Motel of the Mysteries

Motel of the Mysteries

by David Macaulay, D. Macaulay

Hardcover

$20.36 $22.25 Save 8% Current price is $20.36, Original price is $22.25. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Motel of the Mysteries 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
kimreadthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a great premise - humans of the far-off future excavate a hotel from the United States from the 1970s/1980s. It wasn't very well executed and didn't hold my interest. While obviously it was all meant in jest, the conclusions drawn by the archaeologists are ridiculous and only very minimally supported by the actual physical evidence. It was not my type of humor.
TessaSlingerland on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The idea is good; sometime in the faraway future an archaeologist stumbles upon a twentieth century motel and tries to explain his finds. It makes you think about the way archaeological finds are explained nowadays. But after a few pages it becomes a bit of a trick. Look around in your own house and try to think of what someone from another time would think your stuff is used for.
rebecca401 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A perfect introduction to the study of history, this book chronicles the work of an amateur archaeologist in the year 4022 as he unearths the remains of a motel from the late 20th century. He pronounces it a tomb and makes inferences about burial rites. Common objects become objects of great reverence.
mmyoung on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A light, enjoyable and well illustrated book that can be enjoyed on two levels. For children and young adults it is just a fun story. For adults who are aware of the history of archeology and cultural anthropology the text and illustrations carry secondary amusing insights and references.
Antares1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a very short book. I would imagine it is supposed to be geared to a younger audience. It involves the interpretations of 41st century archeologist in excavating a Motel 6 type roadside Motel. The excavation begins as satire of the opening of King Tut's tomb, and also has a send up of Schleiman's discovery of Troy. There are many amusing scenes were common objects are interpreted as religious artifacts.
IreneF on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Parodies not only archaeological reconstructions, but archaeologists (Howard Carter), imagery (e.g. Sophia Schliemann wearing the "Jewels of Helen", museums....
orangejulia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's really hard to describe this book. The book documents an archaelogical expedition excavating a generic cheap hotel. If you love documentaries showing you "Secrets of Egyptian Tombs" and such, you'll think this is hilarious. The archaeologist's analysis of the contents of the hotel room, and what the artificats are (a toilet seat thought to be a ceremonial object meant to be worn). Utterly hliarious.
Lance_Charnes More than 1 year ago
One of the best send-ups of archaeological theorizing and cant I've read. I especially enjoyed the discussion of the Sacred Triangle. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
leona37663 More than 1 year ago
The book itself is very good. However, the illustrations are the key part of the book and they are far too blurred. I was totally disappointed in this purchase and wish I had not made the mistake of buying it the nook format.
sanken211 More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read this because I had heard about it, but it wasn't nearly as good as I'd hoped. It was amusing, but could have been much better. Unfortunately, on a Nook, you can't read the print under the pictures which would add a lot I think. I'm still glad I read it, but wish it hadn't cost $9.99, for it was quite short.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unhappy_CustomerRM More than 1 year ago
Do NOT buy this book in eBook format. The whole purpose of this book is the illustrations and they are unviewable in this format. The captions are unreadable as well. I am very, very dissapointed. I called customer service but they were most unhelpful. DON'T BUY THIS!
Alicia140 More than 1 year ago
My brother and I found this at the library randomly when I was a kid. We also liked Castle by the same author, so that may be how we discovered this. It's very different from Castle -- that is more historical and this is more irreverent and funny. We must have spent hours and hours just pouring over the pages, noticing something new every time. I can still remember so much of it, especially the toilet paper point that other people mentioned! Can't wait to give this to another kid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
scifigurl66 More than 1 year ago
I stumbled across this book (and Black and White) in college when I was studying ritual and deconstruction and LOVED IT from the first and still 20 years later. It's thoughtful, provocative, intellectual, and HILARIOUS. It may have helped my enjoyment that as a kid, my parents used to say things like "I wonder what aliens would think of this if they landed here right now."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PastorKim More than 1 year ago
I was thoroughly entertained by this clever book - the name David Macaulay should have been a give-away even before I opened it. The title didn't draw me in, but after the first page of illustrations and explanation, I was hooked. This is a delightful museum guide to an excavated motel by archeologists of the far future. The explanations given for objects found in a typical motel room are laugh-out-loud funny and provocative. Particularly enjoyable are the items found in the museum shop, such as the sacred point... They make me wonder what mistakes have been made about items displayed in our history museums now! People with no sense of humor or history might not find this book very amusing, but I don't spend time with the humorless if I can manage it.
The pen-and-ink drawings are also way above average artwork; the detailed work is very impressive. The book is a fast "read" but a longer "think and smile" event. What will the researchers think about your "stuff" someday? Be careful what you save or collect!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a graduate student studying archaeology it is amazing how frequently this book becomes crucial to the understanding of the field. In no way would I classify this as a mearly a children¿s book but instead as a book to be read by all archaeologists and students of the discipline. It becomes more pertinent the more advanced you become. Fantastic work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This books is absolutely brilliant! And it gets you to thinking: what if archeologists have gotten things this wrong about ancient civilizations? What a smart, funny piece of work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is hilarious -- you'll never look at toilet paper points the same again! Great to read again and again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everything is spoofed here, from Howard Carter to Heinrich Schliemann. Whenever I've seen someone with a copy of this book, it keeps getting passed around. If you are an archaeologist or student of archaeology and haven't ever read this, you are missing out!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the funniest spoofs ever written. I can never stay in a motel again without laughing as I contemplate the 'altar' or look at the 'sacred point'