My FBI: Bringing Down the Mafia, Investigating Bill Clinton, and Fighting the War on Terror

My FBI: Bringing Down the Mafia, Investigating Bill Clinton, and Fighting the War on Terror

by Louis J. Freeh

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My FBI: Bringing Down the Mafia, Investigating Bill Clinton and Fighting the War on Terror 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If we, as Americans, can't give at least a little credence to our FBI directors, then who can we believe?
LCDavis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A little self-serving in my opinion.
Helm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My FBI is a very well-written work that presents the viewpoint of former FBI Director Louis Freeh as witness to some of the most compelling events in recent American history. The several terrorist attacks on American targets throughout the 1990's are presented as indicators of a larger conflict that became commonly understood only after Freeh's tenure ended. Candid views of the various investigations of President Clinton also provide details that help complete the picture when added to other accounts. Freeh is very candid with his shortcomings, and those of the FBI under his leadership. One example is the primitive state of FBI computer information systems, which made information sharing and aggregation from separate FBI offices nearly impossible. This was also noted in Never Again, written by former Attorney General John Ashcroft. Ashcroft cites My FBI as a source on more than one issue. While it is possible, and even understandable, to label the work as self-serving, it is a soundly-constructed narrative that flows well and spends just the right amount of time on each subject.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too bad this eel of a man turned into "Truth-Freeh Louie" later in his career. Good number of typos are annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
joeUT More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I generally like books of this matter. The problem I had was the typos. They are so bad for a book it's distracting. Also, the story is a little boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone with an interest in History, Politics, or Law Enforcement must read this one. Well written!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the book, it provided great insight into the workings of our judicial systems and the FBI. Definitly would recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Freeh tells it like it is and pulls no punches! A recommended read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is filled with fascinating insights into the work and life of one of the world's most powerful people. Those who think this book is just about Bill Clinton will need to dig much deeper in order to understand its full range. Director Freeh is not only a Catholic altar boy by upbringing (as is often mentioned), but continues on as an adult to be a moral and incorruptible man. A devoted husband and the father of 6 boys, the ex-Director is a man of integrity and honesty awash in a sea of politics--it's no wonder he did not get along with then-President, Bill Clinton. Whether you liked or disliked the President, Mr. Clinton was a consummate politician, and Mr. Freeh is anything but: He's a man who was able to distinguish the black and white in the grey-on-grey world of politics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I bought it thinking I would set in for a nice enjoyable read on how bad Bill Clinton was. I was wrong. The book is devoted to the 8 years Freeh was in charge of the FBI. One chapter is devoted to his relationship with Clinton, but the rest is devoted to other things. I would recommend this to anyone interested in how the FBI really works (not how Hollywood thinks it does).
Guest More than 1 year ago
a truly great read, one of the major players of a fascinating era tells his own story. The mob, terrorism and the corruption and depravity of bill clinton are all summed up with flair and honesty.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just finished this book and unfortunately for us Democrats, we refuse to believe that Bill Clinton is simply an immoral person. He isn't the first president with that albatross and won't be the last. Freeh is universally acknowledged here in D.C. as a straight shooter. If you want to see politics as it really is, read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I find it very disheartening that another book bashing the former president has come out and the American people will soak it up. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone, although the Republicans will love it and make this person rich. I find that disgraceful.