ISBN-10:
0262134721
ISBN-13:
9780262134729
Pub. Date:
07/07/2006
Publisher:
MIT Press
The Laws of Simplicity / Edition 1

The Laws of Simplicity / Edition 1

by John Maeda
Current price is , Original price is $24.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Laws of Simplicity 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
sfhaa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like Maeda, I have one of his old design books. This one started off well enough but quite soon I began to feel it wasn't really aimed at me. Maeda has a great capacity for summarising and shrinking information into simple, digestible phrases, but I couldn't help thinking with The Laws Of Simplicity he was shaping aesthetics and technology into metaphors aimed at middle managers looking for the latest self-help book.
jensgram on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not quite what I hoped for. A bit informal and casual styled.
Murdocke23 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A small book with big ideas on keeping things simple. Author is well-accomplished, and writing seems to flaunt it sometimes or is occasionally banal (perhaps due to book's start as a blog). But ideas are good (just not profound).. So a good book, but just not really impressed, maybe because I've read other books that share similar ideas at greater depth.
superpatron on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good discussion, but the laws themselves are not pithy enough to be memorable.
chellerystick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I definitely enjoyed this little book and recommend it. It is more of a short meditation on simplicity in technology and life than any kind of manual, but it is a good, rich little essay on this topic.Some of the highlights of this book include: * Removing and hiding features are counterbalanced by the need to make their quality tangible (including aerodynamic or streamlined design), in an act of emotional design. * Melting elements into a blur can make them appear more simple in the gestalt, although there is a price to this in the learning curve. * Put yourself in the shoes of the beginner to teach and learn the basics, repeating yourself. * "Metaphors are only deeply engaging if they surprise along some unexpected, positive dimension." * "Simplicity and complexity need each other": "find the right balance where you can become 'comfortably lost.'" * "The taste of this meal is affected by the [pure white] room we sit in." * And trust resides in how much you need to know about a system and how much the system knows about you. The acronyms and so forth that show up through the book are fairly hokey, but he admits this as an unresolved flaw and reminds us of several important points in about 115 pages, culminating in the idea of "subtracting the obvious and adding the meaningful." He also has a companion website at lawsofsimplicity.com where he occasionally posts other books, links, etc. As always, I would've liked sources for some of his anecdotes--this would be a form of his "openness simplifies complexity"--and since this is something I do not see on the website, I'm going to have to spend some time if I want to track any of them down.Overall, this is a rich dessert. Highly recommended.
getaneha on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The 100 pages book itself is meticulously designed, the ten laws of simplicity aptly presented, Maeda, an MIT professor, argues that the issue of simplicity versus complexity affects every realm of our life, especially with our encounter with technological tools. As a librarian, I would like to contextualise some of Madea's concepts for metadata, especially the 10th law of simplicity where he talks about "subtracting the obvious and adding the meaningful" from which he identifies a key principle, i.e., "more appears like less by simply moving it far, far away". For me the notion of metadata simplicity in the library domain is so conflated that it seems as if having fewer metadata fields is construed as metadata simplicity.
gdhaire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In "The Laws of Simplicity" graphic designer, artist, computer scientist and professor at MIT, John Maeda, offers a cursory examination of simplicity in our technologically choked world. I say cursory because at 100 pages the book doesn't have much room for a "complex" examination of simplicity. I suppose John did this intentionally. Nevertheless, what I expected from the book and what I got were two different things.I expected him to discuss his ten laws in ways that pertain to real life. Maybe he did this to some degree, but more often than not, when I finished a chapter, I was left wondering why he didn't finish the book, wondering why each chapter felt like an introduction to a chapter and not a fully realized chapter itself.The ten laws are Reduce, Organize, Time, Learn, Differences, Context, Emotion, Trust, Failure and The One, which says we are to take away the obvious and add the meaningful. The ten laws are applicable to life. I only wished Maeda would have more closely followed law number ten.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago