The Glory of Their Times: The Story of the Early Days of Baseball Told by the Men Who Played It

The Glory of Their Times: The Story of the Early Days of Baseball Told by the Men Who Played It

by Lawrence S Ritter

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Glory of Their Times: The Story of the Early Days of Baseball Told by the Men Who Played It 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
kkirkhoff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The author interviews players that were around when baseball was just beginning to become a professional sport. There weren't that many still alive, so the ones he interviews were lesser known players. They still share some fascinating stories.This is definitely a book for those who enjoy the deeply personal part of the early days of baseball. Not a lot of gossip or strategy. Just some stories of what men did to play the game they love, and what life was like on a ball team.
ksmyth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lawrence Ritter made a career compiling oral histories from some of the 20th century's early baseball stars. The Glory of Their Times has interviews with Hall of Famers Sam Crawford, Goose Goslin, Stan Coveleski and a host of others. Honest, fascinating, a real insight into how the game was played. If you love the baseball as a historical and social phenomenon, read this book.
ibbetson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Right around when pitchers and catchers report, I dust off my well-worn, oft-borrowed copy of Glory of Their Times. I've probably read it a dozen times all the way through and each time I'm charmed all over again. The beauty and genius of Glory is in the fact that Ritter had the sense not to interfere with the players' stories. You get a feel for their voices and personalities, and how their experiences helped shape them as individuals. In its own way, the book is a vivid and important portrait of American life at the beginning of the twentieth century. And it's a dang good baseball book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Operabuff More than 1 year ago
Our grandson thought it was a great book! He learned a lot about the "old" days in baseball.
ChrisKW More than 1 year ago
If you love baseball, this book is a unique history told from the perspective of great platers...in their own words. Fascinating reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it, my kids loved it, my grandkids loved it. A must read for any baseball fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hh8216 More than 1 year ago
Great book for the true baseball fan. Funny stories and information probably known to very few fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a book that every younger baseball fan should read and learn from. It's stories take the reader back to the time when baseball captured America's heart and before it became just another business populated by vagabond millionaires. The lessons taught about loyalty among fans and players are well worth learning.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a must read for anyone who loves baseball,history or just the good story. These are tales of the early days of baseball told by some of the greatest to ever play the game. Its one of those that you re-read every year during the long drought of the off-season just to feel the excitement of baseball. Ritter was able to track down and interview some of the best, and hardest to find, who were involved in the game. It is a flashback to the earlier days and a reminder to everyone who reads it that baseball was always full of the amazing plays, the horrific misplays, and the constant controversy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago