Miracle on the 17th Green

Miracle on the 17th Green

by James Patterson, Peter de Jonge

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.29 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Miracle on the 17th Green 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 96 reviews.
TonyaL More than 1 year ago
I have to say this is a farely good book. I found the part that just talk about golf kinda boring. I am not that much into to golf. However I loved the story line!
melicole More than 1 year ago
A very nice story, well told. My only problem was the constant golf terminology. Not being a golfer, I found it difficult to fully understand all of what the author was trying to say at times. It was to be expected since the story is about a golfer. James Patterson never tells a bad story! It was a nice change of pace from his typical crime or mystery type novels. Mr. Patterson & Mr. de Jonge made the transition beautifully!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this book, the reader is treated to all the wonderful aspects of a sport 'in this case golf' with the added bonus of life lessons and concepts as well. This sort of book has become my passion of late. I just love the concept. And there are some really good ones out there right now!
Skippy1958 More than 1 year ago
More in keeping with his stand alone "romance" novels, this book was enjoyable with a nice ending.
PaulaD33 More than 1 year ago
I picked up the book and didn't put it down until I was finished. A real page turner. I love golf so this was a heartwarming book. You Rock James Patterson & Peter DeJonge. Loved it.
mnlakes More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. So nice to read sbout good things happening to good people!
taraDS More than 1 year ago
I loved loved this book. I am not a golfer but hubby is and I found it heart warming. Great book but again would not expect anything less from Mr. Patterson. I love all of his books and the heart togging that he does so well.
davedonelson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Travis McKinley, a disgruntled Chicago ad man, approaches his fiftieth birthday knowing he's about to be fired by the agency where he's worked for 23 years and suspecting that his wife is about to drop the divorce bomb on him. A miraculous round of golf on Christmas Day gives him a reason to live, a scenario only another certified golf nut could understand. I found it perfectly credible.The day Travis gets fired (and before he tells his wife the good news), he sends in his entry fee to the PGA Senior Tour Qualifying School, another perfectly rational action for those of use with a permanent track in our carpeting from where we practice putting. When his wife finds out, she doesn't see this as quite such a rational response to the situation.Patterson's account of Travis' Q-school experience and year on the tour is a fine mix of humor, golf lore, and pathos as his hero struggles not with his golf game but with the disintegration of his marriage. The "Miracle on the 17th Green" at Pebble Beach produces a happy ending, though. It's as sweet as a pured second-shot three-wood to the center of the green on your own favorite par five.
realbigcat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have a huge collection of golf books of which I'm ashamed to say I haven't read that many. Seeing this title by James Patterson I assumed it should be pretty good. Turns out the best thing about it is that it's only 150 pages. It's well written but it's story line is just to obvious. The cinderella kid who breaks onto the senior PGA tour and wins the miracle tournament. I guess it plays off that fantasy that all of us aging duffers dream since we first started the game. It's a sugar coated story but if you want a feel good, quick read it may be worth your time. I would rate it about 3.5
thomas2k12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hello LT!This was an outstanding book. If you are a fellow golfer you will LOVE this book. If you don't golf, you'll probably still like it. Jimmy P decides to take it easy with this one (compared to his other books), and made a good one. Travis McKinley is a average guy going through the struggles of life, including but not limited to: kids, wife, job, and golf game. Travis hates his job and is having one heck of a time. His golf game is getting pretty good, and he is having such a good time hacking away that he forgets to do something that he regrets. Uh-oh! Well, anyway, he ends up trying out for the Senior PGA Tour. I really enjoyed this book and I'm sure you will too. This book is about a lot more than golf; it makes you think about life a little bit and how to overcome everything even when things are at their worst.Skinny: Read this book. Then, write on my wall and tell me what you thought.Adios LT!thomas2k12
jewelsanne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although the book claims to be a great read for non-golfers, it can be a bit hard to follow along with all the golf language in the book. Also, I think us, non-golfers, miss out on the wow-ness factor of some swings, the anticipation, etc. However, it is a James Patterson book and as such, it was still a good read. It wasn't great, but it kept me interested. At first glance, someone would think James Patterson was concluding that money fixed problems, but it was actually learning to love yourself, be happy with what you are doing that fixes the problems. I'd recommend it to anyone. It only took me two hours to read and it kept me entertained.
TREBORNOSNHOJ More than 1 year ago
Perspective and plot ring so true. It will be a gift to many golfing friends. And even those who do not play the game.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A superior novel compared to the trash that has been published under his name in recent years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The word "Novel" is used to describe this book, it's right in the title. Definition of Novel:" fictional prose of considerable length". This is NOT a novel it's a "ditty" and Barnes and Noble has no right to market it as such or to charge ten bucks for a Ditty, or Short Story written back in the 90's. While it's a pretty good read for a golfer it's worth about 3 bucks at barely over 100 pages. Is Barnes and Noble so desperate for your money that they have to promote this as trending and refuse to tell us the how many pages it is? Come on guys this is just wrong!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book because it was for my book club. It's not the best James Patterson but very readable. Frankly, I thought the guy in the book was a jerk! And I thought his family was very forgiving. I would recommend it to people who are golfers because most of the golf terminology meant nothing to me. I've always read and enjoyed James Patterson and will continue to do so. I like his style in other books I've read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago