Mightier Than the Sword (Clifton Chronicles Series #5)

Mightier Than the Sword (Clifton Chronicles Series #5)

by Jeffrey Archer

Paperback(Large Print)

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mightier than the Sword 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
DeborahMO More than 1 year ago
This series, the Clifton Chronicles, is simply the best.  At the end of each book I hated it to end.  If you haven't read them yet, get them all now and read one after the othe.  I read on a Nook device and if you do too, the previous books are $2.99 which is an amazing value.  I would envy you the opportunity to read one after another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the series. It is frustrating to have to wait another year for the outcome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always glad t read the continuing chronicles of these well thought out characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading the first five books in five days! My house is a mess, but it was worth it! Cannot wait until February 2016 for number six! I am totally in love with the characters and story lines in Mr. Archer's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wish I had known before I read 371 pages that just before they give the verdict of the trial, the book ends with no ending and you have to wait a year for the story to continue!! Very disapointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this book very much, it is definitely a turn pager. Never sure what is going to happen with the characters which keeps the reader interested. Can't wait for the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first read the first book of The Clifton Chronicles, the reports were this was a five book arc. Without any qualms about spoilers, IMHO, we are looking at at least one more in the series, for like the other four, Archer has left us "hanging". We've now reached the 70s with money the ultimate goal. It determines who wins and who loses, who is deserving and who is not, and just which one we should be cheering for. This is not the strongest book in the series. In an attempt to educate non political historians, we get a fast paced biography, an inside look at banking and finacial corruption, and just how Archer felt about Cold War Russia. And as interesting as that is...what's Harry got to do with that except by his brilliance, he gets even in a great plot twist! Emma's still fighting the glass staircase, Seb's lost Sam to money( which is the worst turn in the series) and I thought that was not a strong storyline at the least, but more a "throwaway" that just irked me. And, if Virginia opens her mouth one more time......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointing. The story did not captivate the reader. Mr. Archer you should have called it quits after the first four chronicles. I will not be reading the next .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can’t wait to read the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, like all Jeffrey Archer books, tells a tale that holds the reader in a grip until the last page. The characters are well defined, believably flawed and real, and drive the story forward especially the main protagonist, Harry Clifton. Jeffrey Archer is a consummate storyteller who artfully creates a tale that is rich and full of fascinating characters. He knows how to rein in his readers and keep his fans happy. He is one of my favorite authors! I have read all of the previous books in this series and I have become comfortable with the Clifton family and care about them and their future outcome. I look forward to the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
Fans of soap operas – excuse me, “daytime dramas” - and their nighttime equivalents, as well as comic book series, may remember when they first joined a series in progress. There is no attempt to stop and introduce the characters and situations to new viewers / readers; the plot simply moves forward and it is up to the audience to pick up the necessary background in progress. “Mightier Than the Sword” is author Jeffrey Archer's 5th book in his “Clifton Chronicles” series, about a rich English family made up of captains of industry, influential politicians, and a best-selling author (the author may know a little about this …) Each character has their own personal crises; each character has their own personal causes; each character has their own personal antagonist(s), as well. Like a good daytime drama, their individual stories intertwine and occasionally intersect. Author Archer knows that it isn't enough to hope that a new reader will be patient while acquiring the necessary background to enjoy the tale, so he begins with a bang – literally. Picking up the family's tale in the 1960s, it is learned that the Provisional Irish Republican Army has activated a bomb aboard a new luxury liner that is making its maiden voyage across the Atlantic. Not only do the characters (and readers) have to REALIZE that there's a bomb on board, but they have to find it, dispose of it – and then explain away the sound of the explosion to the rest of the passengers without instilling a panic. I admit that this is not my typical read; it is a credit to Mr. Archer that I was able to be so quickly sucked into the drama and eagerly awaited each opportunity to progress through the book. (Although, I have to wonder if new readers might benefit by starting the series at the beginning, rather than jumping in with the fifth installment.) Recommended. RATING: 4 1/2 stars, rounded down to 4 stars where 1/2 stars are not permitted. DISCLOSURE: I was provided with a free copy of this book in a random draw. No conditions were placed upon acceptance, although it was strongly hinted that a prompt, honest review would be appropriate. They'll have to settle for “honest”, as the book has been mired in my “to be read” stack for over 2 years; at least the review was written promptly after I finished reading it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have just finished reading book 5 of THEORY CLIFTON series and have already ordered the next book in the series . These books have followed the journey of two families from one region in Britain that could not be more diverse but the two boys, Giles and Harry create the cement that runs through the stories and provide us with some first class reading . Drama, humor, love, suspense and some truly nasty characters provided me with many hours of wonderful reading. I am on to the latest book now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VioletL More than 1 year ago
Exceptional, entertainment at it's best!
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
The Clifton Chronicles were originally planned to be five novels. Since this book is number five, the series has been expanded to seven (and counting). So this latest volume continues the saga of the Clifton and Barrington clans and their assorted problems and successes. Frankly, I’m not so sure it is a tale worth telling, however well written it is. The machinations of Lady Virginia and Major Fisher continue to plague Emma and Seb in their respective roles as Chairman of Barrington Shipping and up-and-coming banker. And Emma’s husband, mystery writer Harry Clifton, takes on the Soviet regime to free a jailed author of a banned novel when he becomes President of English PEN. Then there is Seb’s relationship with Alex, which presents the reader with a side issue. All in all it is not a very exciting story, certainly less than the level of and possibly merely a rehash of already established features in former novels in the series. Perhaps, it might be generous to say that these are developments arising from the past. But this reader became tired reading the all-too-familiar comments and scheming of the various characters. The only really interesting part of the book (possible spoiler alert) was the section where Harry attempts to obtain the only known copy of the banned book in Leningrad (St. Petersburg), followed by his arrest and jailing. And finally, this reader failed to understand why the banned book caused such consternation to begin with when all the facts were known. As it may be, as already noted, Mr. Archer certainly can write, and provides an entertaining novel, and on that basis is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago