Mercy Come Morning

Mercy Come Morning

by Lisa Tawn Bergren

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mercy Come Morning 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
rjmoren on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this book very quickly this past weekend. It is about Krista, a lady who has not had a good relationship with her mother, ever. Unfortunately, her mother has Alzheimer's and is declining rapidly. She lives away from her hometown where her mother is cared for at a special facility run by Krista's ex-boyfriend. He has called her home to be there for what is most certainly her mother's last few days. As Krista reads her mother's notes and letters, she begins to recall happier times and fond memories she had chosen to forget. Then one memory hurdles back as Dane tries to rekindle their on again off again romance. Quick and enjoyable read, I found it too short for me. I like to know what happens after and although I have a pretty good guess, completing the story with what happens next would have been more to my liking.
polarmath on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Krista has admitted her mom to a long term care facility and has not had anything to do with her for a quite a while. The person who runs the facility is a friend who she trusts to care for her mom. While she had planned to never see her mom again, she is called to come and see her to help heal old wounds.
BookDivasReads on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Imagine growing up as an only child, never really knowing your father and having an older mother with an undiagnosed mental illness. Fast forward a few years and your mother is beginning to show signs of Alzheimer's and you're in college. You do the best that you can but as the disease progresses and your studies continue you realize you can¿t do it by yourself and you don¿t want to for much longer. Fast forward a few more years and now your mom has congestive heart disease and is dying. You haven't visited in a few years but now you have to go for one last visit. This is the premise of Mercy Come Morning by Lisa Tawn Bergren.Krista Mueller is now in her late thirties and a college history professor. She has left all that is familiar from New Mexico behind, including her mother, as she tries to make a life for herself in Colorado. She's comfortable with her life until she receives the phone call stating that her mother is dying. Krista realizes that there are unresolved emotions with regard to her mother. She felt that her mother never loved her and left her alone to fend for herself and was hypercritical of her with respect to her dancing skills. The last thing Krista wants to do is return to New Mexico but she knows that she must. As Krista tries to resolve her feelings about her mother, she must also confront her feelings about Dr. Dane McConnell. Dane is a childhood friend, her first true love and the director of the nursing home that cares for her mother. She also has a surrogate mother in Elena, an old family friend. Krista is someone trying to do the right thing, initially for all the wrong reasons. But as time progresses she realizes that her mother didn't have an easy life and that she tried to do the best she could. I found most of the characters realistic in their actions if not somewhat flat. Krista comes across initially as a childish and somewhat selfish woman. It's hard to imagine someone in their late thirties being so self-absorbed and spoiled. I also found it somewhat unrealistic to expect that the joy of holiday celebrations is the impetus to get Krista to accept her mother as is and begin to "heal her heart." This seemed a little trite and overly simplistic in my opinion. Mercy Come Morning seems to ultimately be about second chances and acceptance. Krista learns to accept and love her mother with all of her faults. Krista also learns to accept her own personal limitations and the knowledge that she cannot control everything and everyone. The ending was a bit trite but overall this is a decent story about self-discovery, self-acceptance and family . . . especially the necessity to accept our family members as is.
itsJUSTme on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh I just did not enjoy this book. I really wanted to, the idea for the story line seemed good to me, but it was just so boring and uninteresting. I could not connect with the characters at all and I really disliked the main character. I thought all the flashbacks were slow. I felt like I was forcing my way through it.The only interesting parts to me was when it talked about the Alzheimer facility. That was the only thing that kept me going.
sdbookhound on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Krista has gone home to New Mexico to say good-bye to her Mother who is dying after a long fight with Alzheimers. Their relationship has been rocky pretty much all of Krista's life so not only has she come to say good-bye, but also to try to finally resolve the many issues between them. My favorite part about this book was the descriptions of Taos and the surrounding area. I am intriqued now and will have to look into visiting there someday. I was also interested in the information on how the Alzheimer's patients were being taken care of. This was a solid book and I enjoyed reading it. I would recommend it to others.
mwortinger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Krista is a 37 year old single woman who is frustrated and unable to deal with her strained relationship with her mother, Charlotte. After hearing that Charlotte was dying she drove to New Mexico to sit with her. Her mother who has Alzheimers was staying in a nursing home. The director of the home was Dane, her first love. It was a little hard to follow at first but well worth it at the end. The story is about love and forgiveness, not only between her and her mother but also herself. Once she was able to do that she was able to pursue her relationship with Dane.
iluvf14 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reading the description of Mercy Come Morning really hit home and I knew I needed to read it. The main character, Krista, is trying to reconcile her feelings about her mother and get over the bad relationship she had in the past with her. Krista is angry, frustrated, and unable to get past the negative feelings she has for her mother¿before and after the Alzheimer¿s hit. We are going through the stages of Alzheimer¿s with my mother right now. Although we had a good enough relationship while I was growing up, I¿ve had many internal conflicts about her since I¿ve been her caregiver for the last 4 years. I know she can¿t help her actions and I know I shouldn¿t take them personally, but I have a tendency to resent her---especially lately. Like Krista, I need to lean harder on my faith and forgive mom, as well as myself, so that I don¿t end up bitter like Krista. Plus, like Krista, it¿s so hard to have your loved one so changed from what you knew all those years growing up. We have our own expectations of who mom should be even though she can't live up to them anymore. That's where we have to forgive mom, ask for forgiveness and accept her for who she is.......now. When I began reading Mercy Come Morning, it was a bit slow. But after getting past the first few chapters, I began to feel connected with Krista. The descriptions of Taos, both the community and the winter weather, was so vividly written that I could picture it in my mind. And I loved all the thought and research Ms. Bergren put into Cimarron Care Center. It sounds like paradise for Alzheimer¿s patients and their families. It¿s too bad nothing like Cimarron exists in real life. Ms. Bergren definitely has a way with words and drawing the reader into her story. Thankfully Krista reconnected with her ¿grandmother¿ Elena and her old beau, Dane. While going through those last days with her mother, Krista needed the love and support found in both of them. Their different perspectives on mom¿s past helped Krista find the healing and forgiveness she needed. Sometimes appearances are deceiving and once Krista found out the reasons between her mother¿s actions, she knew she had to apologize to her mother even though mom may not hear it. Even with the slow start and some predictability surrounding Krista and Dane¿s relationship, I give Mercy Come Morning 4 stars. Reading the book actually gave me some peace with my mother¿s situation. Now I'm beginning to know compassion and empathy toward mom--healing and forgiveness are only a few steps away.I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah¿s ¿Blogging for Books¿ as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
DynamicUno on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Krista's mother was gone long before the Allzheimer's started to destroy what was left of her memories. Having fled New Mexico to escape this maddening disease, Krista returns home to say her final goodbyes to the mother she never really knew. Meanwhile, she re-establishes her relationships with an old flame (Dane), who just happens to be running the home where her mother is placed, and with her family friend Elena, who has provided shelter for Krista on a number of occasions.While Krista watches her mother slowly die, she reads through some of the journal entries her mother wrote as Krista was growing up. From these entries she learns that she and her mother were more alike than she ever imagined. Making amends, Krista begins to repair her relationships of the past, while tentatively walking towards an unknown future."Mercy Come Morning" will make you laugh, smile, and even cry. Reading about Alzheimer's and how it affects the patients and their families was really tough because I want to "fix things" and unfortunately, it's not something I can fix. I enjoyed the heart-warming story of a restored mother-daughter relationship as well as a possible romance. Lisa T. Bergren is a wonderful storyteller and has crafted a touching story that will seep under your skin and warm your heart.
MandaT on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Growing up with a tragic family history has greatly influenced Krista Mueller. Krista's relationship with her mother has been plagued with misunderstandings and a lack of loving communication. With Alzheimer's disease affecting her mother's mind, Krista flees to another state to escape the emotional turmoil she feels inside and leaves her mother's care to others. When Krista receives a call from Dane (a past love) that her mother is in her last days, she reluctantly comes back. Krista will have to deal with everything she has been running from these past years including Dane, the man she keeps pushing away. Alzheimer's disease is not something that I'm really familiar with. It has touched my husband's family though. His grandmother suffered from this horrible disease. It was interesting to learn a little bit about how this disease affects the patient as well as the family members taking care of them. I really enjoyed this book. I was able to read it in a day and thought that the book was well written. I would recommend this book.
momtorghj on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is your typical Christian fiction book, unfortunately. The plot was predictable, the characters one-dimensional for the most part. My maternal grandmother suffered from Alzheimer's for the last few years of her life and in comparing her experience to Krista's mother's, I found Bergren sentimentalized the entire illness and its affect on sufferers. Alzheimer's patients are not always cute and comical. My grandmother was violent and her personality completely changed a sweet, caring person into someone who was sharp, unkind and prone to outbursts.Another thing I didn't really enjoy about the book was the developing romance between Krista and the owner/manager of the nursing home. In my experience, when a family member is dying, you aren't looking around to see if there is someone available to date.This is my first attempt at a Bergren novel - it will probably be my last.
ndejong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this story of a daughter coming to peace with her complicated relationship with her mother. Krista has put her past, and her difficult mother behind her. But now her mother, after suffering with Alzheimer's for many years, is seriously ill, with not much time left. Some journal entries jotted in an old book of Christmas carols open a window for Krista in understanding her mother. And then there's her high school sweetheart Dane, now the nursing home director, but Krista doesn't want to let him get close only to separate again.While it's not my top favorite book by Lisa T. Bergren, Mercy Come Morning is a good one. I thought a lot about my life and relationships with people as I read it, and I'm sure I'll read it again someday.
Rlatourell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mercy Come Morning is the story of a woman struggling to understand her complicated relationship with her mother as that mother lies dying in an Alzheimer's Care Facility. With her mother unable to communicate, Krista, the daughter is left with sporadic journal entries and love letters received by her mother as the only means to understanding their shared history and her mother's life prior to motherhood. I enjoyed the way that the author told the story through three separate times and perspectives - the mother's personal journal entries, Krista's remembrances of her childhood and youth and the current story. I also liked how we as readers were not privy to the entire back story - we learned and understood as Krista did. Ultimately, while the book is a story of the difficulties associated with losing someone you love to this awful disease, it is truly a story of rediscovery and forgiveness. Learning to see beyond the hurt and feelings of abandonment to the good in a relationship, no matter how trying it might have seemed. I do feel that the book didn't make full use of all of the characters, and could have more fully developed those relationships and histories; but, I also recognize that at its heart it is solely about Krista's own journey to understand her relationship with her mother and to come to some kind of peace about it.
vintagebeckie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mercy Come Morning by Lisa Tawn Bergren was originally released as Christmas Every Morning. I assume the publisher changed the title so that the book would be not relegated to the Christmas novel section of the book store. But to me, it is a Christmas book. Krista Mueller is home in Taos, New Mexico to visit her mother, Charlotte, who is in the last days of her battle with Alzheimer¿s. She left Taos years before when the care of her mother and the bitter memories of her childhood became too much for her. Now she is summoned back to confront her fears, doubts, regrets and anger. Set in the month of December, the novel uses the Christmas season, traditions and carols to tell Krista and Charlotte¿s story.Mercy Come Morning was an okay read for me. It was a little slow and a little predictable. And I really did not connect with the characters. There seemed to be a lot of backstory that was dribbled out to the reader, and I was left feeling like I didn¿t really get the whole story. And though there is a positive resolution for Krista and Charlotte, the ending left me feeling sad.
kittycrochettwo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Krista Mueller is a professor of history working in Colorado, but Taos, New Mexico was once her home, and where her mother Charlotte Mueller who suffers from Alzheimer's nursing facility is. A nursing home that's run by Krista's first love Dane McConnell. Krista has only seen her mother twice in the many years she has been at the facility so when she gets a call from Dane telling her that her mother is dying of heart failure she hesitates to go because of unresolved feelings from the past. When an old songbook her mother has always had turns out to be her mother's journal, Krista starts to learn things about her mother that she never knew. What will Krista discover in the pages of her mother's journal?"Mercy Come Morning" is about a mother/daughter whose relationship was strained long before Alzheimer's disease developed. Krista's memories weren't happy ones, instead all she remembered was that she always tried to please her mother but never succeeded. She often felt unloved and unwanted, but when she starts looking back she soon starts remembering that there were happy times but she let the bad ones overshadow the good.It was nice to see Krista finally let go of the hurts of her past.For me this book started out a bit slow, and really there were no real surprises, but still I became invested in knowing how things would end.Overall a story with compelling characters and a story line about finding forgiveness and letting go of the past.A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
gincam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Mercy Come Morning", by Lisa Tawn Bergren, is a beautifully written story of coming home again, learning to forgive and be forgiven, and letting go in order to move forward. Krista Mueller is called home when her mother, Charlotte, becomes critically ill. Charlotte has suffered from Alzheimer's Disease for many years, and Krista has always ensured that her mother received the best of care. Now, however, her mother is dying, and Krista must face her complicated feelings about her relationship with her mother. For years Charlotte has been cared for at a facility run by Krista's first love, Dane McConnell. Coming home to be with her mother means Krista will also be spending time with Dane, for whom she still has feelings. Dane has always loved Krista, and he has waited for her to one day resolve her personal issues and be ready to return his love. There are many sensitive issues touched upon in this story, and the author presents the highly emotional subject matter with a gentle, sure hand. The reunion romance between Krista and Dane is one that will make you long for a happy ending for the couple. The setting of Taos, New Mexico is presented in such an appealing way that you wish you were right there to see the "blue suede color" in the sunset. The story line of the difficult and complex relationship between Krista and her mother really resonated with me. I saw many aspects of my own mother and myself in Krista and Charlotte. Most of us never achieve total resolution, but we must all learn to be kind to ourselves in order to find some measure of peace of mind. Sometimes letting go is the only way to receive what we really need.Review Copy Gratis WaterBrook Press
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is not an easy read - especially if you love someone with some form of dementia - but it is certainly worth persevering to the end! Thank you Lisa Tawn Berger’s!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mandy_97 More than 1 year ago
This was a new author to me so I had no clue what to expect as far as writing style. The main character, Krista, must return home to be with her mother who is dying. While home she reconnects with an old boyfriend. The book has a Christian message of reconnecting with God and offering forgiveness for things that happened in the past. She has to reconcile with her mother and a huge secret about her mother comes to light. It is a very engrossing story with a good message of faith, trust, and forgiveness. I think I found a new author to add to my reading list!
Ravenswood_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Book Title: "Mercy Come Morning" Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren Published By: Waterbrook Press Age Recommended: 18 + Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard Raven Rating: 5 Review: Having a grandmother in a nursing home, suffering from Dementia and the first stages of Alzheimer's this book really hit home. Alzheimer's is a disease that can really devastate a family and hurt so many. It's hard to watch a loved one drift further and further away from you every day and there's nothing that can be done about it. In this novel, Krista Mueller has been out of touch with her mother, Charlotte for several years. Now an entire decade has gone by since her mother began her battle with Alzheimer's and she has recently been diagnosed with heart failure. Feeling her mother slipping further away, Krista returns to the home of her youth to spend those last precious days with her mother and hope to recapture a relationship they never really had the chance to have. The book is beautiful and at the same time heart-wrenching. So many valuable messages are conveyed in this novel that reading it can give a person a much better understanding of just how important family relationships are. I highly recommend this novel and intend to read more of Lisa Tawn Bergren's passionately written works.
Lilibet_King More than 1 year ago
Krista Mueller has to face it ¿ her mother is dying. Worse, her mother has been suffering from Alzheimer¿s disease for the past 20 years. There are issues that Krista needs to resolve with her mother before it¿s too late. Krista¿s mother has the best care possible, at an Alzheimer¿s facility run by expert gerontologist Dane McConnell. And that presents another problem, because Dane was Krista¿s high school love. As she makes the five hour trek from Colorado back to her home town of Taos, New Mexico, Krista has a lot on her mind. Bergeron has written a touching story about unresolved family issues, forgiveness, and caring for Alzheimer¿s patients. This book was originally published in 2002 as Christmas Every Morning. I am glad that I did not try to read it when it was originally published, as my father was suffering from Alzheimer¿s at the time and I would not have been able to read this book. Even eight years later, I cried throughout the last 50 pages. I highly recommend this well-written story. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group Blogging for Books program for this review.
Cassie_D96 More than 1 year ago
Krista has been trying to move on, create her own life, but now her mother is dying of Alzheimer's and an old friend convinces her to return. Krista agrees, deciding that its time for her to come to peace with her relationship with her mother. But it also means dredging up things she'd rather forget, not only with her mother but with the ex-boyfriend she never really forgot. Can a book of Christmas carols help her find out something new about what was really going on with her mother? I definitely enjoyed this book, although I will say that if you are looking for a quick and easy feel-good read you should turn in the opposite direction, this is a book that will probably take more time and thought. I liked watching Krista learn that her mother wasn't quite the person she always thought, although it broke my heart. To see the way Krista's mother truly did love her, but could never manage to show it, was really sad. It was interesting to learn about Alzheimer's, I felt so awful for Krista's mother as you see (through her journals) the way her mind had become tangled up and how frustrating it was. Still, this book had its downsides too, a few cheesy moments and a random insertion of the title that felt more like the author put it there just to make a connection rather than picking a title because of the book. Also, I really just couldn't totally get into the characters, they just didn't really make me feel as much as others have. Of course, this is probably just me. All in all this is a worthwhile and heartwarming read. I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah's blogging for books program in exchange for my review.
S_H-e More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very eye opening and heartwarming. Krista had a hard time growing up with only her mother because her mom had personal issue the caused her to not be able to show her own daughter affection a lot of the time. Which led to Krista not ever feeling that she was a good enough daughter. But what I feel the writer, Lisa Tawn Bergren, was trying to do was build up the story to a part where the main character can feel loved and redeemed by not just her mom but by God too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BaronBookReview More than 1 year ago
Reading the description of Mercy Come Morning really hit home and I knew I needed to read it. The main character, Krista, is trying to reconcile her feelings about her mother and get over the bad relationship she had in the past with her. Krista is angry, frustrated, and unable to get past the negative feelings she has for her mother-before and after the Alzheimer's hit. We are going through the stages of Alzheimer's with my mother right now. Although we had a good enough relationship while I was growing up, I've had many internal conflicts about her since I've been her caregiver for the last 4 years. I know she can't help her actions and I know I shouldn't take them personally, but I have a tendency to resent her---especially lately. Like Krista, I need to lean harder on my faith and forgive mom, as well as myself, so that I don't end up bitter like Krista. Plus, like Krista, it's so hard to have your loved one so changed from what you knew all those years growing up. We have our own expectations of who mom should be even though she can't live up to them anymore. That's where we have to forgive mom, ask for forgiveness and accept her for who she is.......now. When I began reading Mercy Come Morning, it was a bit slow. But after getting past the first few chapters, I began to feel connected with Krista. The descriptions of Taos, both the community and the winter weather, was so vividly written that I could picture it in my mind. And I loved all the thought and research Ms. Bergren put into Cimarron Care Center. It sounds like paradise for Alzheimer's patients and their families. It's too bad nothing like Cimarron exists in real life. Ms. Bergren definitely has a way with words and drawing the reader into her story. Thankfully Krista reconnected with her "grandmother" Elena and her old beau, Dane. While going through those last days with her mother, Krista needed the love and support found in both of them. Their different perspectives on mom's past helped Krista find the healing and forgiveness she needed. Sometimes appearances are deceiving and once Krista found out the reasons between her mother's actions, she knew she had to apologize to her mother even though mom may not hear it. Even with the slow start and some predictability surrounding Krista and Dane's relationship, I give Mercy Come Morning 4 stars. Reading the book actually gave me some peace with my mother's situation. Now I'm beginning to know compassion and empathy toward mom--healing and forgiveness are only a few steps away. I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah's "Blogging for Books" as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."