One Summer: America, 1927

One Summer: America, 1927

by Bill Bryson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Summer: America, 1927 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The way he writes...come over here and look at this. And look, just behind it, and over your shoulder...Look at this! It's like flying through history, occasionally settling for a study, then taking off again. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent book -- very well written -- hits the sweet spot of history writing lying between highly scholarly works focusing on the minutia and high level works approaching bordering on the superficial.  A very enjoyable read and highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful book! Bryson does an amazing job of making a tiny span of time come alive with such real people, places, and events that it will fill you up! He provides a wealth of backstory that is then masterfully woven into the theme of "just one summer", making a tapestry that is colorful, engrossing, and a memorable read. I believe this book would appeal to readers of all ages...the people who were living at that time, those of us who enjoy reading about an earlier time in our country, and anyone, of any age, who just wants an enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who would think so much history was jam packed in less than a year? Author Bryson makes the spring and summer of 1927 come alive with the history making events and bigger than life celebrities of that era. He provides enough background so that even a newcomer to history understands the issues and people involved, and he lets us know what became of these headline makers long after 1927 was gone. He tells us about historic figures who are not forgotten (Lindbergh, Babe Ruth, Sacco & Venzetti) and those who are (The Pig Lady). A mirror into a long gone age, recommended reading for all ages.
Lace1cat More than 1 year ago
In spite of Brinkley's damning review, I found this book delightful! Kudos to Bill Bryson. I treasure every word Bryson has ever written. He could describe the process of paint drying and I would be totally cracked up! Good on you, Bryson!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bill Bryson has to be the best writer alive! Every book he's written capitvates, entertains and educates. His wisdom and humor are so well blended, I am thankful he became a writer! This is one fantastic read!
wilVD More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed Bill Bryson's books. This was particularly interesting because it covered a time in history that I had little knowleged about. So much lead up to the Great Depression and to WWII.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again, Bill Bryson writes a truly excellent book. I am presently on my second 'go round' in order to help get the facts and stories imbedded into my memory bank. The History of the book is rich, extremely well written, and leaves me with an understanding of much, much more than one important summer from long ago. I feel that I have taken a trek through the first four decades of the 20th Century and it has been a personal and enriching experience. Simply put; "Very well done!"
ringoDR More than 1 year ago
I'm 73, so I wasn't born in 1927, but I'd had a sense of some the things that had gone on that year from my parents, but certainly not all, and not nearly in the depth presented by Bryson. The history of early aviation and of the era when baseball was truly the national pastime were the portions that made the biggest impression on me. I guess I'd also have to add to that the devastation caused by the great Mississippi flood and the other severe weather events of that summer. I spent most of my life in the Midwest and had never heard of that awful time. I don't consider myself a history buff, and part of my motivation for reading this book was having read a number of other Bryson books. Was it my favorite? Well, not really, as I like something with a story line, but that's just personal taste. I like page-turners, and this one only gently brought me back to the book, rather than an eagerness to see what happens on the next page of a good mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a nonfiction book, this was hard to put down. The insight into the characters making the headlines in 1927 were very interesting.
Jesse_Colorado More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read in years! Bryson knows how to bring history to life and put you there. I can't wait for "1928" to come out.
Spence45 More than 1 year ago
Bryson's title is a little deceptive. He claims to write about a single year, and he does include big moments from 1927, but it is simply an excuse to paint an entire historical era. Half of every chapter is background to a big "moment" like Ruth's homerun barrage, the great Mississippi flood, or Lindbergh's flight to Paris. Bryson's style is rather breathless, and he seems to take real pleasure in cynical attacks on Presidents Coolidge, Harding and Hoover (though they are admittedly easy targets.) He is not so much an historian as an entertainer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bill Bryson does it again, skillfully interwining people and events of 1927. Filled with trivia, fascinating descriptions and sharp analysis, this book will appeal to everyone from sports fans to political junkies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding look back at 1927. Bryson's attention to detail is remarkable.
RAM13 More than 1 year ago
Husband and I are fans of Bill Bryson books. This definitely shows lots of dark sides of American history. Learned a lot in an entertaining way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winner by my favorite author! Well done Bill!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the book was a great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had previously read "Sunburned Country" and thoroughly enjoyed it, but found this one even more fun. As an aviation enthusiast, I've read many accounts of the Lindbergh flight, so I wasn't expecting much new there. Bryson uses the event as an anchor point around which he describes a multitude of other events that were going on in America that same year featuring characters ranging from Babe Ruth to Sacco and Vanzetti. A must read for anyone even remotely interested in the roaring 20s.
kmmurphy More than 1 year ago
My parents were born in 1927, so I gave the audiobook to my mother. She loved every minute of it. As she is a voracious listener only these days, it is a compliment to Bill Bryson that she liked his narration so much. At nearly 87 she demands to be entertained, so thank you Bill Bryson for writing this wonderful book about such a fascinating part of American history. My husband and I have read Bryson's books with pleasure and laughter over the years , and this book did not disappoint! If all history books could be as accessible and informative, how happy we readers would be. So if you are reading or listening, don't hesitate to start this one-you will be glad you did. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found that for the first 100 pages the book really dragged. Way too much tedious and technical information regarding early aviators and their planes. However, after page 100 or so, the book really picks up steam and does a very good job of transporting you back to 1920's America, not only with the major stories of the time, but also little subtle nuggets about what it was like for a common to live during that time. A very good book once you get passed the first hundred pages.
NewsieQ More than 1 year ago
Bill Bryson focuses his attention on three men who provided much of the news in the summer of 1927: Charles Lindberg, Babe Ruth and Calvin Coolidge. There are other minor players in his tale, but these three take up the bulk of the text. I particularly liked Bryson’s take on Calvin Coolidge. Late last year, I read a biography of Silent Cal in which the author made him seem like the greatest president ever, a candidate for both sainthood and Mount Rushmore. I knew there was more to the story and in his own inimitably sardonic way, Bryson takes him down a peg or two, or more. I have read and enjoyed most of Bill Bryson’s work, but feel that he injects more of himself than is warranted into his books. That was less evident in One Summer. He gives reader a sense of what America was like that summer, and a feel for what Lindberg and The Babe meant to Americans of the era. Knowing that happened later in the decade makes the story even more poignant. Many of his factoids – I don’t know where he comes up with them -- are enlightening.
lisielib 9 months ago
I loved this book. Heavy reading because this is a History book and full of facts. Loved his writing even though it does jump around highlighting events. The Twenties decade was fascinating and Mr. Bryson covers it all and more. Understand this book is not about one summer or one year. It covers the innocence of the twenties with all its heroes and villains. There is a heavy concentration on Charles Lindbergh because he was an idol during that time. The epilogue gave an update on almost everyone mentioned in the book which I particularly enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bryson once again delivers detailed information and observations that you would never find in a history book. The knowledge is delivered with witty observations and juxtapositions of people and events that raise curiosity and humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Bryson fan but this book really did not excite me much. The book covers some of the extraordinary events that occurred in the summer of 1927 in America, of which there are many. My lack of enthusiasm for the book many lies in my total disinterest in sports. Bryson's book covers many of the amazing feats in the world of baseball and boxing. Any sports fan would scold me for being unimpressed with these events but what can I say? I pretty much only follow hockey and the Olympics. Another huge part of the book covers events in aviation. Another subject for which I am not that fascinated by but Bryson did make these events come alive for me. I enjoyed the book, it was well written,as always, and was informative. If you ,ove aviation or sports, this is a Bryson book not to be missed!