Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy

Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy

by Michael Tucker

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $13.99 Save 21% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $13.99. You Save 21%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+love+how+Michael+takes+us+on+his+daily+excursions+and+food+forays.++He+makes+you+feel+like++you+are+a+friend+of+his+along+for+the+ride%21+%0AWe+are+going+to+it%C3%A0ly+in+September+and+I+took+many+notes%21++Thanks+Mike+%28and+Jill%29+for+a+delicious+taste+of+Umbria%21%21
jrepman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
True story of tv personalities Michael Tucker and Jill Eikenberry and their home in Umbria. Delightful!
SignoraEdie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Living in a Foreign Language" is a memoir by Michael Tucker. He and his wife, Jill Eikenberry, bought a small "rustico" in Umbria. It is their story...not really of restoring the place...but more of their experiences as they are drawn more and more to living in Italy and the beautiful story of their personal relationship. She is a cancer survivor. Their journey with her illness was very candid and touching. The descriptions of the food and wine made me salivate! I enjoyed it very much and it made me want to buy property in Italy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dolcevita10 More than 1 year ago
I loved every minute of this book and did not want it to end. It made me want to back to Italy everytime they were going back! They truly are living the dolce vita. Great couple and great friends enjoying life. The detail in this book was excellent and you could picture every minute of it. It leaves you wanting more.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Betts44 More than 1 year ago
As the Tuckers soon found out, living in Italy can be enchanting, deceptively so! It seems that people who are proud of their culture want to share what they have. I use the word 'deceptive' because Michael and Jill had no intention of buying a house when they went to Italy. The more they looked and visited, they more they liked what they saw and experienced. One of the reasons all this was so interesting to me was that about twenty something years ago, my husband, myself, and two children spent 2 1/2 years in Italy compliments of the United States Air Force. We lived off base for most of the time, and so got to know neighbors and shopkeepers. The less people had, the more they shared. When another culture is shared, one on one, more is learned and more is shared. The Tuckers had their share of culture shock, but learned to live with it. I would recommend this book to those who have been to Italy and those who have not. I warn you, thogh; it's hard to put the book down once you start reading!
travelreads More than 1 year ago
It is an easy read. Good for a flight or beach. Always fun to travel through someones adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was just browsing in Barnes and Noble when I spotted this book on a display table. I was curious so I read some before deciding to buy it. I remember Michael Tucker and his wife Jill from L.A.Law and wondered what had happened to them. His descriptions of scenery and food are amazing! I especially loved his account of going to a gym in Italy because Jill thought he was indulging in food too much(man, could this guy eat!). The only minus for me is the use of the f word which I think is totally unnecessary but which appears throughout the book. I read travel memoirs such as this one because I don't travel much myself, but, in spite of the use of that ugly word, it was a very enjoyable read!
SuzPim More than 1 year ago
This is a very engaging book. I wasn't particulary a fan of this "LA Law" couple but picked it up because I love to escape by reading travel journals. This is a great escape for anyone who ever wanted to pack up and move to another country just because they could! Michael Tucker is a very entertaining writer and I hope to see more from him soon.
leantwo More than 1 year ago
This brought me right back to the fourteen days I was in Italy . I could visualize exactly what Michael was writing about. Loved this book
marybWV More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful book. The descriptions of the Italian countryside, the local people and the fabulous recipes make one want to book a trip to Italy ASAP. Michael Tucker and his wife Jill purchase a 350 year old cottage in Umbria and quickly become a part of the local lifestyle, including pizza parties and pasta with plenty of great wines. The personal side of Michael Tucker and his wife is touching.

The writing style is humerous and easy to read. A witty, fun book that I recommend highly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an avid reader, traveler and lover of marriage, I so enjoyed this excursion!! Michael Tucker took me on a journey that I will cherish. I smiled, laughed out loud,got teary eyed and salivated from beginning to end. My only disappointment was not getting my invitation to the birthday party in the mail, I wanted to be part of the group!! I recommend this book to all, especially those who have been married for over a quarter of a century are more in love than year one!! I am sure we will be making our travel arrangements to go back to Italy as soon as my husband has finished the book!! Brava to Michael and Jill...Salute y Buona fortuna!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Tucker's smarmy attitude and style of writing made this intolerable. There are much better travelogues out there, save your money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt like the author was a bit arrogant. I couldn't even finish the book.