In Pieces

In Pieces

by Sally Field

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

In Pieces 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always thought actors, especially of Sally Field's quality, lived exotic, rich, beautiful lives. This was a raw, real version that I would have never guessed at. All I can say is, WOW!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted so much to love this biography, as I do the author (or actor) but it kind of left me flat. I wanted more. To really know who Sally is as a person but I got the feeling that Sally doesn't really know that answer. Her description of Burt Reynolds was no big surprise to me. Self centered, egotistical, stuck up....I would have been floored if he was anything but. It is, HOLLYWOOD folks....be careful what you wish for, right? Some areas were skipped over while some went on too long, as if the reader couldn't fathom what was being told. Don't get me wrong, I think Sally Field is the best actress of her generation and if her life and family added to this gift, even in a twisted way, then it was a gift for us all. After all, life IS like a box of chocolates. Thank you Sally
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book, I could hear Ms. Field's voice tell her story. Honest, heart wrenching at times and so genuine. Thoroughly enjoyed getting a glimpse of her and am inspired by her perserverance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd say she was stronger than she thought. It's a shame she couldn't accept how good she was at the time it was happening. Thank you for you're openness. Enjoy your life, you've earned it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always said if I put my life story on film I would want Sally Field to play the part. Knowing your story parts of mine would be a rerun for her. We keep so much inside.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First celebrity bio that is raw,real and truthful. Sally Field did a deep dive into her psyche and that of her family. Loved the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So happy she wrote this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down kudos to Sally for her honesty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As I started to read this book I was angered by all that she went through. I have always liked and admired Sally as a person and actor. Her life experiences bring to life many of the same horrible things we as women have gone through. As I said I have always loved Sally and think she is an amazing person. Even more so now that I have read her story. Thank you for sharing your life with us. Always be proud of what you have done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, honest portrayal of love, dysfunction, hope and healing. Sally Field has written a moving story of her life that most of us could never imagine. Illuminating and gripping, funny and engaging. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's changed my mind D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sally Fields is not only an exceptional actor but a honest person. She reminds me of so many women who struggle with self doubt and in securities. You feel her anguish and can relate to her anxieties. As a woman I can so relate especially in light of the Metoo movement. Ms. Fields should be so proud of all accomplishments and talent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting & insightful look into the life & mind of Sally Field.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her honesty in this book gave me a better understanding of her life.. a very intimate disclosure of her trials and triumphs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an amazing woman. I can’t say enough about this book. What a life she’s lived.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book but mostly about her awful abuse and insecurity and how she finally found some peace. She had a bumpy ride and I always admired her, but never knew how much she had to deal with. She didn't hold back and you felt part of her therapy as she wrote. I wish she had more lighthearted stories, that Burt wasn't just a few pages of drugs and narcissist encounters but her memory of their time is hers and his was a little more varied, although honest for him. His memoir mentioned more lighthearted moments also and how he fought for her to be with him on Smokey. If you are looking for tidbits on movies and TV shows, it is very little of that, one line about being in Murphy's Romance, I don't remember Forest Gump, she mentions filming others, but no costar stories, no mention of liking this one or that one, (although Joanne Woodward got kudos) She didn't have to do that but just be warned it's not a "behind the scenes" at work as much as it is at home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing person. Amazing story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt as though I were reading my own story and thank Ms. Field for being so open, so honest, and so vulnerable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every honest word and cherished memory of Baa. I cried with her as my own memories bubbled up and out.
Anonymous 6 days ago
Very moving and honest, showing the rawest parts of ones self.
Anonymous 5 months ago
MadelineTaylor 9 months ago
What's most impressive about this book for me is that Ms. Field sheds light not only on what happened but how she felt as she was coping with the circumstances of her life. We see how she had to adapt to the parents she was born to, how that affected her beliefs about herself and how certain longings and needs were never satisfied. With beautifully described insight, she illuminates her development from a child who had to accommodate to everyone else's wishes, to a young woman who honors her own needs and learns to say, "No." My Psychotherapy Reading Group on meetup.com has chosen to discuss this moving and affecting memoir.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Ms. Field is not only a gifted actor, she is also a gifted writer. I could hardly put this book down. Unlike many celebrity autobiographies, she speaks of real life and trauma rather than the glamour of show business. I know it must have been difficult to share some of things of which she writes, but I thank her for her courage and honesty. This is a great book, and I'm very glad to have had the opportunity to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a well written Autobiography. However, it was also incredibly sad and depressing. It showed a lot of insight, which might have been the result of psychotherapy. It also showed how strong and resilient we can be in the face of abuse. And how creative the mind can be to developed the skills to cope with the injuries to our psyche. Forgiving her mother's mistakes enabled her to confront her own missteps as a mother. Overall, I liked this book and would recommend it.