Judgment in Death (In Death Series #11) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Judgment in Death (In Death Series #11) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

by J. D. Robb

Hardcover(Library Binding - THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY)

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Judgment in Death (In Death Series #11) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 187 reviews.
Belinda_reads More than 1 year ago
Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Judgment in Death is yet another great book for the 'in Death' Series. Eve Dallas is investigating the death of an undercover cop, Taj Kohli, in her tycoon husband Roarke's classy strip club. But the case is nowhere near simple to solve. There are dirty cops and departmental coverups that Eve must sort through to find the killer. And it doesn't help that she's earns enemies along the way: the dead cop's comander, Captain Roth, and the head of Internal Affairs, Captain Bayliss. One of her leads leads her to Ricker, an old associate of Roarke's who has been waiting years to get revenge on Roarke for taking away some of his business years ago. He'd love it if he could take Eve down as well. Also returning to the series are Peabody, McNab, Feeney, Dr. Mira, Mavis, and Webster (of the IAB). If you liked the other books in the 'in Death' Series you'll love this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First of all, it's one of the more intense stories in the series. It's also one of the best ones, in that the external plot echoes the internal one. Or vice versa. About loyalty to the badge and what someone will do to protect it, and about Eve & Roarke's loyalty to each other and what they'll do to protect each other & their marriage. Too bad the title Loyalty in Death had already been used, but it's also about making judgments based on that loyalty.Someone is killing cops. Specifically, cops who are (or appear to be) on the take. The first victim is brutally murdered in one of Roarke's clubs, making Roarke involved from the beginning. Some of the threads lead to criminal kingpin Max Ricker, a very dangerous man with old ties to Roarke. Which leads to the first blow to Eve and Roarke.Then Webster from Internal Affairs shows up to warn Eve away from her investigation... and makes a move on her, which Roarke objects to, violently. The second blow.The mystery is intensely emotional, as are the developments in the ongoing series story. There are some wonderful scenes, the establishment of a nemesis in Ricker, and a villain painted in shades of gray.My only complaints are that Ricker himself is a bit two-dimensional, and general complaints about the futuristic details (frex: I can't believe that in just over 50 years, there'll be holo-rooms that allow people to swim in a non-existent ocean without using any special gear). But the rest of the story so far overshadows those things that I can't bring myself to care too much about them.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Eve is called to the night club Purgatory (owned, of course, by Roarke) to investigate the murder of a bartender, she is shocked to discover the young man was a cop. As the police close ranks to find the killer of one of their own, it soon becomes clear that there is a cop killer out there and his first target won't be his last. To make matters more complicated, there seems to be a link to an old business associate of Roarke's, from the days when not all Roarke's ventures were as above board as they are today. An old rivalry has been resurrected and Eve has her work cut out for her to prevent her husband from going outside the law to bury this ghost from the past as well as finding the killer and cleaning out a nest of dirty cops before someone does it for her - in a most permanent manner. This is another delightful romp (if a murder mystery can be called that) from Robb. While they mystery is clever and the resolution satisfying, it was the development of Eve and Roarke's relationship that I enjoyed most in this book. They have their first really serious fight in this one - the worst kind where both acted in the way they believed to be best and seriously hurt the other in the process. For once, Eve is mostly a fault and, despite her limited understanding of how "this relationship thing works", she is the one who must find a way to fix it. Her solution, when she finally comes up with it, is delightful, funny and touching. The "In Death" books are always a good read, quick and entertaining and with the added bonus of Eve and Roarke's ever developing relationship. As always, this book can stand alone or be read a part of the series. I recommend reading the whole series - that's more books to enjoy.
Boundlessbookreviews More than 1 year ago
I had my suspicions who the killer was, however, it didn’t come until further along in the story.  I honestly thought it was someone else.  Robb is getting better with each book in this series, not broadcasting who the killer is at the onset of the story.   The real story was what was going one with Eve and Roarke.   For the first time, they were really butting heads and not seeing eye to eye.  Their relationship took on new depths with this battle of wills.  It was an interesting change of pace to have them not getting along.  Refreshing and interesting.   Once again Susan Ericksen is brilliant and it astounds me how she keeps each character the same from book to book.  I love her, and I can’t wait for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved this series since the first one. The stories are always fresh and interesting filled with plenty of twists and turns. The relationship between Dallas and Rourke, Peabody and McNab and Mavis and Leonardo are vibrant, ever evolving characters that make you want to learn more about them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second time around with the 'In Death' series. It's just as good as the first reading. I look forward to the new Eve Dallas books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love JDRobb
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the in death series! Just cant put them down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story telling - not only the plot and the action but also the detailed and fascinating character development woven through the tale. For the copy editor: There's a big problem with the name Morse. Initially Morse was the villain in GLORY IN DEATH (Book 2 of the series. Roarke killed him. Then in Book 3, IMMORTAL IN DEATH, a passing reference resurrects him and mentions his standing trial. At the same time, the names Morris and Morse are used interchangeably in the first ten volumes of the series. It's sloppy, and it's confusing and annoying to readers. Especially avid fans of the series who are unlikely to overlook the mistake. Future revisions should correct these flaws.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the "In Death" installments that I reread periodically . Eve and Roark are new-year and finding their balance as a couple. A satisfying book villain and a parallel corruption investigation round out the book . One of J. D. Robb's best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trying to collect the entire series. I just wish it would become a tv series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bobb43424 More than 1 year ago
Frankly, I am amazed that each of the "in Death" novels that I have read gets better than the previous one. Ms. Roberts is exceptional at writing dialog and completely tells her stories without third person input. I liked this particular book because, while it starts with bold physical content, the balance of the book is intensely psychological. The romance factor helps keep the reader amused and allows the suspense to build without becoming tedious.
Laine-librariancanreadtoo More than 1 year ago
What would you do, if you had the power of being the Judge, Jury AND the Executioner? Would you take the law in your own hands? And who would you try and trial first? Friends? Family? Past hurts?  How about the Law? Police Officers...thus Irony. Eve Dallas must try and outthink a cop killer while dealing with feelings at home that where never dealt with before. An inside look at the house of a cop: how the family copes with a family member as a cop. And which side will you be on?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had me on edge of my seat. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
_Chamomile More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing series. I cannot wait to get all of these books in ebook format. (I already have them in print.)