My Favorite Cowboy

My Favorite Cowboy

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$25.31 $29.99 Save 16% Current price is $25.31, Original price is $29.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Favorite Cowboy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 73 reviews.
ehaney578 11 months ago
I really enjoyed the book! Caleb and Audrey are so much alike it’s scary. Both swearing off serious commitments but are secretly wanting that fairytale love story. And they are equally too stubborn and prideful for their own good! I enjoyed the storyline and the mystery was interesting and engaging. I did experience a few hiccups in the story where I felt a few scenes could have been fleshed out more instead of resolving too quickly but that didn’t affect me too much. I’m excited to find out who’s book is next! ***I voluntarily read and reviewed a copy of the book provided by the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects or influences my thoughts and feelings about the story***
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
So good.  I love this series by DG; it is so different from her Dark universe series. It is fresh, fun, and still filled with action, passion, suspense, and strong characters. This one follows the last Harper sibling to find love, Caleb, and a well known vet, Audrey,  who is called in to help some ill horses. When the conflict intensifies and it becomes clear that she is the real target, Caleb and family all pitch in to figure out who is trying to hurt her.  I loved it.  I love this family, and I hope there will be more even though all three siblings have now found love. I really recommend this series; it is fresh and entertaining from start to finish and each book is awesome.
belllla More than 1 year ago
3.75stars Very successful vet Audry has her hands full with a case of criminal horseplay one of the people who is helping her is Caleb ex-military and now a successful rancher. They get to know more of eachother while seeking for a cure and person responsible for the crime. The story was for me a little bit more likable than the previous. We see the characters from other books and how are they doing. I liked the suspense and mystery and the attraction between Audry and Caleb is strong. They had to sort out the baggage from the past to start enjoying their future. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+story+was+as+good+or+better+than+the+first+one+in+the+series.+
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Audrey Martinez is a veterinarian who has devoted her whole life to the care and protection of horses—even if doing so leaves her little time for meeting a man. Who would have thought that a strange case of criminal horseplay would lead her to falling deeply, wildly in love? If only the man who makes her heart race faster than a wild mustang would let his guard down, that is. . . Caleb Harper is no ordinary cowboy. Sure, he wears his hat, boots, and jeans like a second skin, and displays an easygoing charm that comes from years of working on the ranch. But with his military background, and Army buddies at his side, he is tried-and-true Texas tough. Audrey knows she can trust a man like Caleb to help her save horses. But can Caleb trust himself to resist his attraction to Audrey—or will the sparks of their desire end up getting them burned? This is finally the story of the third Harper sibling. He meets his match in Audrey. I really liked Audrey a lot and thought she was a great match for Caleb. She was able to help him start healing in the way he needed. My only issue was the repeated emphasis on how often Caleb (and even Audrey a couple of times) got around. I really don’t like it it when author’s do this. Beyond that, I highly recommend for fans of this genre. **I voluntarily read and reviewed this book
Evampire9 More than 1 year ago
This romance has readers making Caleb their favorite cowboy and Audrey into their favorite veterinarian as they read this stunning and gritty romance. Audrey and Caleb are strong, captivating characters that easily draw readers to them as they navigate their somewhat rocky relationship. Audrey has little time for meeting a man and ends up being a little relationship forming stunted and Caleb is a strong, charming cowboy that has some past issues mucking up his relationship forming abilities, this keeps the romance part of the story quite turbulent and emotionally gripping while they navigate all the ups and downs that stems from their issues. All though they do have the help of wonderful, close-knit family members throughout the story which adds to the depth of the story. The story is steady paced and flows smoothly from beginning to end with thrilling suspense as Audrey and Caleb try to not only save some horses but discover just who would want to hurt them. Dangerous and deadly events adds excitement and gets the readers pulses pounding while some surprising twists keeps everyone on their toes. The emotional issues that faces the characters are gripping and ‘real’ which really makes it easy for readers to not only connect with the characters but also makes it easy for them to picture the story as it takes place.
Betababe More than 1 year ago
Horses Rule I just jumped in with book three in the series and, having been introduced to the family members, can see that each couple would have had its own story. But any pertinent information is included within this tale which stands well alone. Separation anxiety and abandonment issues loom large for a number of the characters whose childhoods were less than stellar, and those backgrounds now inform the actions of the adults. A solid (equine) murder mystery lies at the center of the action and the novel moves forward rapidly keeping dual focus on the building romance as well as the investigation progress.
anneinaz More than 1 year ago
My Favorite Cowboy by Donna Grant is a mystery/romance that revolves around Caleb and Audrey. Audrey is an equine vet and Caleb is a veteran, running a ranch with his brother. His goal is to sell the best-trained horses around. The issue becomes apparent when all of a sudden horses are being poisoned, and they are all under the care of Audrey, pointing to her as the poisoner. There is no real reason show would do this to the horses she loved, but there are no clues pointing to anyone else. Additionally, it is a slow acting poison so it is hard to pinpoint when it is taking place. There are all kinds of additional cast members: Caleb's extended family; Audrey's sister, Maddy; stable owners and other vets, all complicating the situation. Was it the stables the criminals were after? Or was it Audrey? To complicate matters, Cab and Audrey hook up one night, but both are convinced that they are unable to connect with another person, so that is an intriguing part of the story to be explored. This is a good story: more than a romance; more than a mystery. The characters are multi-dimensional and there are more than enough subplots to involve everyone in a tale that emulates real life: complicated and messy. The poisoner is found; many, if not all, of the problems are solved. It is an enjoyable journey. One I recommend you take. I received a free ARC of My Favorite Cowboy in exchange for a fair and honest review. @netgalley #myfavoritecowboy
PRH_TX More than 1 year ago
This book was a little piece of home for me. I absolutely loved Audrey and Caleb. Donna Grant writes strong, smart, and independent female heroines who like most of us are a little broken because of their past history. Audrey is a sought after Equine Vet. Unfortunately when you're the best, there is always going to be someone who wants to bring you down. Only her enemy doesn't just want to bring her down, she wants to destroy Audrey's reputation as a vet. Caleb watch his mother walk out the door when he was just 6 years old. This led him to believe that he just wasn't lovable in the long term. So he has always been the one to leave first. Incredible read and will give you just a little piece of Texas and Cowboys to love. This is part of a series, so I would recommend reading the first 2 books first, so you are familiar with all the characters. The first 2 in the series are also incredible, so you won't be disappointed.
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
The Heart of Texas family saga continues with the story of Caleb Harper and Audrey Martinez, and their way of finding peace with their past, learning to trust and love without reservations and daring to take that leap of love into the unknown. Both Caleb and Audrey have serious abandonment issues with their parents. Audrey's dad took off after their mother died, just couldn't handle the sorrow of losing his soulmate. Caleb's mom left the kids at the crucial time of their childhood. These parental issues are made to be the reason to the back and forth going between Caleb and Audrey, a game that went on a bit too long to my liking. Also, when the solution finally came, it was too easy after all the torment Caleb and Audrey (and the readers) went through. They did have a chemistry between them, the attraction is obvious, and there was no doubt in my mind that they were into each other, that connection was palpable. I enjoyed the secondary characters, the families and friends contribute greatly into the tale and even give more depth to the hero and heroine, showing them with new eyes. Each of them has clear characteristics, making them very likable and an important part of the story. The suspense was my favorite part of the tale. It is fierce and intense, and as the culprits get their point of view in the tale as well, the anticipating tension rises to new elevations. ~ Three Spoons
Alwaysahappyeverafter More than 1 year ago
Where has Donna Grant and her Heart of Texas Series been all my life! I definitely have to go back and read the 2 previous stories in the series! Audrey is an equine vet, one of the best in the county, when the horses of her father's friend become ill she doesn't hesitate to come and help out, but is the horses in danger or Audrey?
RobinLovesReading More than 1 year ago
Audrey Martinez is a veterinarian with a lot of work ahead of her. When she hears that more than one horse is sick Audrey is devastated. She cannot bear to see a horse suffering. It almost breaks her and she makes it her aim to discover the cause. The sick horses are part of a ranch that Caleb Harper and his family own. Sadly, more than one horse falls ill, so Caleb and Audrey work together to discover what is going on. Caleb is certainly not new to the adversity facing him at the ranch. When he was a young boy his mother abandoned him and his brother Brice and sister Abby. He had a very good upbringing despite this, but is still very much affected by the abandonment he experienced. It has been several years, and Caleb even spent time in the Army and now is a rodeo star as well as a rancher. Audrey hardly has time to help Caleb. She works for two ranches and they are quite strict about any moonlighting. However, she feels compelled to help, even when it becomes more than dangerous for her to do so. During the years that have passed, Caleb's sister Abby married the owner of the East Ranch, Clayton East. More recently, his brother Brice married. Abby was instrumental in his life while growing up, and is no less important to Caleb now. As a matter of fact, despite all three of them being so adversely affected by what his mother did, Caleb seems to be hit the hardest. This affects what is happening with him and Audrey. He cannot help but being drawn to her, but he is really carrying a lot of baggage. It was so touching to see their relationship bloom while his trust grew. Audrey is rather a unique individual. She enjoyed men, but never knew how to open her heart. Her time with Caleb changes that. A real opportunity for growth is open to the both of them. My Favorite Cowboy is the third book in the Heart of Texas series, and is actually my favorite of the three. While each story can serve well as a standalone, the series is truly compelling and would do well to be read in order. The history of Caleb and his siblings is touched on in this story, but their deepest trauma is explored across all three books. The previous two books were The Christmas Cowboy Hero and Cowboy, Cross my Heart. I have enjoyed my time spent reading these books and am looking forward to continuing with this series. The following book is A Cowboy Like You, slated for release in August. Many thanks to St. Martin's Press and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
KDRBCK More than 1 year ago
My Favorite Cowboy by Donna Grant is book three in her Heart of Texas series. My Favorite Cowboy can easily be read as a standalone. For better understanding I recommend to read the books in order. The previous books are The Christmas Cowboy Her and Cowboy, Cross My Heart. My Favorite Cowboy tells the story of Audrey and Caleb. Audrey Martinez is the lokal veterinarian. Her job is her calling and when horses get hurt and sick she hurts with them. The owner of a auction house calls her for help and bam she's involved in a nasty war. And there's Caleb. He doesn't do relationships and has abandonement issues. He meets Aubrey and they have this crazy insta- connection. Favorite Quote: " Always follw your heart. " My Favorite Cowboy is a beautiuful story, excellent written, beautifully thought out and beautifully told. I loved the story and the characters and give 4,5 stars.
MLH438 More than 1 year ago
What happens when two commitment-phobes meet and find themselves deeply attracted to each other? In My Favorite Cowboy, the third book in Donna Grant's Heart of Texas series, Audrey Martinez and Caleb Harper meet when they work together to discover who is poisoning the horses at a friend's auction house. Romance and suspense abound as they work together to find the culprit. Audrey is a very-well regarded equine vet whose father left her and her sister to fend for themselves after their mother died. Caleb is former military and a rancher whose mother abandoned him and his siblings. They both have a love 'em and leave 'em attitude about relationships and, when their smoldering attraction finally ignites, are afraid to trust what they have found with each other. Grant's well-written story and character development kept my interest and, while I haven't read the first two books in the series, this reads well on its own. I believe Audrey's sister, Maddy, needs her own story.! I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Pokeybooboo More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of Donna Grant's paranormal romances, but I believe this may be the first contemporary romance I've read of hers. This one was definitely a good one with which to start. Mix together a very intelligent heroine, a hot protective cowboy, suspense and steamy loving, and you have the perfect recipe for an exciting romance! Audrey was an excellent equine veterinarian who was in great demand. Her friend David's horses were dying, and she was doing everything she could do to save them, while also working two jobs and helping with rescues. Caleb's family was also friends with David, and they were fixing his security cameras to see if someone was deliberately making the horses sick. When it appeared that Audrey was in danger, our protective cowboy was there to help. Sparks flew (both literally and figuratively). The chemistry between the leads was very steamy; it was also rather complicated. Audrey's parents were deeply in love and when her mother died, her father was devastated and took off. Caleb's mother just walked out on her children, leaving his sister to raise her two young brothers. Caleb has never forgiven his mother for abandoning them. These circumstances led to both Audrey and Caleb always leaving a relationship before things could get serious. Could things be different for the two of them together? Besides our two leads, Audrey's sister and Caleb's siblings were great examples of familial love. I must go back and read the previous books in this series; I'll be thrilled if they are as good as this one! I received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley. I received no compensation for my review, and all thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.
carol223CS More than 1 year ago
Donna Grant’s My Favorite Cowboy Take veterinarian, Audrey Martinez who is hard working, not looking for men in her life add cowboy, Caleb Harper who distrusts woman plus an unknown person who is making the horses sick and the combination explodes into a suspenseful adventure. The story has twists and turns with intense, spicy romance, captivating writing and a riveting storyline. The main characters are vivid, colorful, well defined with instant undeniable chemistry between them. The supporting characters are interesting and intriguing. I volunteered to read My Favorite Cowboy. Thanks to NetGalley and St Martin’s Press
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
My Favorite Cowboy by Donna Grant Heart of Texas #3 I remember starting this series with Abby down on her luck and falling in clover with Clayton. The best thing that ever happened to the Harpers just may have been Clayton East. In the second book Brice meet and fell for Naomi and in this book Caleb – the brother who planned never to marry – meets his match in veterinarian Audrey Martinez. I have a feeling that this series could continue as there is Maddy (Audrey’s sister) still without someone to love and two good friends of the Harpers and Easts that need to find someone – Cooper and Jace. And, is the sheriff married? If not, Danny might need a partner, too. Anyway, this book starts with sick horses at an auction house and the vet called in just happens to be Audrey. She does her best to save the horses...with mixed results. Security for the auction house is provided by Caleb, Brice and Clayton with Jace and Cooper there, too. So, animals are being harmed, someone is trying to set Audrey up to take a professional fall and there are some very bad things happening in the neighborhood...including murder. In the midst of this Caleb and Audrey manage to find one another, pursue the attraction then have falling out times that have to be corrected before a HEA can be achieved. There are also issues from their pasts that impact their ability to trust that also must be overcome. I still want to find out about Maddy, Jace, Cooper and Danny but at least there was some closure toward the end of the book on some of the family issues and that helped more than one character in the book. Who was the bad guy out to get Audrey? You will have to read the book to find out. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4 Stars
BookAddictLive More than 1 year ago
This the first contemporary I’ve read of Donna Grant, as I’m great fan of the Dragon Kings. So I love Cowboys and I thought I can’t lose. Well I did not lose, I definitely won, I loved it. I have to say this is more a Romance with a heavy dose of suspense. Someone’s been poisoning the Horses at the Auction house. So David the owner calls in his equine vet, and Audrey the vet is trying to find out what the poison is. David asks for help from another Ranch and along comes to help, and the single hunky Cowboy takes a fierce fancy to the best Equine Vet in the area. That sets the scene, and when things heat up it’s not just the situation. Caleb never thought he would fall in love, that is until he met Audrey. Caleb is the youngest of three siblings, and the first two books in the series feature his siblings. This has all, I love it and now I want to read the others in the series. This can be read as a complete standalone. I just nosy and what to know whats the story of the other characters from other books. I always been nosey, it’s something that came about honestly.
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Audrey Martinez is a talented and well respected equine veterinarian. She loves her work. When an old friend says that several of his horses are sick, she goes to help. After seeing them she knows someone is hurting the animals, but she’s not sure what is causing the illness. Who would do this? Caleb sees what’s going on and he and his family want to help. He’s sure this isn’t over. His fears are confirmed when there is another attempt to hurt the horses. Who’s behind this? Caleb Harper feels the enemy wants to harm Audrey. He’s determined to protect this feisty female. I liked Audrey. She’s a strong woman who’s afraid to commit to a man. I hated to see how she kept her pain and fears to herself. Caleb is successful, but he won’t let himself give his love to any woman. He says he will never marry. I found their romance intriguing. Here are two people who are hurting from past trauma. I empathized with their pain. I was sorry that they still suffered. I wished that they could trust each other to confide what they feel. My Favorite Cowboy is suspenseful with twists that I didn’t expect. I cared for these two characters. Their dialogue is sharp and realistic. The setting helps move the story along. Donna Grant kept me on the edge of my seat. The mystery is well written. I was surprised by the ending. I wonder what’s next in the Heart of Texas series. I received a copy of this book which I voluntarily read and reviewed. My comments are my honest opinion.
annie2015 More than 1 year ago
Audrey Martinez is considered the best equine veterinarian on her county. She is loved by everyone.....except the person who is trying to destroy her livelihood, her reputation, and possibly, her very life. Every since his mom walked out when he was a child, Caleb Harper has kept women at arms length - good for bedding but not much else. Until he steps in to help Audrey figure out who's causing her trouble. Watching after her has brought them close together and he finds himself seriously liking her. Will he be able to hold onto his long-held beliefs while still trying to keep Audrey safe? Or will Audrey be able to break through his defenses....especially when she has some defensive walls herself. It'll take all their efforts, combined with their friends and families, to get to the bottom of this mystery and put an end to the danger surrounding Audrey. Kudos to Ms. Grant for a great book that had interesting characters, danger, heat, and smexy-times. I definitely kept me entertained from the first page to the last (even when I wanted to knock some sense into the heads of a couple of those characters). I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. My thoughts and opinions are my own and without bias.
BeckyRendon More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars My Favorite Cowboy is more than meets the eye. This romantic suspense novel was definitely more than I originally thought. They say you can't judge a book by its cover and this book is proof. I thought I was going to read a fluffy romance but My Favorite Cowboy was better than that. Former military, this cowboy has more than a worn pair of jeans on his side. But what a backside! Two lost souls not even knowing what they were missing. Tragedy brings them together, only to have their insecurities rip them apart.
Crystal61 More than 1 year ago
From a strong sense of family that helped heal broken pasts through danger, jealousy, to a very emotional ending, I loved this story, and it kept me turning pages. Audrey was focused, smart, and independent. Caleb was kind, protective, and wised up to the fact that he was not alone when dealing with his past. Together, Audrey and Caleb felt right and found a sense of belonging. I highly recommend this story. I received an ARC through Netgalley, and this is my unsolicited review.
Kristy_K More than 1 year ago
I think I can officially say modern day cowboy romances are not for me. This is my third (?) one and I've generally had the same feeling as with all of the others: a lot of eye-rolling over the insta-love and wishing for something more. I found the mystery surrounding this one intriguing and I was genuinely interested in finding out who was harming the horses. But. The randomly inserted POV of the hired criminal to commit those acts missed the mark in my opinion. He was more of a caricature of a villain than an actual bad guy. There was also weird transitions at times between POVs. One paragraph it was one character and the next it was another, sometimes of someone who wasn’t even in the same area as the previous character. (There was no page break or new chapter, just end sentence, next line, indented first sentence.) It caused confusion. I read an advanced copy so I can only hope this gets fixed in order to save other readers from this. Lastly, while I like Audrey and Caleb as characters, two to three days is not enough time to decide you are willing to completely change your lifestyle and ideals (from not ever wanting to be married to all of the sudden being at ease with the thought of it). If this story could have been spread over months or even weeks I would have found this more believable. I just have a very hard time with insta-love and it normally has an adverse effect on me and I spend my time thinking of the implausibility of it all instead of focusing on the story.
JennieF More than 1 year ago
ARC for honest review with no compensation received from NetGalley My Favorite Cowboy is book 3 in the Heart of Texas series by Donna Grant and a great addition to this series. Audrey Martinez, equine veterinarian is well known, sought after and donates her spare time to help her friend with rescued horses. While helping the rescue she runs across some very sick horses and during her checks it looks like some foul play is happening maybe involved drugs to destroy them. She and her friend enlist the help of Caleb, his brother and his brother in law who being military and ways to search for answers. When Caleb and Audrey meet the sparks fly but both have really high walls built and neither is willing to let them fall...what happens next will keep you on the edge of your seat, to find answers, open up their hearts and maybe find that they truly do belong together....
tiggeruoSO More than 1 year ago
So I I don't know where to start with this book. The two main characters are running from themselves, from feelings and from commitment and anything revolving a relationship. The author packed so much emotion, and chemistry into this book is was jumping off the pages. The story really gets to the heart of matter, while it also has you on the edge of you seat wondering what is going to happen next, from one page to the next. I really enjoyed the importance of "family" in this book and how sometimes family is what you make of it. I so so am hoping that Maddy's story is coming, her free spirit really shined in this story even though her part was small. This book was so good and I really can't wait to read more from this author. There is some adult language and situations in this book so it may not be suitable for all readers. Over all this book is so worth the read.