Kiss Good Night

Kiss Good Night

by Amy Hest

Paperback

$1.64 $2.25 Save 27% Current price is $1.64, Original price is $2.25. You Save 27%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss Good Night (Lap Edition) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
karafrib on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
On a dark and stormy night on Plum Street, Sam (a little bear) refuses to go to sleep, informing Mrs. Bear that he is ¿waiting.¿ Thus begins Mrs. Bear¿s attempt to find out what her son is waiting for in Amy Hest¿s Kiss Good Night. In an attempt to get Sam to go to sleep, Mrs. Bear performs many bed-time activities. She reads him a book, makes a nest out of his red blanket and arranges his stuffed animal friends within it, and brings milk to drink with him. Still, the wind outside says, ¿Whoo, whoo¿ and Sam will not go to sleep. Finally, Mrs. Bear remembers what Sam is waiting for, which of course is in the title of the book.This story has gentle illustrations by Anita Jeram, where details like toys shaped like dogs and cats are not missed. It is a soothing tale that could easily prepare small children for bedtime. It would also make a wonderful read-aloud, with words like those of the wind (¿Whoo, whoo¿) being printed larger than the rest of the text. The only weak point is that, at times, Kiss Good Night feels disjointed. This is due to the fact that whenever Sam¿s mother asks if he is ready to go to sleep, he simply states ¿I¿m waiting,¿ and the reader must infer that he is waiting on some action his mother normally performs. Recommended for Pre-K.
feboudre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about a little bear who is getting ready for bed. Mama bear covers all the basics of getting ready to go to sleep, but when his mama bear keeps asks him if he is ready, he continues to reply "I'm waiting, each time until mommy finally gives him what he is waiting for: a kiss goodnight.Genre: FictionAge(s): 3-6
brborsen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is a great story for a read aloud. I read it to the Kindergarten class I was interning in and they loved the story. They were able to relate to Sam's bedtime routine. They also loved the repetition of Sam's answer of "I am waiting." I think that this would also be a great bedtime story.
murphy22 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very sweet bedtime story which gives you an excuse (not that you need one) to give your kids lots of kisses before tucking them in for the night.
dangerlibearian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good read aloud. Bedtime routine for Baby Bear, he can't sleep until he gets his kiss good night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must have read this 300 times as a bedtime story during the course of my children's childhoods. So when it came time to buy a baby present for a colleague this was one of the titles I choose to give her to start her child's library. I'm an English teacher by profession, so I have a vested interest in choosing good books! I certainly recommend this for children up to age eight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know what it is about this bedtime book, but we just really like it. Sweet story, and and it's a great length.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BLN More than 1 year ago
This little book is so sweet to read to your little one at bedtime. It also has a lesson about learning to be patient.The pictures are great and colorful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We originally checked this book out from our local library for our 2 year old son. He would actually sit quietly and listen as daddy read this every night. When it was time to return the book we went out and bought it. He likes to point at the animals and daddy makes fun sound effects to go with the story. I would recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book that my son just loves. It is a warm and touching story that can make anyone feel safe and warm. Anyone that has ever witnessed the love between a mother and her son will adore this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been reading this wonderful book to my son since he was six months old and he still loves it now that he's three. The only difference now is that he can recite it! This book is a must for every child's library and parents will be moved by it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my daughter's favorite book. She wants to read it over and over and over. She has been grabbing it off the shelf since she was 10 months old!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This beautiful book is so warm and engaging it became an instant favorite for both of my children and for me to read as well. With Hest's skillful repetitions, my toddler even recites along with the little bear, the bedtime routine, 'book, blanket, milk'. Read and enjoy with your family!