I'll Be Damned: How My Young and Restless Life Led Me to America's #1 Daytime Drama

I'll Be Damned: How My Young and Restless Life Led Me to America's #1 Daytime Drama

by Eric Braeden

Hardcover

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I'll Be Damned: How My Young and Restless Life Led Me To America's #1 Daytime Drama 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is nice to read about someone I have watched for many years. It is a great book and very interesting biography.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your the best. Your book is good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has forever endeared me to this fine human being, actor, activist..and above all, survivor.. May God Bless him for many, many more years to come. Thank you for sharing your story, a great read..great writing and above all, you are truly fine human being. LOVED IT!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very thought provoking insight into this remarkable man's life and career.
rokinrev More than 1 year ago
(I voluntarily reviewed this library eBook) I am one of those people who can almost tell you where I was the day I saw the suave, cavalier Victor Newman on Young and the Restless over 40 years ago. And I also remember an exchange student from Germany telling a bunch of us that the last time she'd been back in Germany, that Eric Braeden, virtually unknown in his home country, had passed her sitting on the grass in front of her house. SHE knew who he was, and after a short conversation where she got his autograph, they parted company. I'll never forget her face...it mirrored the rest of ours.... Victor Newman was supposed to be a three month stopgap gig for Braeden while he pursued other acting jobs. However, by his own admission, fourth plus years have gone by and he still loves him, as do all of us Y+R diehards. He's the "guy you love to hate with the heart of gold". However, this memoir gives us a "backstory", much as he requests history on all the characters he's ever played. Hans Jorg Goudegast was the third of four boys born to an upper middle class Germany family. His father was the mayor of a small town, dying early in Hans' life. Forced into poverty, his mother did what she could. Hans excelled in acting out and got himself into trouble a time or two. After graduating, he came to America and rarely looked back. Typecast in shows and movies, he'd been told that he was "too German" and chose to change his name professionally to Eric Braeden to honor his hometown. With that came more opportunities in film. Now married, when the guarantee of a steady income to support his family, he signed on as the now iconic character. And he doesn't take it for granted, working and supporting his cast mates and his audience. Braeden obviously loves what he does. He recounts stories around Young and the Restless, but also his respect for producing directing and performing outside of the walls of Genoa City. He has chosen and been connected with notable artists over his career. He waxes almost poetically around his friends and cast mates, especially the late Jeanne Cooper, who, in her own memoir did the same for him, and George Kennedy who in one of his last appearances guested as Victor's father. IF you have grown up with the Newmans and the Abbots, this is a MUST read. If you are a student of memoir, this is a fine example. All I know is it made me laugh, cry and understand why Eric Braeden is who and how he is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! Surprised me with how interesting his life before the Young and the Restless was. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved every page, well written, organized, very interesting!