Freckles

Freckles

by Gene Stratton-Porter

Paperback(Reprint)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Freckles 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Freckles was given to me at least 55 years ago by my grandmother, or aunt, I can't remember now. However, I just picked it up in the past few weeks and decided to read it, from my own library. What a wonderful time I had, discovering what I wish I had known 55 years ago!!! It is the most marvelous book I've read. I laughed and cried and celebrated with the characters in the book and realized how much can be learned by reading a seemingly small novel. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The descriptions of the swamp and life around the swamp (plants, birds, animals) was really enjoyable to read. I also really admired Angel and the way she treated Freckles. A touching story that is a definite must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book while looking for something to teach high school freshmen. The social issues and the warm characters make this novel appropriate for teens and up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was first introduced to this author through Girl of the Limberlost. Many references were made to Freckles and I didn't know of him or his history. That was a fantastic book, so I ordered this and fell equally in love. The story has enough drama and emotion and humor to keep me thoroughly enchanted and the author transports me to another time and place through her language.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, my 96 year old grandfather said that this was his all time favorite book. It embodied a lot of what he taught me about growing up, morals and how to treat a job and a woman. Definatly a interesting read of an era that was long before my time. No space aliens, body invaders or vampires, no blood lust or carnage. A feel good book, that tries to set moral examples, and leaves you knowing the boy who lives right, will end up with the right girl. Written so your average 8th grader may be bored but will certianly get the message. i will keep it in my library and am looking for an original copy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Freckles' is a very touching story. It was interesting and thought provoking. The descriptions and explanations were beautifully done. The style of writing was reminicent of past times. A delightful read for everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wholesome story that takes you back to a different time where integrity and hard, honest work are valued. A great book by a wonderful author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does he learn about his mom & dad?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unlike some of you i wasn't introduced to this book by my grandfather or aunt, i read it for a book club and fell in love! I love all the detail and how its clean and very enjoyable, unlike most books nowadays. My favorate part would have to be that in all this book and the next book they never say the angles name.
klanzures on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was really good, but I have to admit I got a little bit tired of Freckles by the end. Still....
Doey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Smarmy, but sort of sweet. Wouldn't read it unless one was without a book completely.
countrylife on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To see one little corner of the country undisturbed, look in the pages of Freckles. Gene Stratton-Porter has so vividly captured the Limberlost swamp area of Indiana, that you feel as though you've been there. Into that location, she sets Freckles, a 19 year old orphan, with one hand, but strong heart and initiative, who would do anything for the boss-man who shows him kindness and gives him a job. Freckles' adventures made for some happy reading, starting with his fear of the creatures on the land he must guard against timber thieves, his ¿chickens¿, yearning for knowledge, and friendship with the Bird-Lady and the Swamp-Angel. A nice old-fashioned story. I enjoyed it.
cmbohn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Themes: belonging, nature, overcoming challenges, love, familySetting: the Limberlost swamp in Indiana, 19th centuryI loved this quiet little classic. Freckles was raised in an orphanage. He has only one hand, no friends, no family, and no prospects for a job. He doesn't even have a name, just Freckles. But he arrives at Mclean's lumber camp and is willing to do anything at all, if he is given a chance. Mclean feels sorry for the boy and decides to take him on, giving him the name of his own father, and makes him the guard of the camp. His job is to walk along the trail through the swamp, seven miles or so, and make sure that the lumber is safe from thieves.Freckles may not look like much, but once his is shown some kindness, he repays it with his complete loyalty and hard work. He learns to love the swamp and the creatures that live there. He gets to know all the birds and plants and trees there and makes friends with them. He falls in love and faces a gang of thieves. And it all has a happy ending.It sounds like it would be unbearably sweet and sappy, but it's not. I really enjoyed this book. I'm counting it for my 50 states challenge. I had no idea there was a swamp in Indiana, and now I'll have to read more about it. 4 stars.
MerryMary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An old story - old even when I first read it decades ago - about a crippled red-headed boy who finds where he belongs in the world, as he makes friends in a lumber camp, and learns to love the creatures of the swamp - the Limberlost.
ascexis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh, Victorian morality stories about the nobility of suffering, and the redemptive power of hard work, how I love you. Gene Stratton Porter (and not Jean as they have above, good grief) wrote a lot of books in this vein -- the healing power of the natural world and the nobility of suffering, and the purity and rewards from mixing the two. Rewards such as marriage, of course, or a good death, or other similarly unmodern offerings, but she's *is* product of a particular time and set of attitudes that tried to make bearable a difficult world. She fits in with authors like Susan Coolidge, L.M. Montgomery, L. M. Alcott, who I also like, who don't quite manage the complete Dr. Pangloss depiction of the world, and reality and their own humanity creeps in to gentle what might otherwise be a harsh Christian sententiousness. Violet Needham does something similar, but less overtly Christian, and I suspect that is a function of the differences between UK and US attitudes to public avowals of religion. Which isn't really a review of the book, which is a rather enjoyable amble through the tribulations of one-handed, red-headed orphan, Freckles, whose courage and intrinsic goodness make him beloved by all. Which sounds awful, and somehow, it's not.
arelenriel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first of Stratton-Porters Limberlost book. This is a prequel to both Girl of the Limberlost and Song of the Cardinal (this one has not been re-printed you can find it at the Gutenberg Project). These books are excellent both as stories and in their descriptins of the wetlands biome. Freckles is also an inspiring tale of a young man who does not believe that his lack of an arm disables him in any way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recommended by a friend. Was an interesting read and something very different from my normal go-tos
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book when I was in the 7th grade. I'm now 58. I came across it by accident in the school library. I fell in love with the book and never forgot it. I was delighted to find it again, available to read on my nook, and enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time. The story is charming, and moving, and the hero, Freckles, will win you over and touch your heart. The author really takes you to the beautiful and awesome Limberlost, where most of the story takes place. The other characters are very fine, except for the villains who are well-drawn, thus appropriately frightening. I recommend Freckles to readers young and old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 371 page free book was published in 1904. I enjoyed this book very much. It did seem very dated. It is a very sweet, clean book, without any adult themes. Not even a single curse word. There is some rather minor violence, a rattlesnake bite and a logging accident. This book did have some pathos and at times was emotional. The formatting of this book did not transfer correctly into e- book form. This really messed up the spelling, punctutation and everything else which could be messed up. Which is a shame. The book was still readable and enjoyable. At the time this book was published, books were properly edited. I found it astounding that the author of this book has written and had published over 500 books and stories. Type writters were new inventions and very expensive. There is a good chance, all his work was hand written, checked, rechecked and written over and over again.much more labor intensive with pen and paper, then today's computers. This book could be read by thirteen year olds. It is a work of fiction, with a dab of mystery, an iota of romance and lots of morality ( not preaching or religion) and the value of love and friendship. There is a sequal, "GIRL OF YHE LIMBERLOST" and possibly a third, The title was simulair, but there was no overview provided. If you love classic movies, you will enjoy this book. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was given this book as a tween and fell in love with the Limberlost Swamp. To this day, some 40 years later it still captures my every breath from beginning until the last word. A perfect book for a young "bookworm".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the story, the characters and the writing style. BUT, whoever transcribed this into an ebook should be shot, then fired asap! Worst job ever. Made the whole book extremely hard to read. There is no way I would have read this if I hadn't loved the story so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good book, but too many typos. Was very hard for me to read. But it was interesting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are no typos what-so-ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to read because of typos