It's Not Easy Bein' Me: A Lifetime of No Respect but Plenty of Sex and Drugs

It's Not Easy Bein' Me: A Lifetime of No Respect but Plenty of Sex and Drugs

by Rodney Dangerfield

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

It's Not Easy Bein' Me: A Lifetime of No Respect but Plenty of Sex and Drugs 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
clark.hallman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not particularly well written, but very interesting life story and of course some very humorous parts. He really didn¿t get much respect until he was in his late forties. Over 70 appearances on the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson and many on the Ed Sullivan Show really helped his career. He was very helpful in enhancing the careers of many young comedians who eventually became very famous.
chuewyc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Really was suprised. Rodney had a very interesting life, when he was young he was unloved by his mother and that lead to a lot of the character he was as he was older. Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You don't no if he is telling a story or making a joke. As I read its like his voice in my head doing stand up. Save your money ( only 140 pages) and watch his bio on Tv.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
emb1911 More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written and funny ! I found myself laughing out loud while reading this book. All I could see was Rodney making his funny faces and gestures while reliving his stories in the book. I have heard many of his jokes and was surprised that there were different jokes in the book i had never heard. If you like Rodney's one liners you will love this book. I give it 5 stars ! Now one of my all time favorite books.
Randall_Yamamoto More than 1 year ago
This was a good story but I wish it was more chronological. He jumped around from decade to decade. I would like to know why he did not serve in the military during WWII.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE Rodney Dangerfield! I Loved his humor way back in the 60s and 70s. I bought this book thinking that I'd be getting good comedy. Yes - there are lots of jokes in it. There's also a lot of misery history. It seems (to me) more like a book to expose all the bad things that happened to Rodney during his life and who is responsible for it. There were a few times when I had to stop reading at times until I could stop laughing and see again (just a few of these). I read this book in one sitting - but this went surprisingly fast. Again - I love Rodney. But I feel that my $30 could have been better spent. If you want Danderfield humor, go buy or rent one of his flicks. Heck - for $30 you can buy a boatload of his DVDs. Many more laughs and lots less 'my life was SOOO bad'. And no - I don't mean 'I get no respect' type stuff.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow! I read this book in 2 sittings. Of all the made for TV movies I have seen this has to become one of them. If you thought you knew Rodney ...you don't. This book falls into my top 5 favorite memoirs. By any means possible pick up a copy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A truly amazing book. I never realized that a comedian could write a book so well. He worked so hard to achieve his lifetime of respect and now, he's given the public the chance to read and learn to respect him more than ever now. A truly respectful book by a truly respected comedian. People will read this book and say, 'I respect him' and I respect him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a must for all fans of Rodney. Whether you're in Show Biz or sitting behind a desk this book is hard to put down. A word to the wise: Don't read it while in bed with your significant other. Several times I had outbursts of laughter while reading this book that woke up my less than amused girlfriend. Great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
And deliver he does in this honest, candid, humorous, poignant and sometimes bittersweet telling of his life. Rodney recounts his days growing up poor, sharing intimate episodes of shock and disappointment, as well as his struggles as an aspiring comic. He cleverly threads the various chapters of his life with his jokes and one-liners (you then understand how these jokes may have come about)!....This is not just a celebrity autobiography, but more a fascinating tale about an extraordinary man who has lived a difficult, colorful life, who has waged war with his demons(perhaps still does), who has befriended some of show business's most famous stars, and was able to literally 'get his act together' to achieve one of show business's most legendary careers. The book is an entertaining, riveting and breezy read from beginning to end. Readers will come away with a unique understanding of the larger-than-life Rodney Dangerfield, why he ticks the way he does and why he has become the man he is. Besides his legions of fans, this book is also a must-have for anyone who has ever thought about being a stand-up comic. A great summer read and deserving of a whole lot of 'respect!'
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly loved this book! So it's not a biography of Churchill or Ben Franklin, but it is a fun read of one of America's best comedians. He has seen it all and done it all. It is nice to see that during his twilight years he has finally achieved real happiness. If you are a fan take the time to read this autobiography. You will not be disappointed.