Heaven (Casteel Series #1)

Heaven (Casteel Series #1)

by V. C. Andrews

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Heaven (Casteel Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
mica1015 More than 1 year ago
This book is my favorite book of all times. I love the story. The Casteel series is by far Andrews best work. I recommend all 5 of them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this book when I was a teenager. I never forgot this book. It was so good. I recommend this book to all young girls. I'm 39 years old now. I named my only daughter Heaven. I pray that she has the same strength and courage to make it thru whatever struggles she's face with in her life, just like Heaven in the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Heaven as a teenager and I haven't been able to let it go. I have reread it and the rest of the series at least a dozen times, the main character, Heaven, is amazing. I love this series and I have been hooked on V.C. Andrews since reading Heaven so many years ago.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first book in the Casteel series is Heaven. Web of Dreams is the final book, but it is considered a prequel to the first four books because it talks about Leigh, who is Heaven's mother, who dies while giving birth. So the order is, 1. Heaven 2. Dark Angel 3. Fallen Hearts 4. Gates of Paradise 5.Web of Dreams. Just thought I'd make the correction. Anyways Heaven is an extraordinary book of courage and wisdom of a girl who was born into hard times and learned how to deal with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Casteel series are the best books I have ever read and I am a very avid reader. I had discovered this book in an old ladys closet. It was buried with a bunch of other books and i have to say that it was the greatest discovery i have ever made. After reading Heaven I rushed to my local library in search of the next book in the series. I recommend these books to anyone looking for a great read - old or young - i didnt find heaven until i was in my early twenties. Ive been obsessed with V C Andrews books since. The ones written earlier are the best since a ghostwriter took over for the newer books. I am just now reading the Dollanganger series - the third in the series is the one im on now- and it is quite good as well.
Poppy_Honcho More than 1 year ago
I've read this book twice so far, I need to read the whole series! I love the way it is written and the depth of the characters. It is just great. I'm so glad I plucked this from my mother's bookshelf.
Staar2010 More than 1 year ago
I don't know what it is about V.C. Andrews, but her books are impossible to put down. The way she makes the undercurrent of real life come forth and make you think and feel as her characters do is awesome. If you like true life, and deep dark secrets reveieled then these are the books you want to read!
jennifer lally More than 1 year ago
This is the first story from v.c andrews that i have ever read. I would say that i was eleven....so sixteen years ago. I admit that the content can be shocking and scadelous, but the actual writing is truely phenomenal!! There are overall dark themes in these stories, ut i promise you will become enthralled with any of andrews books. Jennifer
LookingCalifornia More than 1 year ago
Heaven is the kind of book that makes you think about all of the abused and neglected children in the world and realize why there are so many screwed up adults. Heaven Casteel's character is an example of how personal strength and the desire to succeed can defy a horrible childhood. I can identify with Heaven in that respect. Although this a great book, I personally prefer the books that followed. Dark Angel is just incredible and Fallen Hearts as well. This doesn't have anything to do with my review, but I always thought that the girl on the cover resembled Shannen Dougherty and so that is who I always pictured in my head as Heaven.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good story from start to finish loved the book so much named my daughter after heaven
Brittany Gillaspy More than 1 year ago
By far the best vc andrews book. All the Casteel books are worth reading . I have been reading vc andrews for the last five years and I have reread HEAVEN more than any other book thats came out. It makes you feel whats undescribabrle. Brittany
CaityLady More than 1 year ago
This was the first V.C. Andrews book I ever read, which may be why it sticks out in my mind as being most memorable. I really enjoyed the character of Heaven. I liked this book, but I think the second book in this series was even better. I believe I read the third book, also, then stopped to move onto another Andrews series. In my opinion, this is definitely a series worth reading.
BellaManda More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of five and they are all fabulous. Kinda strange, but it keeps you guessing.
Anonymous 7 months ago
eightambliss on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Heaven is one of V.C. Andrews' original works (as opposed to the later work done by her ghostwriter). It tells the story of Heaven Casteel, a young girl living in the mountains of West Virginia, who is decidedly smarter than the other hill folk who live there. In typical Andrews fashion, Heaven uncovers secrets about how long-dead mother, is uprooted from her family, and moved to Atlanta with a new adoptive family, along the way pursuing her dreams and uncovering dark family secrets. This is the first in a series of five books.Although this isn't my favorite series (since it was later finished by the Ghostwriter), Heaven does stand out in the Casteel series and is an interesting book since it takes place in several different locations.
booklover3258 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a page turner for me. I couldn't put it down! What a great story, to follow Heaven from when she was little to the end when she was a teenager and all of the pitfalls that happened in her life at that time. I cannot wait to start Dark Angel.
tequap on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this is my all time favorite story from the author. i read it first when i was 13 and it remains to intrigue me, years later
eljabo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book has no redeeming qualities whatsoever, but it brings back such fun memories! I was about 14 when I first read this book, giggling with my girlfriends over all the dirty parts. Re-reading it as a "grown-up" cemented my love for the book - it's horrible, tasteless, trashy and loads of fun!I see it as a poor man's Little House on the Prairie (if they had lived in West Virginia) You've got Ma, Pa and a bunch of unkempt children sharing a one bedroom house. Of course, there are a few parts that are different. In this book, Pa gets an STD and sells all his kids at $500 a pop. Plus, some of the brothers and sisters aren't exactly appropriate with each other. And at one point, the kids contemplate eating the family dog because they're hungry. But other than that, it's EXACTLY the same...
Anagarika-Sean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A twisted story, but good. The best of this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know where the author got her ideas for books, but they are always outrageous, suspenseful, and incredible. This book is no different. I read this first when I was around 15, and have reread it many times. A story you will not soon forget. I always wondered whether Tom and Heaven's teacher also had something to do with them all being sold, but who knows. I love V.C Andrews!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good plot, interesting characters. Wish the story had continued.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this book and i hope others read it too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad==probably factual way of life===we*ll read the rest of the series===rjw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago