The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid

Hardcover(Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Little Mermaid 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent little story. It was well written and is a good story, if you get past the fact that the mermaid does not end up with the prince, and she cuts out her tongue for the sea witch. Overall, a good read(if not a sad one).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This version of "The Little Mermaid" varies greatly from the cute Disney version that we all know and love. However, it should because this is the original version of the tale and was not suppose to have the happy fairytale ending that all Disney movies contain. This version should not be compared to the Disney movie whatsoever because they are two seperate stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book sad?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovw this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AAAAAAAWWWWWEEEEEESSSSOOOMMMMEEEE!!!!!!!! THE BEST OF THE BEST BOOK!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an old classic, and a great book, but it is morbid. Hans wrote great books but some had things that were not so child friendly. For example, the little mermaid has her tung cut out, but in the movie she just loses her voice. I recommend ages 9+. If you still want to read this to your child, read it first so you will know what I mean. Other than that, its perfect. Great story, great plot, great ending. - Cleo Setori, Nook reviewer?
Ginac on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This classic tale from Hans Christian Anderson tells the story of a young mermaid who dreams of becoming human. Originally written in 1837, this story is quite different in tone from the Disney version, which many children (and adults) will immediately think of when mentioning the title. While I was reading this story, I found myself constantly comparing it to the Disney film, even though I really didn¿t mean too. Consequently, I think this affected my opinion of the original story because I found it to be too `dark¿ for children and not really something that I would read to my kids. However, keeping in mind that it was written almost two hundred years ago, this type of story was likely considered as nothing too unusual. As a matter of personal preference though, I¿ll stick with the Disney version.
cwollan09 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Genre: Fairy TaleCharacterization: 5 StarsReview: The little mermaid dreamed of spending life ashore and was willing to give up her comfortable home life to live on land. This book is a good example of a fairy tale because it is literature that has been passed down through generations by people retelling them.Media: colored pencils
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hans Christian Anderson¿s version of the Little Mermaid is darker than the Disney version. This in my opinion made it much more enjoyable. It is the classic tale of a mermaid who falls in love with a prince and makes sacrifices to win him. Unlike the Disney version, the little mermaid doesn¿t win the prince and stay human. Instead she chooses not to kill him and save her life. She plunges into the sea where she becomes a daughter of the air. Her choices gave her the ability to gain a soul and after 300 years her soul would go to heaven. This was an absolutely beautiful book.
DHARDY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a modern day story of the Little Mermaid who is fascinated with life above water and being human in order to have an eternal soul. She gives the sea witch her beautiful voice in order to meet the prince, marry, and gain her eternal soul. When this fails she is turned into foam but because of her unselfishness is giving a chance to gain her soul after all. I like the way the author selects his words to describe the environment above and below the sea. It¿s very close to the traditional story with a twist; her main goal is gaining her soul. It's a lovely and touching story about love and sacrifice as shown by the princess when she did not harm the prince because of her love for him and her ability to gain her soul from her unselfish sacrifice which is what she wanted.I believe this story could be used during creative writing, having children explore traditional stories and give it their own twist.
AndreaByrnes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Little Mermaid" is a popular fairy tale by the Danish poet and author Hans Christian Andersen about a young mermaid willing to give up her life in the sea and her identity as a mermaid to gain a human soul and the love of a human prince.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book u should read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i have ever read but it is sad. by lily skelton
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. It is so dang cute and its a quick read.I am 13 but i still love to read fairy tales, especially this one. I definately recomend thus to all ages!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite story by Hans Christian Anderson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good book but why did she give the sea witch her tong? The movie was way better than this. Thank you for reading this ~Forever76247~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You are nice twinklestar876
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mermaids are real but some pepol think there not real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guys its hatergirl i want to know if you guys like my opinion on books so please tell and if a lot of people dont like it i will stop writing reviews but i love doing it so much ad i love reafing so much and a lot of people know that i read a lot so they trust my comments on books please i want what u guys think please let me sincerely hatergirl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although i knew that this book would not be like disney's the little mermaid it was a very interesting book and i quite liked it My only concern is the amount of typos in it ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow