Needles and Pearls (Jo Mackenzie Series #2)

Needles and Pearls (Jo Mackenzie Series #2)

by Gil McNeil

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Needles and Pearls 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
snflwr More than 1 year ago
It rained this weekend. Perfect weather for a sit it at home with a new book. This was definitely a perfect choice!!! I have been waiting for this second book patiently and it was worth the wait. Easy, and totally lovely!! A MUST read for those who love knitting and stories about LIFE!! Thank you Miss McNeil>Can't wait for your next one....... :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked that it continues where the 1st one left off. Enjoyable afternoon of reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved all three of her Jo Mackenzie Series. Light, fun read - good for commuter reading, although people do sort of look at you funny when you keep smiling or even laugh out loud, as I must admit I did on several occasions.
hookedonnookBM More than 1 year ago
I did not know what to expect from this book but I was immediately hooked by the characters and story. As soon as I finished the first book, I bought the second. I wish there was a third. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story with great characters whose stories continue from the Beach Street book. It's a lovely read. Hope there is a 3rd helping in our near future.
EmberA More than 1 year ago
I loved it. A good read, it kept my interest and I enjoyed the characters.
SeahorseKM More than 1 year ago
This is not just another crazy woman knitting book. I really like the intricate characters and the detailed relationships are really interesting.
tuff-luff More than 1 year ago
This is the second in a series of books about a newly single mum, her children and family and running a business in small town Great Britain. Love the picture she spreads about family life there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent story by Gil McNeil. It is amazing to me that a story about everyday life can be so appealing . I love all the characters- they are really well done. My favorite thing is the dry sense of humor of the main character - usually things she thinks - not what she says aloud. She will leave you with a smile on your face.
2chances on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Needles and Pearls" continues the saga of Jo Mackenzie, widowed mother of two and proprietress of the finest seaside knit shop in England. All the characters from her previous novel "The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club" are again on the screen, with some changes; Ellen is now married, Martin is becoming less weird every day, Trevor the Wonder Dog is camping out in Jo's kitchen. But the big news is that Jo is...uh-oh. Seems a fling has left her with a bun in the oven.Once again, McNeil has given us a novel without great insights to impart, but with her signature sweet/sharp dialogue. "Needles and Pearls" doesn't waste time with lyrical descriptions; it's all about the characters and the characters are talking all the time. Jo's boys Jack and Archie are such true to life little guys - they have that salty sweetness (with a bit of grittiness) that makes little boys so endearing. I liked that in this novel, Certain People (not saying who!) finally get told where to get off (or, as Jo puts it, "I finally got to tell ??? to 'piss off' without using the words 'piss off!'") If you're anything like me, you'll find that McNeil's characters become quite real to you - they display that nutty, complicated, gloriously mixed-up quality that real friends have - they drive you crazy, but when you need them, they are there ranging themselves staunchly at your back.
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was so glad to go back to Jo's world and see how she's coping a year out from her husband's death. She has such a warm and funny personality and she is so patient with her kids, even though they drive her batty at times. I liked that Jo was able to recognize what she really wants and be o.k. with it, even though she has people telling her she should want other things. As women we often buy into all the messages out there - "you should have a fabulous career", "you shouldn't waste yourself on that", etc. I like that Jo doesn't listen to those voices.
mchwest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have just finished this book and get to read and early review the next in the series, KNIT ONE PEARL TWO, and this book was even a better read then the first. Really you will enjoy these books even if you are a beginner(forever) knitter like I am. Jo and her family are fun and yet she goes into the trials and tribulations of any family unit trying to stay together in tough times. I would like to make more comment on the end of the book, it was so touching but would give too much of it away. Please read it and enjoy!
ForSix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked up Needles and Pearls on my hunt for a novel with a gem in the title as part of the ¿What¿s in a Name¿ challenge. (A pearl is a gem, yes?) And as a beginning knitter, I thought I would enjoy this.The novel begins one year after the death of Jo¿s cheating husband. When I first picked this up, I didn¿t know it was the second novel in Gil McNeil¿s Jo Mackenzie series. Being the second in the series, Ms. McNeil did a great job developing Needles and Pearls without leaving me feeling I was missing something. The story continues over the next few months of Jo¿s life with many twists and surprises around each corner. What sets Jo apart is how she deals with these surprises.Jo is quite the heroine. She is funny, charming, strong, but above all, she is full of grace. And if that¿s not enough, she is so authentic, I fully expect to visit her shop and have tea with her on a future trip to England. I think it¿s a challenge to write a character that is so real in spite of everything that has happened to her and that is exactly what Ms. McNeil has done. Needles and Pearls is laugh out loud funny at times. It reads like a TV comedy about a shopkeeper in a small town coastal with quite a cast of zany characters. Some of those characters are quite famous, some are ¿common¿ folk, and there is even an authentic Lady thrown in for good measure. She has an overbearing mother, a loving grandmother, two spunky young sons, Britain¿s most loved journalist as a best friend, a famous actress as a client, the boy next door as a love interest, and a crazy large dog named Trevor who wants to adopt her. Whew! Don¿t even get me started on the shop ladies. I enjoyed the friendship among the ladies, but more than anything I adored the promise of a romance between Martin (the boy next door) and Jo. I am pleased the author didn¿t rush through their courtship. It was a refreshing change to see Jo think about what is best for her family instead of her own interests. It was also refreshing to see Martin give Jo the space and friend support she needed. He was a gentleman and I loved that about him. Needles and Pearls didn¿t temp me to pick up The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club to find out where it all began but I am looking forward to reading the third novel in this series Knit One, Pearl One. Above all, I loved the sense of friendship embraced by the women involved. The ¿Stitch and Bitch¿ group was more than a casual place to go once a week. It was a place where the woman came together to gather comfort and strength from each other as well as knitting tips. The novel, like The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs, is a testament to friendship tightly woven with one knit and one purl at a time.
bwhitson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've ordered the first book because I enjoyed this one so much. The sometimes hectic life of a single mother in a small English village. Two active and sometimes demanding, opinionated boys. An unexpected pregnancy, the various people Jo interacts with in her role as mother, friend, granddaughter and shop owner. Looking forward to reading the first book even though I'm doing this in reverse order.
lexxa83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good read. Interesting use of "British-isms" that make this a departure from my usual literary fare. Not the best book out there, what with the somewhat unrealistic plot, but interesting. Kept my attention although it began to drag about 3/4 of the way through. Three stars.
tahoegirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story and couldn't put it down.
JoMacall More than 1 year ago
All of Gil McNeil's books are great. The characters are warm and funny especially the kids. I reread all her books several times so you know they are winners.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarMI More than 1 year ago
Love series paperbacks. Fun easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago