MacDeath

MacDeath

by Cindy Brown
4.7 6

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, May 1 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

MACDEATH 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story! Easy and entertaining read! Looking for more from this author.
megHan-sHena More than 1 year ago
If I could give it more than 5, I would.  (It's books like this that make me question other 5s I have given.) It's not very often that I sit down with a book and, when done, can't find a single thing wrong with it.  There always seems to be something that bugs me, at least a little bit.  Either there was a character that I didn't care for, something happened that I couldn't quite understand, there are more boring points than I would have liked, the ending falls flat or *cough cough* there's editing issues *cough cough*.   The ones that I love are the hardest ones to review, harder than the ones that are full of issues.  Why? Because I want to immediately start running-off-at-the-mouth about every thing that I loved, which would ruin the story for the next person.  And I am the last person that would want to do that. This is one of those books that falls into the category of perfect for me.  It's a mystery, which puts it above the rest anyways (I am addicted to mysteries and horror novels).  It's interesting, it's fun, it's creative - it blew me away.  Each page kept me reading more and it was hard for me to put down.  The characters were fantastic and I loved them all, especially Ivy and her uncle.   This is a series that I definitely want to finish and the author has joined the handful (or two) of authors that I wait in breathless anticipation for their releases, who I will put down what I'm reading to pick up their book.  HIGHLY recommended. Thank you, Ms. Brown.  Thank you. Note: I received a copy in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.  Please remember that this review is my opinion based on my own personal impression of the book.
ToryMichaels More than 1 year ago
I'd like to read more Ivy books. Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This was a cute little mystery. I didn't get who did it, nor many of the twists and turns it would take until everything was revealed. The problem, for me, was I didn't feel compelled to keep reading (at least not until the last 15% or so, approximately). It wasn't bad writing, it just didn't have quite enough suspense for my tastes. Still, good book and others may well fully enjoy it.
iiiireader 8 months ago
Author Cindy Brown who has several books in this series that I have read. I originally read this book just after reading the second book in this series but have only since decided to publish my review. This book, “Macdeath” is Cindy Brown’s debut novel. Whether it is a debut book or one written by a long standing novelist, it is outstanding. The plot is fun and different, the characters memorable (for both their good and bad traits) and the mystery was a great whodunnit – pointing you this way and that before being solved. Ivy Meadows (aka Olive Zeigwart) is an actress – well, she has just been cast as a witch in Macbeth. So what if it took literal somersaults and cartwheels to get the part. This version of Macbeth is being set in a circus. All seems going well when one of her cast mates ends up dying on opening night. While everyone, police included, are figuring the death was natural causes, Ivy is not so sure. She starts investigating and ends up well over her head in clues and false starts. The situations and characters in this book made me laugh out loud. From the beginning, as Ivy is struggling to get to her audition, to her constant issues with her (accidentally shrunken) too small costume to the unveiling of whodunnit, Ivy is hysterical. Her cast mates from Candy Moonpie (her buddy who shares her dressing room) to Bill Boxer, the face of Channel 10, made for a memorable and amusing read. In addition to a fun mystery, the book also gives the reader a peek at what goes on backstage. I was not surprised to read (afterward) that the author has a background in theater. The book has a very authentic feel to the theater setting. I plan to continue reading books in this series as each of the books so far has been better than the last. I am looking forward to Ivy/Olive’s next adventure in sleuthing.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: MACDEATH - An Ivy Meadows Mystery Book 1 Author: Cindy Brown Published: 1-20-2015 Publisher: Henery Press Pages: 258 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: Women Sleuths, Cozy Mystery, Amateur Sleuths; Police Procedurals ISBN: 13: 9781940976693 ASIN: B00OQJG9NI Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 4.75 Stars I received a copy of "MacDeath" from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Description From the Publisher: First In A New Series Like every actor, Ivy Meadows knows that Macbeth is cursed. But she’s finally scored her big break, cast as an acrobatic witch in a circus-themed production of Macbeth in Phoenix, Arizona. And though it may not be Broadway, nothing can dampen her enthusiasm—not her flying caldron, too-tight leotard, or carrot-wielding dictator of a director. But when one of the cast dies on opening night, Ivy is sure the seeming accident is “murder most foul” and that she’s the perfect person to solve the crime (after all, she does work part-time in her uncle’s detective agency). Undeterred by a poisoned Big Gulp, the threat of being blackballed, and the suddenly too-real curse, Ivy pursues the truth at the risk of her hard-won career—and her life. Books in the Ivy Meadows Mystery Series: MACDEATH (#1) THE SOUND OF MURDER (#2) September 2015 My Review of "MacDeath": Ivy is a character that you can not help but love, hardworking & principled. The other characters are just as developed. There is a well thought out plot that is laid out to flow smoothly. Scene that are so well done you feel you are part of them and can see them unfold. Over "MacDeath" is a great read for any cozy lover. I hope to read more of this series in the future. My rating is 4.75 out of 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Its fast paced, the main character is funny and lovable, and the mystery is intiguing and has lots of twists and turns. I've already bought the next book in the series. JB
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
While the Scottish Play Might Be Cursed, This Debut Sure Isn’t I love live theater, even participating in a couple of plays while in college. So as soon as I heard about the Ivy Meadows series, I knew I had to give it a try. Macdeath, the first in the series, lived up to my hopes. Ivy Meadows is an actress living in the Phoenix area. She’s hoping that she will finally get her career going when she lands a part in a local production of Macbeth. Okay, so giving the classic a circus setting might be a bit strange, but some of her costars are well-respected Shakespeare actors, so she’s hoping it goes well. Simon Black, one of her costars, is trying to quit drinking, and he asks Ivy to help keep him accountable while they are at the theater rehearsing. Disaster strikes on opening night when Ivy finds Simon dead in his dressing room during the second act. The police are quick to label it a tragic accident due to alcohol poisoning, but Ivy is certain they are wrong since she thinks Simon had stayed sober. Is she sharing the stage with a killer? How can she see behind the façade of her fellow actors to learn the truth? I must confess, I’ve only seen or read a few of Shakespeare’s plays, and Macbeth is not one of them. But that gives me a chance to tell you that not being familiar with the play is no reason to skip this book. Yes, references and allusions are made to the play, but anything we need to know is explained to us. The book gets off to a quick start, and the pace never lags. There are some nice twists and surprises before we reach a suspenseful conclusion that wraps everything up nicely. The characters are wonderful. As you might expect with actors, a few of them are a little over the top, but I found it fun and completely believable in the context of the book. Since actors obviously go wherever the play is, I wonder how many of the characters we met in this book will become series regulars, but I look forward to finding out. A few, like members of Ivy’s family, are definitely going to be strong series regulars. There is a wonderful sense of humor weaving its way through the book as well. Ivy’s first person narration made me laugh at times, while some of the events she found herself in were just as funny. I should point out there is a tad more language than in the normal cozies I read, which is one reason it jumped out at me. It was believable, but keep that in mind when you pick up this book. One thing I really appreciated is how Ivy’s backstory is handled. We are given hints early on, but we don’t get the full story until the second half. It’s important since it is reflected in her drive to solve the mystery, but we were not given the data dump that often slows down the pace early on in books. I am completely hooked on Ivy Meadows and can’t wait to see more of her murderous theater career. Macdeath is a fun debut that promises more wonderful adventures to come.