Mother's Day Mayhem

Mother's Day Mayhem

by Lynn Cahoon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mother's Day Mayhem 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
B0okWorm 3 days ago
Jill Gardner, owner of Coffee, Books, and More is almost out of Mother’s Day cards. She has a few more in stock, but she’s set them aside because she needs Greg’s help choosing one for his mother. It’ll be Jill’s first time meeting her boyfriend’s mother, and she’s understandably nervous. Turns out Jill isn’t the only one having feelings about mothers. Kyle, who works at the antiques store next door, needs to find the perfect card for a mother he hasn’t seen since he was five when she went away to jail. But her arrival in South Cove isn’t exactly celebratory, her behavior toward her son unexpectedly restrained. Piqued, Jill discovers that a mother can never be replaced. This book is different from the others in the series as the mystery doesn't revolve around a murder but rather in tracking down someone's mother. The characters are well written, engaging, and lifelike which makes them seem like old friends. The mystery was well written and had a couple of twists and turns that lead to a conclusion that wraps up nicely even though it is a little sad. I like that Jill and Greg are the perfect match for each other and that gives their relationship some nice chemistry. I do wish that Jill and Greg would either get married or at least move in together. I received an arc of this book from Netgalley and Lyrical Press by way of Kensington Books for my review.
Anonymous 8 months ago
this was a fun, quick read. The characters all shared one problem, how to make Mother's Day perfect. They learn in the long run, it's all about who you spend it with. The ending will make your heart smile!
lghiggins 12 months ago
You don’t have to have a good relationship with your mother or your child to enjoy Lynn Cahoon’s Mother’s Day Mayhem. This novella provides a quick, enjoyable, themed read. Lynn Cahoon is a big proponent of “sometimes, the family you make is just as strong or stronger than blood.” Another nice feature of this book is that although there are mysteries (where ARE those missing garden gnomes?), there are no murders. I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Kensington Books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
Both moms and mysteries play a big role in this visit to the charming tourist town of South Cove, California. Jill Gardner, who often stumbles across murder, is surprised by boyfriend Greg's announcement that his mother is coming to town and Mother's Day will be the perfect time for them to meet. Kyle, who works at the antique shop, has been trying to reconnect with his own mom and Jill can't resist trying to help. These novellas have done a lot to fill in small gaps in the larger Tourist Trap series and I like how it is a great way to visit with some favorite characters. They are short, but fun!
KTempleton More than 1 year ago
Jill Gardner, owner of Coffee, Books, and More needs help selecting a Mother’s Day card for Greg’s mother from her dwindling supply. Jill is supposed to meet her for the first time on Mother's Day. Jill is not the only one who is having anxiety over Mother’s Day, Kyle, who works at the neighboring store is trying to find the right card for his mother whom he hasn’t seen for a long time. Kyle’s mother was sent to jail when he was 5 and he hasn’t seen her since. He recently found her on social media and reached out to her. Is everything as it seems with Kyle's mother? Can Jill survive a Mother’s Day meeting with Greg’s mother? This is my first book in the series, I was able to enjoy the book, however, I feel I would have better understood the characters if I’d read the previous books. The characters are interesting. Although the mystery isn’t a murder mystery it is well written with several twists to keep the reader engaged. This type of novella is a wonderful opportunity to get to know characters a little better. I recommend this book to cozy mystery fans. I voluntarily agreed to read a copy of this book supplied by Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own and in no way have been influenced.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
I enjoy these novellas to keep me up to date with what is happening in South Cove, California. They are lighter than the full novels, and the mystery is not usually a murder. It's almost Mother's Day and Jill's boyfriend has asked her to meet his mother on Mother's Day. She is a bit apprehensive of this big step in their relationship. The other story in this book revolves around Kyle, an employee at the antique store, who is hoping to reconnect with his mother who he has not seen since he was a boy of five. He has recently found her on social media, but she seems to be reluctant to get together. In Jull's normal fashion, she takes it upon herself to help Kyle and find out if this woman in legit. The mystery in this novella was very light, focusing on locating Kyle's mother. The familiar characters were all there and it was nice to catch up with them. My only issue was that this mystery could have been easily solved by having Greg check out the prison first, where Kyle's mother had been incarcerated. I always enjoy a visit to South Cove and look forward to the next book in the series. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
annie2015 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book/novella I've read in the series but I thought it was interesting and fun. I've already added the other books to my wish list/tbr pile. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. My thoughts and opinions are my own and without bias.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heart+warming+%2C+enjoyed+the+story.
PrincessGlor More than 1 year ago
I LOVE my trips to South Cove! I always feel like I am visiting friends and this trip was a fun one! No murder this go around but Jill is on the case of a friend's relationship with his absent but now reappeared mother. I really wasn't sure how this mystery would play out and it definitely kept me guessing. This short story does leave me with questions that were raised in this book about Jill's past, and I am hoping for the answers to those questions in the next visit to South Cove. Very enjoyable read! I received this book from NetGalley and was not required to post a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always I loved this novella and the series. Tried the meatloaf but only had American cheese on hand but it was a hit. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good+short+story
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
What do you do when one of your favorite authors doesn’t have another book in the series coming out soon? You hope and pray for a novella to tide you over! With Mother’s Day coming, Jill Gardner is blind sided by her boyfriend’s request to meet his Mother for lunch that day. Jill’s still a little gun shy after her divorce, but she eventually comes around and is ready to meet the potential future Mother in law. But this novella isn’t just about meeting the boyfriend’s Mother, it also takes on a resident of South Cove who hasn’t seen his own Mother since he was a child. Because South Cove residents care about each other, Jill wants to help the mother and son heal the ages old rift. It’s what people who care about each other do…and the community of South Cove truly cares about their own. A good quick fix as we wait for the next entry in the Tourist Trap Mystery series.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
Jill isn't sure how she feels about meeting Greg's mother and on Mothers Day no less. She loves Greg but meeting a parent is always a scary ordeal, will she like her won't she like her. When Kyle from the store next door comes looking to Jill for help she is happy to do what she can to keep her mind off her nervousness. Kyle hasn't seen his mother in years, she went to prison a long time ago, but he heard that she was free and he wants to make contact. When he hears back that she wants nothing to do with him Jill decides to step in and find out what the issue is. Her and Greg are going away for a weekend why not to where Kyle's mom lives. Follow along as Jill tries to step in and help bring Kyle and his mother together. She likes Kyle and wants him to find some sort of closure when it comes to his mother. Will Jill be able to help or will it be a wasted trip. This was a fun short that gave us a better look into Jill and Greg's relationship and also a fun mystery to dig into. I love getting to know the characters better through a novella and can't wait to see what happens with them in the next book.
Marshathereader More than 1 year ago
Mother's Day Mayhem is a easy to read novella with the Tourist Trap Mystery series by Lynn Cahoon. Even though there are no dead bodies, there is a mystery Jill is set to get to the bottom of. Her friend Kyle wants her to find his mother he never knew and Jill finds a way to incorporate a week end get away with her detective boyfriend, Greg. Throw in meeting Greg's mother for the first time on Mother's Day and you get a cozy mystery you won't want to put down. I received an ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.
4GranJan More than 1 year ago
California Cozy Mystery This is a short and sweet cozy mystery. The story takes place in a small coastal town where everyone knows everybody. The plot is cute and keeps the reader engaged. I have read several books from this series and they all leave me with a smile on my face. This is a quick read – only 75 pages which makes it excellent to fill a lunch hour or read before bed. There is nothing scary in this book! I received this ARC for free from Net Galley and this is my honest review.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Mother’s Day Mayhem is a charming addition to A Tourist Trap Mystery series. If you have not read the previous books in the series, I do not suggest starting with this one (you would be out of step). I like Lynn Cahoon’s conversational writing style. It makes for an engaging and easy to read story. A Tourist Trap Mystery series has friendly, developed and relatable characters. It is sweet that the residents of South Cove consider each other family and they look out for each other (I want to move to this town) which gives Jill the perfect excuse to meddle in Kyle’s life. I look forward to visiting South Cove to what the characters are up to in each new book. Jill and Greg have been dating for a year and she has yet to meet his mother. I could feel Jill’s nerves and I knew what she was feeling plus what she was thinking (would the mother like her, what if the meeting goes bad). Kyle has been without his mother since he was a small boy. It was obvious he was worried about being rejected. There is no dead body or burglary in this book. The mystery involves Kyle’s mother, and Jill wants to make sure Kyle will not get hurt. Mother’s Day Mayhem is a short story that progresses at a steady pace. There is humor in the story from Greg’s case of the missing gnomes. Jill’s theories had me giggling. There is a recipe for Tiny’s provolone stuffed meatloaf at the end of the book. Mother’s Day Mayhem is an emotional story that will touch your heart.
ganderson523 More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy a trip to South Cove, California where Jill Gardner owns Coffee, Books and More, the perfect place to get coffee, books and yummy treats. These new novellas are a fun step back in time for a quick visit to see what is happening with the townspeople. Jill loves to make sure her South Cove family is safe and happy. Kyle works with grumpy Josh Thomas' antique store next door to her shop. Kyle was from a program that helped young people find a job in South Cove for a new start. Sasha is from the same problem and has been a wonderful addition to Jill's shop. Kyle was raised by his grandmother but always wanted a relationship with his absent mother. Last he heard she was released from prison. In the past, she never fulfilled her promise to get together with him but Mother's Day is coming up. Maybe they can get together. Jill and her boyfriend, Detective Greg King, are going on a weekend getaway and she plans to investigate Kyle's mother, who lives in the town in Oregon where they are going. As she and Greg work together, will they have success and find out what is going on with his mother, Rebecca? Or will it be a bust? As a side note, Greg's mother is going to be in South Cove for Mother's Day. Yikes! I received a complimentary ARC from Lyrical Press and Kensington Books through NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are mine only.
BookloverUT More than 1 year ago
It’s nearly Mother’s Day, and Jill Gardner, owner of Coffee, Books and More, is apprehensive. Her boyfriend, Greg, wants her to meet his mother for the first time. Kyle, a worker from the store next door, wants to meet with the mother who abandoned him when he was a child. Jill and Greg decide to look into the truth behind Kyle’s mother and they may get more than they bargained for. This was another great little story surrounding the characters created by this gifted author. But, it really isn’t a mystery. It’s a beautiful story about a child’s love for his mother, and the ending made me sad. I really hope that this author releases a full length mystery next. I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and am voluntarily reviewing it.
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Mother's Day Mayhem by Lynn Cahoon was another enjoyable addition to the Tourist Trap series highlighting Mother's Day in South Cove. A quickly paced story featuring Jill and Greg working together this time to solve a mystery for another South Cove resident. It was an emotional story regarding families, both biological and the family a person creates with friends and community. An easy afternoon read that kept me turning the pages until the the end. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Lyrical Press via NetGalley. All of the above opinions are my own.
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
Jill Gardner gets an unpleasant surprise when her boyfriend Greg springs on her that his mother is coming for Mother's Day. She already knows his brother cannot stand her so she feels this visit is doomed for failure. Jill is also feeling bad because she accidentally let a secret slip about someone who works next door to her coffee and book store. This novella is #10.5 in A tourist Trap Mystery series but could easily be read as a stand alone. It is a quick mystery that will leave you wanting more and I am especially interested in the secret in Jill's family tree in which she feels her boyfriend would not be able to forgive. Thanks to Kensington Press and NetGalley for an ARC of this story. The opinions expressed are my own.
BobbieLCLA More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of MOTHER’S DAY MAYHEM (A Tourist Trap Novella) by Lynn Cahoon in exchange for an honest review. After dating for a year, Greg King asks Jill Gardner to meet his mother on Mother’s Day. No pressure there! When Kyle, a young man who works next door, confides in Jill that he has been in contact with his estranged mother and is trying to get her to visit, Jill, eager for a distraction, jumps at the chance to investigate Kyle’s mother and possibly persuade her to agree to the meeting. This was an entertaining short story. No murders in this tale. I recommend it. #MothersDayMayhem #NetGalley