Outsider

Outsider

by Richard Wright

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Outsider 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Babydoll1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Richard Wright's 'The Outsider' is a phenomenal novel that draws the reader to the dark side of the life of the main character Cross Damon. This extraordinary character introduces the reader to a man who lives outside the norms, expectations, rules, ...more Richard Wright's 'The Outsider' is a phenomenal novel that draws the reader to the dark side of the life of the main character Cross Damon. This extraordinary character introduces the reader to a man who lives outside the norms, expectations, rules, and laws of society. He embraces no ideological, societal or governmental theories, and he claims no religious prinicipals. Wright allows the reader to imagine the life of an individual who has little emotional regard for his family, who constantly succombs to his desire for women, and whose destructive ideologies decide the fate of his life. This intriguing page turning novel will appeal to the reader from beginning to end. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys classic African-American literature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A good book about a black man who wants to escape his past and began a new future. Who ends up to be a marvelous person.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutly loved this book. It was very easy to read and a book you don'' want to put down. This is the second book of Richard Wright's that I have read and there will soon be a third. I love his writing style
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book to me is one of the best books I have every read. It wasen' t hard to read nor was it hard to keep up with. I recommend this book to anyone who has read one of Richard Wrights other books to read this one also. I love this book because it is real.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book The Outsider is a really great book. I would suggest this book to another reader. I am the type of reader that dosn't enjoy reading books very much, but when I began to read this book I didn't want to put it down. As I was reading I got more and more into it. Overall this is a gread book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book. It was powerfully written and masterfully laid out. I chose to write a paper on this book when I was in high school. I am now several years out of medical school and never since have I encountered such a forcefully written and exquisitely truthful piece of work. If you want to get the inside story about race and class issues in America, read The Outsider. This book was written over 50 years ago but it still rings true to this day. Wright was a man before his time. An outsider himself, with this book he made a circle which drew us all in.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to know about control and what it means read this, Wright's uncannability to see into human existance was unbelieveable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never liked to read, and so when iwas assigned to read a book for my US History class that had to be longer than 300 pages, I flipped out. I found this book in my house and just started to read it...I ended up not being able to put it down.