Flawless (A Love, California Series Novel, Book 1)

Flawless (A Love, California Series Novel, Book 1)

by Jan Moran

Paperback

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flawless (a Hostile Beauty Novel) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
TheAvidReader_KA More than 1 year ago
Flawless by Jan Moran is the first book in A Hostile Beauty series. Verena Valent runs her families company Valent Swiss Skincare which was founded by her grandmother in 1948. She has been running the company since her parent's died in a car accident when she was eighteen. Verena plans on expanding the company into Asia and has invested heavily into the venture when she loses her line of credit. Her banker, Marvin Panetta is dead and so is the financing. Verena tries to find other financing, but, with the help of her fiancé Derrick Logan, Verena goes to Herringbone (capital venture firm). This moves turns out to be the worst decision Verena has ever made (except for getting engaged to Derrick). Along the way Verena has to deal with her grandmother, Mia (who is not in the best of health), her twin sisters, Anika and Bella (just thirteen), and Lance Martel. Lance captured her interest at an awards dinner. He made her dinner and then they continued to run into each other. The attraction was instantaneous but Verena kept resisting. Verena felt she made a commitment to Derrick and should stick with it (despite the horrible thing he does to her). Thankfully, Verena has some wonderful friends (Scarlett, Dahlia, and Fianna) as well as her family. Flawless captured my attention right away and I could not put this book down. Romance, mystery, and some intrigue along with good writing. I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. There are two more books in A Hostile Beauty series: Beauty Mark and Runway. Beauty Mark is currently available and Runway will be out March 28, 2015. A lot happens in Flawless. I tried to give you a brief summary without giving away any spoilers! I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like everything else she has done, Jan Moran's latest book, Flawless, is exactly that. Her attention to detail: from the way something looks to how it feels, make you think that the book is haute couture for the mind. Verena Verdent lives with her grandmere Mia and her twin sisters. Ever since her parents died, she has become the third generation of Verdents to head the family beauty company Verdent Swiss Spas, a high end, luxury brand. The economy is reigning in, and her plans to expand into the Asian market are tanking due to unforseen curcumstances. Add a venture capitalist with no scurples, a conniving boyfriend, and a five star chef, and this is a five star book and the beginning of a new series I can hardly wait to read more of
bucmjt More than 1 year ago
Flawless by Jan Moran is a terrific love story with a well deserved HEA.  This book takes so many twists and turns it was easy to get caught up in the ride.  I enjoyed the characters very much.  Karma did indeed turn out to be a cranky companion.  A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Flawless takes the reader on a journey from Beverly Hills to Paris and inside the boardrooms of the cutthroat world of business financing. Verena Valent is the daughter and granddaughter of a thriving skin care company when the great Recession hit. Deprived of her usual bank loans at the moment she is launching an expansion to Asia, she is lured by her dastardly evil fiance into obtaining a loan from a firm better known as vulture capitalists. The worse thing happens and Verena is left reeling. However, out of the embers of despair and defeat, hope springs when Verena's family pull together and Lance, the sexy, handsome chef, whisks Verena away for a romantic intermezzo. Descriptions of fashion, places, scenery, beauty products, perfume, food, and wine are excellent, and the author does a wonderful job of setting the stage for the reader to imagine being in such ritzy places. I enjoyed reading Flawless and look forward to Scarlett's upcoming story where I'm sure there will be danger, intrigue and legal shenanigans along with a sexy man who appears at the right place and time to woo the heroine while her world falls apart.
Lily07 17 days ago
Strong Familial Ties. Extreme Loyalty Between Family Member. Overview: Very insightful and provocative reading. 1. Flawless Corporate sabotage, deceptive and manipulative behaviour. The romance between the main male character and the main female character seemed very laid back. The main female character seemed to make almost silly decisions regarding her love life; in sharp contrast to how she was as a business woman, friend or family issue. Good story that was easy to believe ad felt very real. Strong familial ties and extremely loyalty between family members. Lovely to read about a strong, supportive, connected and loving family unit. I voluntarily received an advance review copy of this novel via Booksprout and I am leaving an honest and unbiased review. I have no affiliation to this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. Yes you may have known what was going to happen from the start, but it eas great seeing how it would go from start to finish. Read this and u will not be sorry. Not a waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy story line but very predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing much exciting unless you are into drinking wine at any given hour. I found the steps to the hostile takeover interesting, but did not understand why her grandmother's friends hadn't stepped in short term. I hated the violations that no one did anything about. Finally, what happened to breach of contract for the bank that pulled out, last minute?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters,would love to have a backstop you on Mia and her life/business. Some typos,a couple of run on sentences but overall good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read from start to finish
Mountain_Muse More than 1 year ago
Full of surprises. A fast paced read about life behind the scenes of the beauty industry of the rich and pampered.   Flawless is the first novel of Jan Moran's Hostile Beauty Series.  It is set in the land of the fabulously rich and famous, where beauty is an industry unto itself.  In fact, Flawless is centered on one aspect of the beauty industry.  It is a peek behind those closely guarded and shuttered windows into the home of one of Beverly Hills most prominent families, the Valents.  They are the owners of the great Swiss based spas and skincare products that cater to the elite of America and Europe.    Surprisingly, this grand family owned corporation has a very young Varena Valent at the helm, who has been there since she was eighteen years old when her parents were killed in a car wreck the summer after she graduated from high school.   Our young corporate executive is also responsible for the care of her young twin sisters and frail elderly grandmother. But even with that, Verena feels she has the perfect world.  All is well and her business is set to take off, as they plan a major expansion into new territories. The story line for the book is all set and what could happen?  All is well coordinated and everything goes as plan. – until, everything starts falling apart.  But isn’t that how real life happens?  Nothing happens in “ones” in the world.  It always comes in “threes” and “sixes”.  Who can keep a level head and stay focused on everything they need to tend to when the world is fracturing and disintegrating around them?  Is it all sun and roses for the rich and famous?  Or are they like every other Joe out there and when they fall, they hit bottom?  Sometimes, we are surprised.  Jan surprised me with her storyline and the ending totally took me by surprise on several levels.  Flawless is not a light summer at the beach read.  It smacks of authenticity, and of what the back boardrooms of industrial maneuvering is like.  With living breathing characters residing within the covers of this book, you feel the tension and the heat of what working at the high levels of a competitive industry can be like.  I love the way Ms. Moran developed each of her characters.  She allowed them to grow with the story and to be a natural part of the scenery and then as their part became important, their character’s persona came forward like they belonged there and you already knew who they were and understood why they were there.  Wonderful job! The villains were believable.  I have met people with personalities like this in industry.  Jan portrayed them wonderfully.  She gave you the power to not dislike them, but to despise them as they moved through the story line.  The wolves in sheep’s clothing never seem to be able to keep the lamb skin on straight. True to form, the villains in Flawless could not manage to hide behind their good guy exteriors, and the sliminess finally exerted itself for the world to see.  .  My favorite scene came towards the front of the book when Verena met the Executive Chef at the Beverly Hills Hotel.  He realized she had not had dinner after making a speech at a banquet and lured her into the big hotel kitchen where he prepared her a personal dinner for one. I loved him from that first dinner in the kitchen at the hotel. My heart was lost.   I would give the book a 5.0 rating.  Jan Moran did a first rate job of introducing a wonderful new series about life in the beauty industry.   Get to know Jan Moran a little better when she joins us here on November 28th for an interview about her newest novel that will be debuted in March 2014, Scent of Triumph.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago