People of the Lakes

People of the Lakes

by Kathleen O'Neal Gear, W. Michael Gear

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

People of the Lakes 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book deserves a 10 or 20 stars rating it that good. I have had it now for a while but just now writing this review. the book is the longest of all the 'first north americans series' but also the best. The book has to do with a powerful mask of great power that is causing a war becuse everyone is wanting it for them selfs. this book is by all means a EPIC in all since. A lot of people tell in there reviews about books that they did not want there books to end and ill say it again I didn't want it to end its just the best book in the series so go and get your self.
charleyey More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. It is exciting, full of characters you will love or hate, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. And its nice and long. It is also full of interesting information about life in pre Columbian North America.
osunale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the two best in the series, and probably the most beautifully written. While I like most of the books in this series for the story alone I find that I love this one as much for the powerful writing style and notably enchanting passages as for the plot/characters. Long journeys make my heart soar.
224perweek More than 1 year ago
Great over all story. There were a few dull points that felt like they were dragging on. The ending was wonderful and I really liked the character Green Spider.
reececo331 More than 1 year ago
People of the Lakes (North America's Forgotten Past, #6) Gear, W. Michael Gear, Kathleen O'neal    The Mask of Many Colored Crow has been causing problems, although used to balance the world in in history the mask has developed its own identity. It begins to disrupt the world. The focus of power it has become has made men go mad. Mica Bird the last owner has murdered tortured and killed him because of the influence of the mask. Star Shell his wife is afraid; she wants to protect her young daughter Silver Water from the influence of the mask. Power is at play, sending the High Head Magician, Tall Man, and a Dwarf with the mission to destroy the mask. On the other side of the River, down near the swamp lands of the confluence of the Mississippi River, a party is formed to save the mask. Pearl has been traded from her family to the mysterious Koata, finds herself at the whim of power. Otter (Water Fox) a trader from the white shell clan, and his dog Catcher has been asked to take the warrior Black Skull and the contrary Green Spider up the river to the Roaring Waters, where Tall man was told to destroy the mask. What are powers purpose to save the mask or save the dreamer? How will the adventure end, and what havoc has power made of the peaceful people of the lakes and rivers or Middle America. Character list: People of the Lakes   MicaBird: False dreamer uses the corrupted ideals broughtto light by the mask, in attempt trouble the world as he sees it.   Greenspider: a young dreamer has shown a world through theeyes of Many colored crow .A contrary dreamer, says, or does the opposite ofwhat would logically be done.   Otter: Trader, a twin with his brother Four Kills.Requested to accompany Green spider and Black skull on a mission of power.   Catcher: otter's dog, a tri-colored dog who guards the traders packs, and is a spiritual and emotional help to the group.   Fourkills: a young man being groomed to become a leader of the White shell clan.   RedMoccasins: wife of four kills, love interest of Otter,torn between the two brothers.   Starshell: .the wife of mica bird, mother of silver water.she attempts to take the mask to destroy it.   Silverwater: only living daughter of Mica bird and Starshell. He becomes the new dreamer.   Tallman: the magician of the High head society, a dwarfsent by power on a mission to destroy the mask, father of Star shell.Attempting to change the heart of the woman he always loved by doing one last good deed.   Pearl: a beautiful runaway who has stolen otter's heart.She is an independent woman of the Anhinga, who is skilled in hunting and plants. Traded to the Koata for a wealth in copper, she becomes a prisoner ofthe Koata, hurt and haunted by their behavior she escapes. Her plight and her bravery are the markers that entrap Otter's heart.   Black Skull: warrior of the city of the dead, known throughout his world and feared,only to face his own spirit on the trip and finds himself.   Many Colored Crow: (Raven Hunter)   First man (wolf dreamer)   Power object: Mask of Many Colored Crow: The wooden beak had been carved by a master and stained black, glistening feathers covered the sides of the oval head, each feather lying flat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite of the series so far. I couldn't put it down. I laughed out loud and had to wipe a few tears at other times. It is a book that I will save to read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book continues with the saga of the North American Indians It teaches you in subtle ways and makes the characters very interesting. It refers to past books but certainly stands on its own. You can't help rooting for the good guys and the many challenges they face, it also has humor and romance. The characters are well fleshed out and it continues the theme of good and evil and how faith was questioned yet followed then as now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved this book as I have all the People of books it was so good I could'nt put it down but at the same time I did'nt want it to end to soon
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent character development makes readers care for the heroes & adds greatly to the suspense! Black Skull is an intriguing study in male strength & frailty. The overall story reminds me of many classic sagas of impossible feats accomplished & the ability of the human spirit to overcome.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best of the series as I see it. The character development was incredible. Simply a wonderful book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best books I have read. It made me realize that people from different backgrounds and totally different beliefs could work together to reach a common goal. Over the course of the journey the characters in the book kept me spellbounded and eagerly anticipating what was around the next corner or over the next mountain. Very good book..long..but worth the read.