Life Support (Alexia Lindale Series #1)

Life Support (Alexia Lindale Series #1)

by Robert Whitlow

Paperback

$14.82 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.82, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life Support (Santee Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
meowth2011 More than 1 year ago
Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a pain to understand for someone with just the basic knowledge of the law. The story also comes with a twist, and a cliffhanger ending that would make you want to rush out and get a hold of the second book to see what happens next. The events are well placed, and are kept interested enough that it kept turning the pages through the wee hours of the night. Robert Whitlow sure knows how to catch the interest of the reader and hold it to the very last pages of the book. The writing is okay. The religious context was laid well into the story and presented without sounding preachy everytime. The touch of romance is promising. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am glad that Booksneeze has given me a chance to read and review it. I highly recommend to anyone who has a thing for the courtroom-thriller genre, and a strong belief in God.
onedesertrose More than 1 year ago
This book, Life Support, has all the tentacles of the Terri Sciavo case, only with differing medical conditions. The emotional upheavals and shenanigans of Baxter Richardson's father, Ezra; the inexplicable behaviors and comments of Baxter's wife, Rena; the calculating and mysterious behaviors of Baxter's brother, Jeffrey; the perplexing position of attorney Alexia Lindale working to remove Baxter's life support, mixed with the romantic tension between Alexia and Ted Morgan, all take you for the tailspin ride of your life. And wait until you meet the short, scarred-face Detective Giles Porter! The constant twists at every conceivable moment forces you to keep abreast of the situations unfolding. Yet, though there are constant twists and turns, I found the writing style to be relaxed and woven methodically throughout the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the flow of the story line. The characters are all believable in each episode of the circumstances. The emotions and tension are palpable. I was able to connect emotionally with each of the main characters revolving around Baxter's medical condition, some of which were good and some that weren't. You will become acquainted with musical worship and music therapy. I found this aspect so comforting, as I get into music much the same as Ted. This is my first book by Robert Whitlow, and I've already purchased the second in this series! Can't wait to read that it! This book was provided by BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
Melysah More than 1 year ago
I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Little does she know that her latest client is trying to take advantage of her. Baxter Richardson finds himself in critical circumstances. He is on life support. Rena Richardson, his wife, and his father, Eza, are at odds. Baxter signed a paper stating he didn't want to life by the support of machines. Rena and Eza can't come to an agreement on the matter of continuing life support. Alexia Lindale acts as Rena's attorney to end life support. Eza hires Alexia's former boss as his attorney to keep life support going. Jeffery agrees with Rena that Baxter should be allowed a natural death. The doctors are also at a stalemate. With everyone at odds with each other, the only man who can bring some light to this situation is Alexia's new friend Ted. Ted tries music therapy and asks God to intervene in the matter. It's similar to John Grisham. There's a lot of detail based on Alexia being a lawyer. There's also a spiritual twist. The books is set in the south. I happen to be from Atlanta, and I like mystery/crime novels. The writing is good. The pace is great for a nearly 400 page novel. The characters are all interesting. There's many hidden agendas. There's also a bit of romance in the book to keep the tone light. It's a nicely balanced novel. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat until literally the last word.
KCK_Blogger More than 1 year ago
When does life actually ends? Baxter Richardson is in coma with a prognosis that if he wakes up, he will likely be a quadriplegic. Rena Richardson is his wife and she wants to stop life support. She considers it as suffering and would like to free Baxter from it. Ezra Richardson is the father, who considers terminating life support as murder. He wants to keep his son alive no matter what the cost. Jeffrey Richardson, the brother also wanted to stop life support. He considers the cost of spending so much money to keep his brother alive in a vegetative state, not a good idea. Alexia Lindale, a lawyer who is caught in the middle of it all. As a lawyer, she gets confidential information from everybody involved. But is all information shared with a lawyer always the truth? Everybody has their own motive for keeping Baxter alive and for wanting to stop life support. Robert Whitlow will keep you reading the book till the end which stops so abruptly. I thought my Nook did not download the book properly. Then I noticed that this is the first in a series. It includes mystery, romance and christian faith. I got this book free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review
SauravBasu More than 1 year ago
The main reason for my wanting to read "Life Support" by Robert Whitlow is because I am myself a lawyer. I must say that the legal research by Robert is quite top notch. In short the story goes like this: Alexia Lindale is a young lawyer who represents divorce clients. Rena Richardson is a rich young woman who decides, in a strange twisted way, to kill her husband, Baxter Richardson, and then explain it away as an accident. Through some interesting turns of event, Alexia ends up representing Rena - not knowing that this crazed woman is a murderer. She has to make some tough decisions while trying to be a friend and someone who can be trusted with the truth - or what she's told is the truth. A twisting tale of tough decisions and of a mysterious, healing grace. Overall it is a good novel but the one aspect that I did not like is having to wait for the sequel. I like stories that end with the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As soon as I began reading 'Life Support' I was completely immersed in the drama and lost hours of sleep as I promised to read 'just one more chapter'... Last night at 2 a.m. I finished 'Life Support' and picked up 'Life Everlasting' as if I was simply turning the page to the next chapter! I'm a new huge fan of Robert Whitlow and look forward to reading more of his books!
HollyRae on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
let me just say starting this book it pulls you right in It¿s a nice scene with Rena and Baxter until you realize Rena is a little crazy. Then of course you have Alex, The lawyer and Ezra, Baxters dad. So, Basically alot of the first part of the book is between Ezra and Rena. In which Rena wants to turn off Baxters life support and Ezra does not. I dont want to give too much away. But, the story is good, The characters are likable, and it flows well. This is also the first book in a series. so, all in all I enjoyed it and give it a 4/5 .
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As an estate planning attorney, one who has dealt with numerous powers of attorneys' and bickering families, I found this book hard to read. I don't know if it was my personal experiences or merely the author's writing style, but I found this book less than realistic. The characters seemed stereotypical and contrived. The dialogue was messy and unbelievable.
jbell2k on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really like everything I've read by Robert Whitlow and this one was no exception. I've lowered my rating because this is really just half a book. It was split into two books to create more revenue - I guess. It has no ending. If you want the ending you'll have to get part two, that is, book two - "Life Everlasting". It was a good read, just disappointing that it doesn't stand alone.
bigorangemichael on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ever since John Grisham wrote "The Firm" and it became a run-away bestseller, legal thrillers have become a dime a dozen. Lots of book publishers have sought to cash in on the trend toward the public's interest and the legal thriller has almost become its own genre-so much so that I fully expect it to get its own section in the bookstore someday. So, it probably shouldn't come as too great a shock that there would, eventually, be a subset of the Christian publishing genre for a legal thriller. What was shocking was how good it turned out to be. Robert Whitlow's "Life Support" is a legal thriller-and it's one with a Christian emphasis. But I'd easily put this legal thriller up against some of the best the secular publishing world has to offer. "Life Support" is just that good. Rena Richardson did not have a happy childhood and she's not grown up to be a happy adult. She married an heir to a family's good fortune and has grown to love the good life. She wants to keep all that-the thing is she doesn't want to keep her husband, Baxter. So, one day while hiking she pushes him over a cliff and makes it look like an accident. But in a cruel twist of fate for Rena, Baxter survives and is put on life support. Rena wants to terminate it to cover her own secrets, but her fat her-in-law, Ezra has another legal document that gives him control over Baxter's life-and he very much wants his son to be living so he can exercise his power of attorney. Ezra has his own agenda as well-he's not all on the up and up and his company harbors some shady secrets he'd rather see kept out of the light of day. Enter into this attorney, Alexia Lindale, who is assigned by her law firm ,which represents Ezra, to go in and mediate things. Rena draws Alexia into her web of lies, leading to Alexia's termination and striking out on her own to represent Rena in a battle against her former employers. Along the way, Alexia meets the musical director at a local church and finds herself being drawn not only to him but also to a newer and deeper relationship with God. "Life Support" is a fascinating character study and one in which the pages fly by. Unlike a lot of other contemporary Christian fiction, the characters are all not lily white, but are instead real human beings. For as much of a one-note villain as Rena could be, Whitlow invests her with just enough likeability to make us feel some sympathy for her and to understand her plight. And as much as Alex and the music minister are the heroes of this novel, they are still human enough to have faults, doubts and foibles. It makes the pages come alive because we feel like all these characters are real people-not just one-note characters the author has created to hammer home his own agenda or point. And although there are some things that are the standard stock of your basic legal thriller and your basic Christian-oriented novel, Whitlow blends them together seamlessly in his novel. This was a great book and one that I found myself sorry to see end-even though it does end at a crossroads with a promise for more to come in 2004. I've not read any of Whitlow's other work, but after reading this one, I am definitely eager for more. Whitlow delivers a page-turning thriller with a profound and heartwarming message at the center. Just like life, there are no easy answers, but that's what makes this book such a pleasure to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ButterflyBlessingsBlog More than 1 year ago
This is a departure from the norm for me. This is a legal drama sort of book with elements of mystery and romance. There are all sorts of questions. You wonder who really has the best interests of Baxter at heart, if he's a good person, and does that matter in the end. One of the biggest questions many readers may grapple with (if they haven't already) is how they feel about the question of extended life support and when or if it should be stopped. Robert Whitlow examines all of this in the context of one case and one group of people who all seem to have questionable motives. The lawyer at the heart of it all only knows part of the story and has to try and navigate through treacherous waters. The book was well done and I was surprised by some of the plot developments. It read like a stand alone novel and I kept waiting for the big pay off and then there was this sort of sudden ending. That's when I went back and saw this is the first book in a series. It's not a cliffhanger - and almost everything is resolved so you don't feel frustrated or anything. It just feels like you've been walking on a fast escalator and suddenly stepped off onto the sidewalk. It's startling - which may have been exactly what the author was after. I want to thank Thomas Nelson for providing my electronic copy for review.
cleffairy More than 1 year ago
'Life Support' by Robert Whitlow is an incredibly amazing thriller and i find that the book is hard to put down. I couldn't really grasps on the storyline in the beginning as it was rather confusing, but I began to enjoy the book after chapter two. It's been some time since I read a thriller with unexpected twist, and I'm glad that I've been given a chance to review 'Life Support' by Robert Whitlow. The book is definitely a keeper. I highly recommend this book to all mystery and thriller lovers. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars, I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher and I was not compensated in any ways for writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
smallkucing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of Alexia Lindale Series by Robert Whitlow. Alexia is a young and prominent lawyer who specialise in divorce cases. One day, she was approached by Rena to help her with her case. Rena does not want and divorce. Instead she want her husband to be taken off the Life Support system. She told Alexia that is what her husband Baxter Richardson would have wanted. Standing in her way was her father in law. At first I thought this book is something like John Grisham or Sue Grafton sort of book. However, it's not. I guess each author will have their own style of writing. It was interesting to know that who pushed Baxter over the cliff in the beginning. However, I wished I know what's the motive. It's very frustrating to see Alexia being duped into helping the murderous Rena. And I understand how Baxter's father must have been feeling. Along the way, Alexia encountered the Lord. It was interesting to see how the plot changes from then. Overall, this has been quite a good read. There are still room for improvement.
Hummingbird06 More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed with this book. It had an interesting plot and workmanlike writing. But, about halfway through it began discussing the protagonist's conversion to Christianity, which occurred as part of the overall plot. If you are Christian, this will resonate with you, and you will probably enjoy reading passages about her being filled with God's spirit. You will be pleased that contemporary fiction has this element in it. If you are an Atheist as I am, you will roll your eyes and skim these pages, resenting having paid your money for yet another failed attempt at proselytization. I will definitely NOT be buying any more books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago