Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work

Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work

by Tim Gunn

Paperback

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, August 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gunn's Golden Rules 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 160 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tim Gunn outlines basic and fundamental rules for 'making it work'. Life is so much easier if you are just nice and honest. Seems simple but we all know there are a lot of folks who need a refresher course. In addition to his advice Tim Gunn shares a lot of fascinating details of the fashion industry and Project Runway. And a surprising amount about himself - which will make you tear up and laugh all at the same time.
Gillian29 More than 1 year ago
This is a well written, candid book, with a very personal approach. One often feels that you are there speaking face to face in an intimate setting with Tim Gunn. Some painful areas of his life are revealed and he is to be admired for his honesty. Of course, because of the world he works in there are some other cheeky and funny revelations too. I think even more highly of Tim Gunn after reading this and wish I was lucky enough to have him as a personal friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really really loved this book! It really helped me learn more about who Tim Gunn is and how he got to where he is today, with many helpful lessons for life, which I totally agree with. If you enjoy him from Project Runway, then I HIGHLY recommend it! If you don't know anything about it, then you might not enjoy it so much, but I recommend watching a few of the more recent seasons of PR :) THEN read it!
BikerDiva More than 1 year ago
Hey, what can I say...I'm a lady Harley rider. A little rough around the edges. I downloaded this book onto my NOOK and it has literally changed me. I can be a lady rider with class right? Thanks Tim for giving me a new outlook on the world around me, how to be more considerate and caring to those in my life and to those I don't even know. Now I'm going to be a sweet "BikerDiva"! My new outlook in everything I do now is "make it work". Thanks for a great book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If more people lived by these golden rules the world would be a ncer place to live in. Easy read and entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me respect Tim Gunn even more than I did before. He has so much class, and is so thankful for what he has.
Peppergirl More than 1 year ago
He's slightly snarky, full of humor, but gentle and genteel at the same time. Some parts were touching and some parts made me laugh till I cried. Definite page turner. You won't be disappointed.
LadyMia More than 1 year ago
Nice read. It was my in-between book that was easy to pick up at any point and carry on.
mln63 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book as a tell all reading on my cruise book. As the book goes on it is so much more. Yes there is some good gossip, but his chapters about being gay and dealing with his father was amazing! I have so much more respect for this man. Great read!
ei214 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Tim Gunn really nailed it! It was like hearing my own voice and the things I complain the most about people. There is such a lack of basic good manners, tolerance, kindness and "taking the high road" in our everyday society. What have we been teaching our children? Thank you, Tim Gunn, for saying outloud and pointing out (humorously I might add) bad behavior, the feelings or entitlement by so many people. Made me think twice about my own self and maybe cleaning up my act a little.
391 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought it was impossible for me to love Tim Gunn anymore - he is my favorite person on TV, because the warmth and dedication he brings to Project Runway is par to none - but this book is fantastic! It's part etiquette guide, part thoughts of what it means to be, well, just be, and part autobiography. All told in his characteristic clear, direct way - and I believe he is one of the few who can be so entirely unambiguous about their opinions but still remain charming! This book is really a great read, I could barely put it down and enjoyed every second of my time within its pages.
amurphy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Part etiquette, part memoir, and part gossip, this book has much to recommend itself to various audiences. Fans of Project Runway will appreciate the behind scenes Gunn includes about various designers throughout the different seasons of the show. His descriptions of various fashion designers' behaviors may not surprise anyone who intently follows the fashion scene. I found the stories from Gunn's teaching days to be particularly amusing, especially when it involves his students. My husband is a studio art professor, and Gunn's stories echo what I hear from my husband. Its an easy read with a light tone. All in all, I would recommend this book to most people, but especially to anyone who is entering college for art or design.
Citizenjoyce on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tim Gun's motto is "You can be too rich and too thin, but you can never be too well read or too curious about the world." Another motto could be that there are many worse things than a room temperature nut {a reference to a comment made by Martha Stewart). What a delightful man. He indicates he can be prickly at times, but he believes in honesty, education, hard work, setting boundaries, and living a life that brings you and others happiness. Then he gives hints on how we can do the same. It was a pleasure spending a couple of days with this enjoyable book. It was also a kick to find that I was right, The Countess from "The Real Housewives of New York" is tacky.
RidgewayGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you know who Tim Gunn is, then telling you that this book is like sitting down to a cup of coffee with Mr Gunn and listening to him talk will give you a very clear idea of what this book is about. In chapters loosely organized around various "rules", Gunn tells us about his life, dishes a bit about the excesses of the rich and famous (especially those who work for Conde Nast) and shares his approach to life, which can be summed up by take the high road, good manners never hurt anyone and, of course, make it work.Gunn comes across as a man comfortable in his own skin, but having had to struggle to reach that. He reveals details about his own life that could fuel a pretty good misery memoir, but he's good-hearted and optimistic and doesn't dwell on any of it, but moves directly on to fun stories about the fashion industry or a bit of gently delivered advice. This was altogether an enjoyable and happy read.
lauriehere on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's about time a prominent figure in today's society comes out and tells the world "It's NOT about "ME"! He gives GREAT advice to follow in life, right down to talking about his own most embarrassing moments, and tunring them around to 'make them work'.
Bodagirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved it! Tim Gunn's unique voice really comes through in this advice/tell-all book. He expounds on his philosophies of good behavior, ambition, teaching, and even parenting. The book is deeply personal as Gunn's family dynamics (including his father's relationship with J. Edgar Hoover) and professional life play a major role throughout.A must read for any Tim Gunn fan going through withdrawal when Project Runway is not airing.
ChicGeekGirl21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really like Tim Gunn. On Project Runway, he comes across as kind, warm, and sage--all characteristics of a good mentor. However, Gunn's Golden Rules which is a sort of memoir/advice/etiquette book, does not reveal Gunn's good side. First of all, the writing lacks elegance or wit. Gunn (or, perhaps, his "co-writer", Ada Calhoun) writes in short, blunt statements. He tells, rather than shows. He injects exclamation points in a way that comes off as cutesy. And he flits from anecdote to anecdote with only a slight thread holding the overall narrative or message together. The amateur writing makes it difficult to enjoy the book.But worse than that is the relentless gossip and martyrdom. Gunn name-drops and tells unflattering (if funny) stores about not only big wigs, such as Anna Wintour and Diane von Furstenberg (who, one could argue, deserve to have their vanities revealed), but also smaller people, such as Emilio Sosa and Kenley Collins from Project Runway. This is where Tim lost me. I thought it was low of him to gossip about the very people he mentored not very long ago. The gossip is made all the worse since Tim spends half the time declaring etiquette and simple politeness a lost art. If he values integrity and "taking the high road" so much, why does he stoop to the level of supposedly petty or vain people? I can understand that Tim wants to give his point of view, but it only makes him come off as 1) a hypocrite and 2) a powerless martyr. Although Tim holds all the cards in this book--after all, it is HIS book--his gossiping and complaining about how Emilio and Jay Nicolas Sario "didn't like me" make him come off as oddly submissive. It was surprising and disheartening.Throughout the book, Tim shares wisdom and good advice--but nothing relevatory. Some of his stories (Anna Wintour being carried downstairs by bodyguards rather than take an elevator) are hilarious, but many others are ho-hum. Overall, Gunn's Golden Rules is pleasantly entertaining, but also a little depressing and disappointing.
parkinglady01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I learned a lot about fashion and I have a new respect for Tim, who is an overall smart guy. I loved his rule book ¿ the rules were little lessons about life. These rules are not like the repetitious stuff in most self-help books ¿ these were a breath of fresh air.
Poemyhero on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because I had watched Project Runway here and there...well, haven't seen probably the last five seasons minus a couple episodes I saw. Needless to say, Tim was one of my favorite people. He always combined two things I love in a person honesty and kindness. This book was, as the title suggests, about "making it work." Making it work means, work with what you have and make it great! He shows in his book that this can be applied to all topics: money, relationships, time, environment and more. The name dropping and fashion references passed me by, as I personally have never had an interest in the wearing "what's in" part of fashion. What I liked about the show and Tim is that it focused more on creativity. Though the book is not amazing and at times sporadic, but isn't that our thinking. Our thinking is never really flowing. So, all in all, I really enjoyed it. Tim has A LOT of stories to share. I did laugh out loud to a few of them. Some we did not agree on, but more importantly he was very good at laying out his perspective. I enjoyed it!
philae_02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gunn¿s book, ¿Gunn¿s Golden Rules: Life¿s Little Lessons for Making It Work,¿ is a light-hearted, motivating, and inspiring work that all readers can really appreciate. His eighteen lessons illustrate to his fans and readers that one can learn how to live a well-balanced and respected life. With humorous personal anecdotes (of family, fashion, etc.), his readers can ¿meet¿ the real Tim who the public has grown to love and respect through his involvement on ¿Project Runway,¿ and take his lessons and apply them to their own lives.I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the show, of Tim, or just seeking some good-humored advice about life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wish I could have my money back on this Nook purchase. Tim Gunn obviously has issues...huge issues, which I guess he's trying to work thru. So content: He talks about 'take the high road' and then proceeds to bash people right and left...and sometimes he strikes down...like at a clerk or an assistant. That's not the high road. For the catty part: Isaac M has an ego. Well do tell...and that surprises whom? The editor of Vogue is a bit of a diva...again, this is a surprise? Martha Stewart is an odd, rich duck....who sometimes disappears when it's time to do donations. Again, telling us this is the high road? Bashing your mother/family because of their odd quirks...highroad? Implying your father was a closeted gay man who may or may not have had some sort of relationship with J Edgar Hoover...highroad? Then there's also the nasty little asides about the designers from Project Runway...as well as the scathing remarks about Parsons. So bottom line: do not buy this book. It's poorly written and does not illuminate the audience...at least not in a good way. If you like Tim Gunn you like Project Runway...reading this book will not make you like him more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WyndDancer More than 1 year ago
I love Tim Gunn and this book is no exception. He uses examples from his own life to illustrate his points, and he is not afraid to admit that he has, upon occasion, behaved badly. No great revelations here, it's really all basic courtesy, but fun to read.
RFB99 More than 1 year ago
As others have said, Tim just has so much class! His whole outlook about being nice to people but yet standing up for what you feel is right is my entire philosophy. I, too, wish I could have Tim as my friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago