No Less Than Victory: A Novel of World War II

No Less Than Victory: A Novel of World War II

by Jeff Shaara

Paperback

$16.69 $18.00 Save 7% Current price is $16.69, Original price is $18. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

No Less Than Victory 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 189 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some plot lines or story threads are left incomplete. Balanced view of each side of the war, and discussed from the senior strategists as well as the GI's in the foxholes. Would have been interesting and even more balanced to have had the same foxhole-level story on the German side.
jfk1942 More than 1 year ago
As usual like his father Jeff does a great job of bringing history to life.I liked the characters, especially Benson. & Higgins. I can't wait till next year when he starts the new series on the Pacific.
RevArt More than 1 year ago
I have found this to be the perfect conclusion to the WWII trilogy. Shaara continues to use his unique style to move the plot forward. I found the depiction of the characters engaging. He has the ability to put you into the narrative, feel the cold, smell the gunpowder, and grieve the carnage of war. The narrative moves along at a brisk pace. This is a classic in hisorical fiction. Highly recommended to all who are interested in WWII.
Varonius More than 1 year ago
Both Michael and Jeff Shaara's books fill that unique niche in the book world. Both write historical fiction that is based upon actual events but is not the same old "histories" that offer only the details of the events. Their books let the reader "feel" the events that transpired and help the reader understand what it meant for these men and women to "live" through the history that was taking place. I highly recommend their books as a supplement to the true histories for a better understanding of these events of history. I have read all their books and will continue to read all their future offerings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best, most well-researched fictional accounts of WW2 I've ever read. Jeff Shaara nails it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We are huge Jeff Shaara fans, and my husband loved this book. My dad is a WWII vet (although of the South Pacific, in the Navy), and we went to a book-signing event at our local Barnes & Noble and had Mr. Shaara inscribe a personal message. Dad read it before New Year's! Jeff Shaara picked up where his dad left off in his focusing on small details of real wars and fleshing out real people using imagined encounters with fictional ones. I feel he's easily as talented as his father was. Highly recommended.
THEBRIT More than 1 year ago
Another superb offering from Jeff Shaara! His father's "Killer Angels" first got me hooked and I always wondered at the seemingly "seamless" transition when Jeff took up the task of completing the Civil War trilogy. Father and son were so obviously on the same wavelength. I have never found history to be a "dry" subject but it appears often to be thought so, particularly by the younger generation, but Michael and Jeff Shaara's books should be required reading in history classes at school. Often taught as a boring list of events and dates, history is ultimately about the people and that is where the Shaaras excel.........they take you inside the particpants and allow you to watch the events, as they happen, through their eyes. Close your eyes and you can smell the blood, sweat and powdersmoke and feel the tears. No Less Than Victory gives an extraordinary insight into what it was like to BE THERE, in the Ardennes and the Battle of the Bulge in that cold and miserable winer of 1944/45. Other, non-fiction, histories will give more detail, but NLTV allows one to experience those happenings on the personal level from the "poor bloody infantry" who froze in the snow and mud to the "brass" at Ike's SHAEF HQ. Make sure you read it in the warm - you'll still feel cold, wet and miserable at times! And if this your first Shaara, then read the others....travel back in time to D Day, Gettysburg, Bunker Hill and a hundred other momentous events and make personal acquaintances of the fascinating cast of characters who shaped history. Yes, this IS the way history should be taught!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is written as a insider look into the greatest generations war. However due to the massive size of the war itself the book feels rushed at points. I also wonder why the author did not put any Russian soldiers in the novel. But still a four star novel
creighley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
G reat format which shows the feelings of both sides during the conflict. The Battle in the Ardennes is included.
lamour on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shaara uses the historical fiction method to tell the story of Allied victory in Europe from the start of the Battle of the Bulge to the end of the War. He has us see the the events through the eyes and minds of the soldiers and the commanders from both sides of the lines. I know from my reading in this area that he is very accurate in his interpretation of these events.
chrisod on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
No Less Than Victory is the 3rd and final book of the WWII in Europe trilogy. I don¿t need to do a long winded review on this one. If you¿ve read any other Shaara books you know what you are getting. It¿s a meticulously researched historical novel with realistic and very believable details added to fill in the gaps that we will never really know.
sundance41 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book, satisfying conclusion to the WWII series. The book, as all his others, explores war through the eyes of both major historical figures as well as the typical soldiers. I really enjoy Shaara's books and this one was no exception. I look forward to the next series in his collection. What war will be next.
terbby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the third in the author's series of novels based on historical figures in World War II. The history is compelling but the author seems uncertain whether he is writing a novel or an historical account. The book doesn't really work as either. It's a good read because of the dramatic events but the fictionalized narratives all sound the same; a conversation involving General Eisenhower is indistinguishable from one involving Private Benson judging from the invented dialogue. Patton sounds different but his profanity is toned down so even he doesn't sound real. Hitler says some foolish things but his style of speaking is the same as the rest. All that said, I did enjoy the book and read it from cover to cover because it does take us inside the major decisions and events of the war and shows us the famous generals on both sides.
oldman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This the third of Jeff Shaara's triology of WWII. Taking up at the Battle of the Bulge and following through to the drive to the Elbe several personalities are followed Eisenhower, Patton, Bradley, Montgonmery, and infantrymen Benson, Higgins and Mitchell. The Battle of the Bulge segments were primarily concerned with the onset, retreat and the victory of the Battle of the Bulge. Most of action is from the infantryman's viewpoint. Later segments describe the command response at the higher levels. Patton's drive to Bastogne and beyond begins to involve more of the higher echelons of command than the infantryman's experience. The final segments describe the political machinations surrounding the end of the war and which army gets which part of the German nation. The best part, as always, are the thumbnail biographies of the characters at the end.This novel covered a different part of the war than the first two. I found this novel to be less enticing than the others, possibly because the format was the same and maybe redundant to some extent or that much of the novel covered the higher command levels and not with those I was most interested in knowing. The command decisions are all well-known, but the actions of the individual soldier, his fear and his courage, have always been my greatest interest and this novel doesn't deliver that as well as the previous ones. Nonetheless this was an interesting read and worthy of 4.5 stars.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I usually like Jeff Shaara novels, but this may be the weakest of all of his books that I've read. This is the 3rd of his World War 2 novels, and in theory covers the time period from November 1944 to May 1945. The area is strictly limited to France and Germany. To me this is the book's biggest flaw. World War 2 is too complex for a book of this limited scope. In theory, by following Eisenhower as he does, we could get an overall picture of the war in Europe, but that is not the case. There are good things in this book. The story of an infantryman and what he goes through is enlightening and informative. The perspectives of the Germans are also interesting. The parts that focus on the end of the war in Germany and what the allies discovered there, while not new information, are presented in different way. Overall, while I found this somewhat interesting, I really didn't learn much I didn't already know, and there weren't enough new perspectives to make a difference. Not enough information or revelations for people who are familiar with the history of World War 2.
ZoharLaor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this book was the best of the series.In his usual style of "historical fiction" Mr. Shaara takes us through the European theatre in WWII as seen through the eyes of its generals, politicians and, the parts I found most interesting, the soldiers themselves.This is solid storytelling, primarily focusing on the Battle of the Bulge, as seen through the eyes of the grunts, and as managed by the generals on both sides of the fence. Unlike the authors other books, this book has less characters (or so it seemed at least) which I find to be more appealing and less confusing. Even though it's always fun to read about the clashes between Montgomery and Patton the story focuses on Private Eddie Benson and his experiences at "mud level".The reader's journey through the eyes of Benson, while peeking in the minds of the generals is a winning combination which makes the story more personal and engrossing.Even though I have heard many people who condemn the oxymoron called "historical fiction" it has worked for me personally. Because of Mr. Shaara's Civil War books I read many other historical books and biographies of the characters I was interested in - so as you can see, I think that writing about history on a grounded, personal level has many benefits especially for those who don't' find history as fascinating as I do.My only comment is that I think it would be wonderful if Mr. Shaara could provide some pictures of the personalities involved so we can see what they look truly look like (instead, for example, picture George C. Scott as General Patton or Ike as the President).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Done
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WMB More than 1 year ago
Last in the series. Great book. Great series.