Make Way for Ducklings

Make Way for Ducklings

by Robert McCloskey

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.44 $9.99 Save 16% Current price is $8.44, Original price is $9.99. You Save 16%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Make Way for Ducklings 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
We don't normally review books that were published so long ago, but I've "re-fallen" (is that a word?) in love with this book and I wanted to share with our readers. I was in Boston recently and, while browsing in the "Bostonian Society Museum Shop," found (or more aptly, re-discovered) Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey. I LOVE this book. Make Way for Ducklings was originally published in 1941 and is about the ducks living on the Boston Common. Mr. and Mrs. Mallard are looking for a place to live but they just can't seem to find the right spot. Finally, after much searching, they discover the perfect new home - a tiny little island, surrounded by a lovely pond, in the middle of the Boston Public Garden (a.k.a. Boston Common). The ducks love their new home and start thinking of raising a family there. But just then, a boy on his bike, vroom, vroom, comes squealing through the ducks. "We'll have to look somewhere else," suggests Mrs. Mallard. The ducks eventually find a quite spot next to the Charles River. They build a nest and hatch out eight wonderful ducklings. Life is grand for the new duck family. One day Mr. Mallard decides to go exploring and tells Mrs. Mallard that they should meet in a week at the Public Garden. Unfortunately, little ducklings can't fly. So in a week, they set off - right through the city of Boston! - to get to the Public Garden. Watch out! Baby ducklings on the move! Robert McCloskey got the idea for this book while living in Boston. "I noticed the traffic problem of the ducks, and heard a few stories about them. Then the book just sort of developed from there." (from the dust jacket) Make Way for Ducklings is a sweet story with fabulous drawings by the author (all in brown pencil - no bright, multi-colored pictures). The drawings have a very old-fashioned feel - check out the cars in the pictures! - which I really got a kick out of. The story itself is timeless. A bronze statue of Mrs. Mallard and her ducklings (one has a tendency to wander off, er, get stolen from time to time) greets visitors to Boston Common while the book itself has never been out of print since 1941 and has sold over two million copies! If you go to Amazon to purchase, be careful about buying used copies. Because the book is so old, used copies apparently can be old, creaky, smelly, etc. The copy I bought is brand new. Quill says: If you've never read the book, or haven't seen it in a long time, check it out. Your kids should enjoy it as much as you did a "few" years ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic - give it often for a gift at a baby shower - or, just recently to new grandparents - with the bronze statues of Mother Duck and her ducklings so close in Boston for children to eventually see and the swan boats and pond - what more could you ask for as a gift.
mitzimi More than 1 year ago
every kid should have this book on their shelves. it's a classic!
lynny_nicole on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Make Ways for Duckling is about a husband and wife duck couple that is looking for the perfect place to call home and to raise a family of ducklings. They fly from place to place in search of the right place to lay their eggs. Once the ducklings were old enough and trained they set off to look for the place to spend forever with.I thought it was a good book but I think it would be better to read it to a first grade class or a kindergarten class. My son, who is 3, was not able to stay interested. I liked the pictures, however, I am more of a colored picture kinda of person. Though I do think the pictures got the point across and added to the story beautifully.I would have the class draw pictures of what their idea place would be to live if they were a duck. I would also have them write a one page story about the place they call home and what makes them classify that as home.
farfromkansas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Robert McCloskey¿s Caldecott Medal-winning book, Make Way for Ducklings, is a charming tale about a family of ducks who migrate to Boston to settle down. Over the course of the book, Mr. and Mrs. Mallard befriend a local policeman, lay eggs, and raise their ducklings on a quiet island in the Charles River. The concepts of family and home are explored thoughtfully (and succinctly) over the course of the book, and the actions of the Boston town-folk show that it does truly take a village to raise a child (or, in this case, ducklings).While the story of Make Way for Ducklings might be a bit simple, McCloskey¿s illustrations are truly impressive in their attention to detail: his drawings beautifully capture the spirit of the scenic Boston area and the personalities of his very realistic-looking family of ducks. That being said, the book does seem a little dated when placed alongside Dr. Seuss and Sesame Street on a child¿s bookshelf; however, the simple majesty of Make Way for Ducklings might very well continue to stand the test of time (as it has done for the last seventy years).Citation:McCloskey, Robert. Make Way for Ducklings. New York: Viking, 1941. Print.
Johnika on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Make Room for Ducklings is a soothing picture book told of a family of ducks. Mr. and Mrs. Mallard (mother duck and father duck) are on the hunt for a safe home to raise their eight ducklings. After flying around and around in search for the perfect home, they land on a pond in a public garden to rest. When they awake the next morning, they are given peanuts by the locals passing by on a boat. It was during that moment that Mrs. Mallard falls in love with the public garden, and decides the pond is suitable for raising their family.Recommended for children aged 3 to 8.This book is a great way to help little children understand a parent¿s perspective on finding a place to raise a family. It is perfect for a teacher to read to a classroom, or a parent to read-out-loud to their small child. Another book that was written in the same decade: Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
psjones on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love this book!! the illustrations are in black and white which makes this book unique. This book has wonderful language and vocabulary for small children.
JenniferHauschildt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A mallard duck couple was searching for a place to build a nest and raise a family. They found a park in Boston where people fed them. They made their nest on an island in the river. They met a nice policeman who fed them. After the babies hatched, the father duck went on a trip. The mother taught the babies everything they needed to know. The mother and the babies made their way across town back to the park to reunite with their father. They had some help along the way.Personal Reaction I liked this book. The pictures are not in color, but they seem more dramatic and less distracting in black and white. It's a cute story about baby ducks. A child of any age of child would enjoy this book.Classroom Extension Ideas- If you were doing a unit about baby animals or animals in general, this would be a great addition.- The children could do an art project where they draw the duck family, or draw their favorite part of the book.
jlsherman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Beautifully illustrated story about a duck family and their quest to find a home in Boston, Mass.
eecnelsen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book when teaching a class about ducks. It shows how hard it is to find the right nest. How the city can hinder their reproduction and safty. Review: This is a great book!!
ashdawn21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about a family of ducks trying to find the perfect home to raise a family. When they finally find that perfect place they have to learn to adjust to city life and all the hazards that come with living there.As a little girl I used to love reading this book with my mom, so when I found it I had to read it again. I love the way the pictures are drawn, you really can't find that kind of drawing in any other books anymore.The way I might use this in the classroom is by allowing my students to make their own story using animals who like to make there homes' among people, and what dangers those animals might come into contact with.
elpowers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very beautiful pictures- old book.
ReadAloudDenver on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This classic book is a special book to read aloud to kids who will love counting the little ducklings and following the story to make sure they arrive safely to the Public Garden. This book helps build up vocabulary with words like mallard, flapped, polite, proud, delighted, waddled, dither, hatched, responsibility, opposite and promised.
jcofsky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story was one of my favorites when I was younger. I loved reading about Mr. and Mrs. Mallard raising a family of ducklings and deciding the best place to raise their family. Mrs. Mallard knew right away that raising their ducklings in the Boston Public Garden with many people on swan boats throwing peanuts was somewhere they would go later on but no with the little ducklings. So, they head off to a quiet island in the Charles River to raise the little ones until they are old enough to explore the Public Garden following in a row being their parents.
RebeccaMichelet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story begins with two ducks, the Mallards, looking for a place to raise their family. They travel all over the city looking for places to live that do not have any turtles or foxes. After finding a small island, the ducklings are born, and the father decides to look around the area. While away, Mrs. Mallard raises her ducklings and prepares them for the day they journey to the park to meet Mr. Mallard. As she walks her family to the park, the policeman who usually fed the Mallard peanuts alerted the police in order to block traffic so the ducks could pass, and head to their new home in the park.
mbackes10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great read aloud book!
elkeursin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love love love this book! The story is great for children and also uses the correct ornithological terms too which makes a wild bird lover happy.
booksandwine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love love love love this book. I can't wait to have children and read it to them!
cjfox73 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Told in a very loving and gentle way, children will respond to the nuturing of the parents and the adorable baby ducklings.
szanes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A charming story for a mother's care for her children, and a city that joins in protecting a family on the way to a new home. Great read aloud, and playful language that children love to hear again and again.
t1bclasslibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mrs. and Mr. Duck find a place to raise their ducklings, they take good care of them until one day Mr. Duck gets the dumb idea that everyone should go to the public gardens. Mrs. Duck walks them over there and they miraculously escape being run over on the way.
BenjaminHahn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The drawings of ducks are great. I think perhaps another story is hiding here. Like, what the hell was Mr. Mallard doing, while Mrs. Mallard was training all the ducklings. Does he work at Langley? Was he "exploring" the parts of the river that the loons occupied? Sounds like a plot line from Mad Men really.
colombe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
How could I not buy this with my being in Boston? :)
artlibby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Follow a growing family of ducks as they seek a safe home in this classic picture book. Awarded the Caldecott Medal in 1941, the monochromatic drawings present a literal bird's-eye view of Boston. Mr. and Mrs. Mallard navigate the city for the safest place to hatch their ducklings. The book proceeds chronologically as we wait and watch for the family to settle into a nesting place and then a permanent home. The drawings are rendered in a realistic manner that presents readers with a complete picture of the Mallard's predicament. The drawings also communicate convincing expressions that create a sense of commonality between the readers and the ducks. The theme of a shared world is brought forth in these pages, creating a gateway to discuss a more desirable approach to coordinating the activities between humans and animals. A great bedtime story and a must for elementary school libraries.
btivis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Make Way for Ducklings is a beautiful, heart-warming story. It tells of duck parents, Mr. and Mrs. Mallard, finding a place to raise their ducklings. They find a place to live on an in the river, but as they get older, Mrs. Mallard begins to lead them through the streets of Boston. Not only is this a lovely story, but the pictures are spectacular. There is no question as to why it won the Caldecott Medal.This is one of my favorite children's books. I have it in my personal library and can't imagine it not being part of a child's early literature experience.I think this could be used in the classroom as a science lesson about ducks and how they raise their ducklings. Mostly, I would just use it to read aloud and expose the students to good, quality literature.