Furiously Happy: A Funny Book about Horrible Things

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book about Horrible Things

by Jenny Lawson

Paperback

$14.39 $17.99 Save 20% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $17.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed through this whole book and nearly hurt myself doing so. As someone who also has panic attacks and anxiety disorders, it is great to see the dark humor and to know that I am not alone. Thank you to Jenny Lawson for her insights.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to the audio and enjoyed it immensely! You come to appreciate the quirks of the individual and can't believe some of the antics she gets into. She does touch on the dark side of mental illness, but blends it in well and writes with understanding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I looked forward to this book for months prior to its release, I had high hopes for it. Her previous novel was probably the funniest I have ever read and I became an avid reader of her blog as well. This book just didn't feel as genuine as the previous one did, I skimmed through several chapters because they felt forced. Jenny Lawson is amazingly talented, I will continue to read her blog and will read her next effot if she releases another but this one was a let down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Laughter through tears throughout the book. I highlighted and bookmarked more pages than any other book I have on my Nook. Take your time in reading it. Share it with someone who needs to know they are not alone.
Servo2 More than 1 year ago
@Anonymous, I'm a little biased since I've been following her blog for years, but yes, it's good. Like the description says, it's a little odd to write a book about depression and anxiety, but the book is about overcoming through humor--and maybe doing some nutty things once in awhile. I love her writing style, and her sense of humor is wonderfully deadpan. I dare you to get through the first ten pages without laughing. If you're looking for a clinical description of how to manage mental illness, this isn't it. A funny, down-to-earth book about having illness and living well anyway? Go for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny is hilarious. She makes me feel like im normal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book just older for olde eyes. There is a lot of cursing. You must also keep in mind that this is about a husband and a wife. I would say 13+. This was a funny book, and it taugh me to enjoy th little things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny takes the LOLs to a whole new level of absurdity.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I've struggled with severe clinical depression for over half my life. This book helped me form a new outlook on my illness and, in turn, has genuinely improved my quality of life. I still get horrible bouts of depression, but I have learned to appreciate the good times so much more. As a result, my downward spirals are a little more manageable. This book had me laughing until my sides hurt and that in itself is a victory. Jenny Lawson, if you see this by chance, your book means the world to me and I thank you for writing this from the bottom of my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+book+is+hilarious+and+talks+about+mental+illness+so+candidly...+it%27s+so+nice+to+know+I%27m+not+alone+with+all+these+spooky+thoughts.+Me+and+my+taxidermy+animals+salute+you%21%21+Thanks+for+writing+this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good+read%2C+but+it+kinda+drugged+on+and+on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so Furiously Happy that i listened to the audio book as well as followed along on my ereader. I had the best of both worlds. 1. I was able to hear the author in her own voice reading the book, so much more fun to enjoy. 2. Was able to see the pictures that were posted i would have truly missed that.
katelynsbolds More than 1 year ago
Incredible, hilarious, irreverent, messed up-what a book... It's hard to put down my feelings about this book. Except, for anyone who lives with anxiety and depression, OR around people with those conditions, this book lets you laugh about things you never thought possible, which is incredibly healing. Jenny Lawson has a witty and winning way about speaking about dark and awful things--like crippling anxiety and suicidal thoughts. If you’d like perspective on what it’s like to live with anxiety and depression OR you just need to feel a little crazy (or sane by comparison), give this book a read. You won’t be able to put it down. It is of note that there is a LOT of bad language in this book. If that bothers you, move along. This isn't the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most exhausting books I’ve ever read. Jenny Lawson is, by no means, not NOT hilarious, and I found myself laughing out loud during quite a bit of the book (mainly toward the beginning). It’s just so ridiculous. A lot of times I felt like I was reading a modern version of Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man in that the stream of consciousness never ends and every sentence takes a bit of unpacking. But as much as I enjoyed her humor and liked seeing how scattered and random a fellow human’s thoughts can be (because mine can be nuts), her writings was exhausting to read. Reading this book was like being around someone who is ON and cracking jokes allllll the time. There was no reprieve and most of her anecdotes and thoughts are just SO out there. Almost to the point where it’s hard to believe that they’re not fabricated. I KNOW they’re not and I appreciate how honest she is about her brain, but it wasn’t as enjoyable to read as I thought. But it was still a riot at times and I’m glad I read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for making me feel more normal in not being normal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My abs hurt so bad from laughing and I cried a few times to things I related to on a souls level. Just so ridiculous and funny through her mental illness. Do not read this in public unless you really want to look like a look guffawing into your lunch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The wit and honesty in this book had me laughing out loud. On a crowded airplane. My husband started reading over my shoulder - probably more so I would stop reading him bits and pieces out loud.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Life is crazy, hers is crazier, funnier, and more honest than most. A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made my life feel so much like I can deal with whatever comes. I feel like let's do this!!! (And it needs three exclamation marks!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely the best read in a long time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!! This was my first time reading anything by Jenny Lawson and I am now a fan and want to read everything she has written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny has a way of making one who deals with mental illness feel almost too normal. This book was incredibly comforting and exceedingly entertaining at the same time. I'm very much looking forward to reading more of her work and I will definitely be checking out her blog!
Bookerella More than 1 year ago
Cracked me up! Loved this book and will definitely get her other books after reading this.