maine has cleverly elaborated on what can only be speculated upon. The awareness of the characters was also a great touch. These fictional characters see themselves as we would see ourselves today, their hopes, fears and dreams are fully realized within the story, and the effect is that all the characters are living, breathing and thinking entities who can be understood and appreciated.At the close of the book, the story has finally come around to the beginning. God has banished the couple from paradise for their sin, and they are left wondering how and where they will survive. The fear they feel is perceptible, and their reactions to it recognizable. This story has been heard countless times before, yet what is different this time around is the cognizance of the sinners. It is so much clearer to imagine, in this novel, who and what Adam and Eve were like, and what they were thinking. By making them so human, the author has made them so much more plausible and believable. One can imagine feeling the same way today if one
litelady-ajh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
New twist on Adam & Eve's fall from grace. Worth reading.
mbergman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story of Cain & Abel & Adam & Eve (after their banishment from The Garden of Eden) is necessarily even more imaginative than The Preservationist, because there's so much less detail in the biblical account. This one, with its more serious themes of fratricide & banishment & disinheritance (both God's of Adam & Eve & theirs of Cain), lacks much of the humor that was integral to The Preservationist, but it has the same wit & keen insight couched in the same spare, precise prose. Here the story is told backwards, with each chapter (40 of them, a good biblical number) about a time preceding the previous one. Through the characters' memories, Maine skillfully drops hints about earlier events but also introduces surprising developments in nearly every chapter. And his method heightens our sense as readers of how events shape later events.
coolmama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved it. As with all of David Maine's books (to date) this is the story of Cain and Abel (as well as Adam and Eve) told backwards, from Cain's death to the beginning of man. I love his work, and his mind, and his writing! I really enjoyed how when Cain, Abel, Adam or Eve tell "their" story -- it is from their perspective, which adds richly to the novel. Maine has a unique and wonderful way of writing, and of seeing the world.
MusicMom41 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A modern retelling of the story of Adam and Eve¿told in reverse order starting with Chapter 40 which describes Cain¿s last night on earth and ends with Chapter 1 which tells of Adam and Eve¿s first night outside the Garden. There are 4 sections: Book 1, ¿The Murder,¿ tells of Cain¿s life after the murder ending with a short paragraph of ¿The Murder¿ (Chapter 31); Book 2, ¿The Brother,¿ starts with ¿The Murder¿ from Abel¿s aspect and moves backward to tell of the life of Cain and Abel told from Abel¿s point of view and includes God¿s acceptance of Abel¿s sacrifice and rejection of Cain¿s ending with ¿The Proposal¿ that Adam makes to make an offering to God; Book 3, ¿The Family,¿ starts with ¿The Proposal¿ from Adam¿s point of view and tell the story of the family back to the birth of Cain; Book 4, ¿The Fall,¿ describes Adam and Eve¿s adjustment to their new life immediately after the expulsion from the Garden, from Eve¿s point of view. One of the intriguing things to me when I first picked up this book was the arrangement of the chapters and the chapter titles which seem to recur and revolve, rather like the poetic form of a Villanelle. This is one of the best books I¿ve ever read based on a Bible story. So much of it rings exactly true (especially why God rejected Cain¿s sacrifice¿best explanation I¿ve ever seen). It would make a great discussion book for anyone interested in Adam and Eve¿or even just a discussion about families.
jennyo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not too impressed with this one, though it was quick enough that I finished it in one day. It's one of those books whose premise sounds interesting, but ends up lacking a little something in the execution. As you might have guessed from the title, it's the story of the Biblical first family. The twist is that it's told back to front; it starts with Cain as an old man and goes back through time to the moment that Adam and Eve are expelled from the Garden. The story just felt flat to me; it didn't add much to or change my perspective on the story that I already knew.Maybe my hopes were just too high for this one, but it was a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maximillian More than 1 year ago
Most current fiction is thriller, terrorist topic oriented. This story is very different. Even if you are not a biblical scholar, you can appreciate the story as just that-a good story. If you are convinced of the veracity of the Bible story, it gives you some unique points of view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fallen is David Maine's spare but stylish retelling of the stories of Cain & Abel and Adam & Eve. Proceeding in reverse chronological order from the end of Cain's life to the exile of his parents from the Garden of Eden, this is an intriguing, moving and sometimes hilarious profile of the first dysfunctional family. We can recognize the characters as people we know, people like ourselves and our families. The novelist has immense sympathy for the quirks and failings of his very human characters as well as a keen appreciation of the humor ¿and the poignancy ¿ of the human condition. This Midrashic 'take' on Genesis is highly original and highly entertaining, as well as theologically sound. Having read it through once, I was unable to resist reading it through again ¿ immediately, just in case I missed some early bits of the satire (wonderful one-liners!) or some of the persuasive psychological insight. Even during the second reading, I found myself laughing aloud at times. Fallen is quite a remarkable performance. I look forward to reading Maine's next. book -- soon.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Maine's book is very thought provoking and gives reader a history with an original flavor! Its lucid and intriguing - full of human, everyday life emotions, that are out of bounds for us to discuss as these 'people' are sacred....but we forget that they were human too. Excellent work! Two thumbs up!