A Kiss from Maddalena

A Kiss from Maddalena

by Christopher Castellani

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $14.95 Save 23% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $14.95. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss from Maddalena 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautiful love story that twists and turns its way through a war. The author had a wonderful way of making war-torn Italy seem tragically romantic and yet the story is surprisingly realistic in it's plotline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put the book down. It is such a wonderful story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. I felt the plotline was very intriguing espcecially the ending. It appears the author did his homework as the details are accurate. Having grown up in central Italy I found the the character's personality very true to life and it reminded me of life in small italian town.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kept me up late--I couldn't wait to discover what happened to Maddalena and Vito. Castellani's prose is elegant and vivid--you will feel transported to another world and another time. Castellani brings to life a whole village, Santa Cecilia, and each of the characters. I just hope there's a sequel in the works, because I want to spend time with these characters again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful story...just lovely
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is amazing, it really pulls you in and holds your heart... I wanted it to go on! I can't wait to see if there is a part 2. If you are interested in a great story, a romance, a story of stregnth and courage, of love and life, this is the book for you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. I could not put it down. I met the author at the National Italian American Foundation Youth Retreat in August of 2003 and he said this is part one of a (hopefully) three part series. He has given me a passion for reading again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful and magical debut novel. Typically a selfish reader, I paced myself in order to treasure each and every passage. The character development is beyond explanation. I adore this boo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down - I highly recommend it to anyone! Beautiful writing where you forget you're reading and the story just flows off the pages. Although it is a love story there are (thankfully) no "steamy scenes (they would detract from the story anyway). Overall an excellent read that I wish had aa second (or third) part to it like a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book twice; lyrical, romantic and definitely a good page-turner...I can't wait to read Castellani's next novel!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so wonderful I didn't want to finish it. I want more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Growing_rocks More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing read! It was a touching, sweet story. I loved loved loved it :o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read for those who enjoy fiction based on history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written with crisp, sparse prose this WWII romantic story of out of reach love will play like a classic movie in your head. Vito finds himself in love withthe youngest of four sisters from a family in his village that owns the village store. The family, having sent two sons to fight the war, deems Vito a mama's boy not fit for anyone, especially their most precious daughter. The war years send the family away to a relatives vineyard while Vito remains in the village, proving his worth caring for his ill mother and proving himself worthy of respect as a potential husband. What happens when the family returns to the village is not predictable. The ending happened more abruptly than I would like. The overall style of the novel was well written but the ending came in a summary narrative that seemed out of sync with the rest of the story. That's my only complaint. I would also recommend SKELETONS AT THE FEAST, CHOCOLAT, and TOMATO RHAPSODY if you like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Say no. Not worth a pennny. Don't fall for it. Its fake