I Know What You Bid Last Summer (Sarah W. Garage Sale Series #5)

I Know What You Bid Last Summer (Sarah W. Garage Sale Series #5)

by Sherry Harris

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Know What You Bid Last Summer 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Enjoyed the mystery, especially the ending
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Sarah Winston is busy organizing a swap meet in the high school gym when the lights suddenly go out and she’s badly beaten before the intruder steals some valuable antique and autographed sports items. The next day, nearing the end of the event, Sarah finds the School Superintendent murdered in the storage room with a vintage ski pole through her chest. Does the theft of the auction items and sports equipment from the Swap Meet have anything to do with the murder? When someone is arrested and protests that he is being framed, he asks Sarah for help, she can't turn him down. Sarah is sure that finding the stolen sports items will lead them all to the killer, but will the killer find her first? All the characters from previous books that I have come to love make appearances in this one. We see much more of Mike ‘the Big Cheese’ Titone in this one, as well as Seth, the handsome D.A., CJ, her ex-husband, the DiNapoli's, who have Sarah sneaking around checking out Lasagna from their competitors, Stella and others. The plot is well planned, action packed and the pacing is swift. There is a lot of humour in this one that is unexpected and had me laughing as I read about Sarah's various activities. As the action builds, many law enforcement personnel get involved as well as some "Mob" connections, until the final scene where Sarah has it all figured out and is used as bait. Another great cozy mystery that I can't recommend enough.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
The title is a riff on one of my favorite 'scary' books as a teen. The school athletic swap seems right up Sarah's alley, but when she is attacked and the superintendent is found dead, the story takes a turn. The story takes off, I really liked the twists, turns and food!! This is an enjoyable series and I look forward to more.
Marla-Bradeen More than 1 year ago
I KNOW WHAT YOU BID LAST SUMMER is another enjoyable installment in the Sarah Winston series. A lot of the same town characters are back, and Sarah once again finds herself in danger while tending to her garage sale business. A fun read for both those familiar with the series and for readers looking for a new heroine to root for. Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book.
lynnsreadingcorner More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed this series and was very excited to see this new adventure being offered recently. Sarah is busy setting up a sale for the local school when she is attacked and a local school board member is murdered, in her presence. Sarah has no idea who could have done it but is left with a certain scent of cologne lingering in the collection of clues she starts to amass to solve this who-done-it case. As always, the yard sales are inventive and fun, with helpful hints, and the characters on par with people I'd like to know. This book gives us more of a glimpse into neighbor, Ryne and makes us miss CJ, along side our protagonist Sarah. And alas, you don't want to miss the local lasagna cook-off interwoven between the story - sure to make you laugh!
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
This series has quickly become a favorite. Sarah Winston is an easy to relate to character that starts a unique yard/garage sale business after the divorce from her husband, CJ. Sarah agrees to run the school athletic equipment swap but is not only attacked while working late but also finds the body of the school's superintendent. These two issues feel linked together in Sarah's mind and she doesn't think the police are following the right clues, so she decided to do it herself, often getting in the way of the police. Sarah has a wonderful mix of friends and often puts herself in unusual situations to help them, including agreeing to test lasagna. It's a tough job, but she'll do almost anything for her friends/family. I am hopeful that Sarah is also moving in the right direction with her love life which has been in flux for a long time.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Happy Dance! I am all caught up on this series! Sarah has taken on the schools athletic swap meet. Who knew arranging bats, balls, and hockey sticks could be such a huge undertaking and dangerous too. The night before the event Sarah is working late when she is attacked and several items, including the expensive silent auction items, are stolen. The following day is even worse when Sarah finds the school superintendent has been killed. The murder has to be someone involved at the school, maybe even someone on the school board. Can Sarah find the killer before the police? Maybe she can ask a few questions while organizing and running a garage sale for a wife of one of the board members. Or maybe she should just stay out of it . . . like that would ever happen Sarah Winston is a such a great character. She has become an expert at garage sales, thrift stores, swap meets, and online buy and sell sites. I wish I had half her knowledge and energy. She has also become quite adept at solving murder mysteries. People open up to her in a way they never open up to police. She also has no problem asking for help from Mike ‘the Big Cheese’ Titone, but she just may be pushing him a little too far. Her romantic life has had been in flux since this series started and I still have hope that she will end up with the man I have been rooted for. Solving the murder and the thefts has Sarah running all over the place and not thinking about the danger she is putting herself in. She is warned several times, but her independence makes her act without thinking the situation through. The author takes us on a journey as Sarah uncovers more secrets and lies. A couple of corkscrew twists really has my eyes glued to the pages. In addition to the main mystery, there is a subplot that had me almost rolling on the floor laughing. All I can say is lasagna! The lengths Sarah goes to for her friends was not only funny but heartwarming and made me very hungry. Guess what we had for supper the night after I finished this book. I love the way Sherry Harris writes. She describes everything in such a way that it is like watching a movie. Her characters feel like old friends, you want to get involved in their lives. She plots the story so well with perfect amounts of suspense and humor. She draws us in and holds our attention making it almost impossible to take a break from the story for food or sleep. Her worldbuilding is excellent. I have enjoyed this entire series and highly recommend them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it! Loved the little twist at the end!
BeagleGirl123 More than 1 year ago
Have you ever read a book and just known as soon as you were only a few pages in that you were going to love it? And that you'd have to look for everything else written by the author so that you could read them all asap? Well, this just happened to me with I Know What You Bid Last Summer by Sherry Harris. It's the 5th book in the Sarah Winston Garage Sale Series, and it's a great cozy story that grabs the reader from the very first page, with the protagonist, Sarah Winston, being asked to go on a lasagna tasting mission by her friend Angelo (sign me up, too, please!!!), and then fast forward to the body that Sarah finds skewered with an antique ski pole at the swap meet she's setting up at the local high school. Before she can blink, similar antique ski poles are showing up all over the place in an effort to get Sarah to back off her unofficial investigation! Incredibly fast-paced, I whizzed through this fun cozy mystery, and now must go back and read the first 4 books! A+
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Sarah is running a sport equipment exchange in a local school gym. The night before, as she is about to leave, someone attacks her. Despite the attack, the event goes off without a hitch – until Sarah finds the dead body of the school superintendent. What is going on? This is another fabulous, fast paced read in one of my favorite series. There are several different avenues that Sarah investigates along the way, and they all come together beautifully for the climax. Meanwhile, we get some development in several series threads and a very funny sub-plot. Sarah continues to grow as a character, and the rest of the cast, both new and returning, are fantastic. The writing makes me feel like I’ve visited Sarah’s corner of the world. NOTE: I received an ARC of this book.
bluegreen91 More than 1 year ago
I started reading this series less than a year ago, but it has quickly become one of my favorites! This fifth book in the Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mysteries might be the best yet. Although her friends Carol, Stella, and the DiNapolis are around, Sarah is more alone than she's been in earlier books, so she has plenty of time to ponder and investigate the mysteries happening in town. There are a few different mysteries in this story, and several solid suspects to go along with them. The book moves at a good pace, and kept me up until 3am because I couldn't stop reading it. I didn't solve the mysteries or guess the culprit(s) before all was revealed, which kept the suspense going until the very end. There was also a fun side story involving the DiNapolis and a lasagna contest that I really liked. Highly recommend this book and the entire series! I received a free advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Sarah Winston, professional garage sale Goddess, agrees to manage the local high school sports equipment swap sale, and ends up getting more than she bargained for. Sarah is attacked the night before the sale when someone steals some autographed professional sports memorabilia, but it’s one of the schotsol board members who pays the ultimate price when she turns up dead. As Sarah searches for the stolen items and tries to figure out why the school board member was murdered, she begins receiving threats that try to scare her off. This is a fast paced and fun read. The characters are well developed and the story keeps you guessing right up to the end. This is the fifth installment in the Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery series, and I can see why it’s so popular. Can’t wait to catch up on the first four books in the series.
Rockport_rocker More than 1 year ago
I love this series! In I Know What You Bid Last Summer, Sherry Harris once again presents us with a first-rate cozy mystery for any mystery lovers. A path of clues to this intricate plot is laid out throughout the novel as Sarah investigates, but you are a better arm-chair sleuth than I if those clues lead you latch on to the villain before Sarah figures it out. One of the many things that I love about this series is the way Ms. Harris creates Sarah’s world for us. These daily life vignettes pull me into the story as much as the excitement of the mystery. In any wonderful book, it is the characters that I love most and that is one of the places that Ms. Harris shines.. Sarah and her friends are people that I would love to know and in fact feel that I do know. I love that Sarah, and her live are dynamic, even if some of the changes are a little tough to take. I was so excited to get to read this one early! I received an advanced readers' copy of this book via NetGalley and I appreciate the opportunity to enjoy it early and share my delight with my friends and followers. I love it so much that I also order a personal copy!
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
Each time a new Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery releases, I wonder how amazing author, Sherry Harris, will top the previous book she wrote for the series. I’m never disappointed, and my hat’s off to Ms. Harris who consistently raises the bar for her readers’ entertainment. Sarah Winston is busy organizing a swap meet in the high school gym when the lights suddenly go out and she’s badly beaten before the intruder steals some valuable antique and autographed sports items. A school official is later found murdered nearby with a vintage sports item used as the weapon leaving the police and district attorney’s office working overtime to find clues and suspects before anyone else is harmed. Favorite characters from previous books make appearances such as Mike ‘the Big Cheese’ Titone, Seth, the handsome D.A., and Stella, Sarah’s landlord and friend. The story’s pacing is swift, and frequent humor adds to the reading fun. Ms. Harris always inserts nifty plot scenes into her stories that are totally unexpected and one of the many reasons I enjoy her books so much. Sarah feels like finding the stolen sports items will lead them all to the killer. Building up to an awesome climactic ending; the police include Sarah in a sting operation set up that can only be called, “I Know What You Bid Last Summer.” I highly recommend this action-packed Cozy Mystery! Garage Sale Tips included. I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC provided by the author.
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
I Know What You Bid Last Summer was my first Garage Sale Mystery, but it certainly won’t be my last! Author Sherry Harris has the amazing ability to make main character Sarah Winston’s life come alive on the pages. Sarah is organizing an equipment swap for a local school when the lights suddenly go out, Sarah is assaulted and autographed sports memorabilia and several antique items are stolen. One of the stolen items is then used to murder the school superintendent. Sarah’s sleuthing soon uncovers more secrets and lies than anticipated and keeps the reader guessing until the very end! If you are a fan of cozy mysteries, I recommend this book and the entire fun and engaging series. You won’t be disappointed.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
I Know What You Bid Last Summer (Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery #5) by Sherry Harris is a fun, fast paced story you won't want to put down. Sarah Winston loves a bargain and browsing garage sales is a fantastic way to do it. Not only is Sarah a champ at getting bargains, she has the right skills for setting up her own sales and for solving mysteries. Working on a swap meet for the school, Sarah is knee deep in sports equipment, but when she stumbles upon a dead body, all bets are off. Sarah suspects the murderer may be a member of the school board, so she studies the clues she finds and soon she is putting the pieces together. This is a really fun series that I look forward to. I can't wait for the next one! I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.